Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Question about changing pole mount to Slimline


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   TITAN_53

TITAN_53

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 435 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 08 August 2010 - 07:21 PM

Waiting for a dish upgrade for my parents. They had Primestar and then switched to Directv and the dish was mounted to the old Primestar pole. Can the Slimline mount to the pole the same way the SD dish is now or am I going to have to set a new 2" OD pole?

Attached Thumbnails

  • 2010-08-08_19.01.30.jpg
  • 2010-08-08_19.01.00.jpg
  • 2010-08-08_19.00.45.jpg

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
Broadband DECA connected to Linksys WRT150N
Samsung HLS-5679W LED DLP
HR24-200/HR22-100/HR22-100/HR21-100/HR20-100
Sony Playstation 3

DIRECTV Employee.
All comments are my own. My views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 09:27 PM

Wow :eek:

If you take that monstrosity off the pole, what is the OD of the pole?
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#3 OFFLINE   TITAN_53

TITAN_53

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 435 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 08 August 2010 - 10:18 PM

I was going to check that but I didn't want to have to pull the dish off to check. Now that I think about it though, I think the house next door has the same pole with the dish long gone so I will have my dad go over there and measure it and see. I'm just wondering if the bracket the Slimline uses is the same size as the standard dishes. The pole is actually pretty solid so if the pole isn't 2" OD but the mount will work I'm thinking of drilling extra holes in the bracket on the pole to use a couple more bolts to secure the dish since there's really no way to use the monopoles.
SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
Broadband DECA connected to Linksys WRT150N
Samsung HLS-5679W LED DLP
HR24-200/HR22-100/HR22-100/HR21-100/HR20-100
Sony Playstation 3

DIRECTV Employee.
All comments are my own. My views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV.

#4 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 10:22 PM

Solid Signal has pipe adapters, that is what I was getting at. It would be a lot cleaner install than that bracket to bracket mess.
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#5 OFFLINE   TITAN_53

TITAN_53

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 435 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 08 August 2010 - 11:04 PM

I'll definitely be checking that out then.
SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
Broadband DECA connected to Linksys WRT150N
Samsung HLS-5679W LED DLP
HR24-200/HR22-100/HR22-100/HR21-100/HR20-100
Sony Playstation 3

DIRECTV Employee.
All comments are my own. My views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV.

#6 OFFLINE   finaldiet

finaldiet

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,158 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2006

Posted 09 August 2010 - 06:22 AM

Call DTV and ask how much they will install pole. I did and they charged me $59 to install pole in concrete, run the line underground to house and attach dish. I just happened to mention to DTV that I had problem cleaning snow off roof antenna and was thinking about replacing myself to ground pole. She said she just had hers changed also and said they would do it for that price. Cheaper than me doing it. Call and find out.
Avatar says" Children are the only earthly possessions you can take with you to heaven, where are you taking yours"

#7 OFFLINE   TITAN_53

TITAN_53

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 435 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 09 August 2010 - 06:06 PM

So can anyone confirm if the foot of the mount is the same size and hole layout?
SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
Broadband DECA connected to Linksys WRT150N
Samsung HLS-5679W LED DLP
HR24-200/HR22-100/HR22-100/HR21-100/HR20-100
Sony Playstation 3

DIRECTV Employee.
All comments are my own. My views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV.

#8 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 09 August 2010 - 06:15 PM

The phase 3 base is approx 5"x7" and the slimline is appox 5"x8".
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#9 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,566 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 10 August 2010 - 11:41 AM

Why not just slip the Slimline dish mount over the existing pole, using a pipe adapter to bring it up to 2" OD if necessary. You don't have to use the J-mount and base.
When I went to a pole mount, I used an old almost 2" OD fence post, I just had the installer slip the dish over the pole. I did have to shim the pole out to 2" using two wraps of aluminum flashing.

I suspect that the old Phase III dish had to be mounted that way on the Primestar pole because the Primestar post was too large for the Ph III.

With a solid pole, the monopoles aren't needed.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#10 OFFLINE   NewForceFiveFan

NewForceFiveFan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 213 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2010

Posted 10 August 2010 - 12:37 PM

You'd be better off just letting the installer change out the old P* mounting hardware and outdated D* dish for the D* Slimline one. the slimline dishes are mounted to a newer reinforced mast and two guide poles for added stability unlike the older round pizza pan dishes due to it's larger size and weight. I think you'd save yourself a lot of time and headache by not trying to mickey-mouse it onto a pole not designed for it just to save time. More than likely you're also going to be told by the installer the dish should go higher up than it currently is in order to see all the satellites properly.

#11 OFFLINE   Manctech

Manctech

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 542 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2010

Posted 10 August 2010 - 03:17 PM

5$ says you can take that adapter off, slide a KA/KU pole in and self tap it from spinning and you'll have one of the most solid KA/KU mounts there is.

(If the original pole was installed like most for the BIG dishes. Those thick steel pipes don't budge.

The 2'' galvanized steel poles we use are still flimsy even with 50-100llbs of concrete.

TWC Technician (Huntersville, Cornelius, Davidson Area)


#12 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,566 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 10 August 2010 - 06:43 PM

My Slimline is on the previously mentioned fence post about 3' off the ground. I did use the monopoles as they could reach the landscape timbers where the pole was planted. I added them after the installer did his thing.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#13 OFFLINE   8bobcat8

8bobcat8

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 01, 2008

Posted 11 August 2010 - 08:32 AM

It's not pipe, it's tubing. You can't get pipe in exactly 2.00" OD.

Just go to an exhaust shop and ask for a scrap chunk of 2.00" exhaust tubing. They typically will "give" you the piece if it is 15" long or less. You only need about 12". It will be "aluminized" for corrosion protection.

You can then drill both tubes for self tap screws and mount the 2.00" tube over the existing pole as Manctech suggests.

Another way is to have the 2.00" tube swagged down (at the exhaust shop) to the original pole's OD. This will require that you be able to accurately determine the OD of the existing pole (the shop needs to know what swaging dies to use). This also may require you pay for the swagging or that you at least buy someone lunch.

Make sure everything is very solid as the AU9 (SlimLine) dish is quite heavy but more important it is a big sail.

Happy aiming,
BobCat




Protected By... spam firewall...And...