Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Protection Plan & HR20-100 with bad HDMI output


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Birdieman30

Birdieman30

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2008

Posted 08 August 2010 - 07:25 PM

Got up a couple of days ago and had no picture. After some troubleshooting I determined the HDMI output on my HR20-100 (about 3 years old) has gone bad. I know it is the output on the receiver as I took my whole A/V system, cables, and TV out of the loop and connected a separate monitor with a new HDMI cable to the receiver and still no picture. After some discussion with 2 CSR's they advised that since the component ouput works, D* will not replace the receiver even though I have the protection plan. They insist all I need is the component output. Needless to say I was not happy although I am up and working with a component and digital coax hookup. Forget the fact that I did all the trouble shooting without D* having to roll a truck. I have been with D* for 11 years. On a side note, I just had a H20 receiver replaced under the protection plan about 5 days before this incident and don't know if that played into this. I saw a similar thread about this on the receiver forum with no good resolution. Am I stuck with this receiver until it goes out completely? Unfortunately I believe my service commitment has about 18 months as I upgraded an SD receiver to HD about 6 months ago, so I am not in a good threatening position.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,222 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 07:30 PM

I have an HR21 with a bad HDMI port that they refuse to replace and I have the PP as well. It's been bad for months and no matter how many times I call the answer is the same, use component and no replacement.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#3 OFFLINE   davemayo

davemayo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,118 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 08 August 2010 - 07:41 PM

That is complete BS! No one should have to suffer with a half-working receiver, especially after paying for the protection plan.
Go Hoos!

#4 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,320 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 07:53 PM

:nono: What a stupid "rule." I'd tell them I want a replacement for 1080p & I don't have component or coax/dig audio cables.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#5 OFFLINE   ronsanjim

ronsanjim

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
  • LocationCherokee Village, AR
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 08 August 2010 - 08:04 PM

Sounds like the unit is "dead", no power:rolleyes:

I would never tell D* anything that would elicit that kind of response.
If they want to play hardball, then we should do likewise.

#6 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,320 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 08:07 PM

Sounds like the unit is "dead", no power:rolleyes:
...


Don't forget, "...smells like electrical burn." ;)
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#7 OFFLINE   JoeTheDragon

JoeTheDragon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,314 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2008

Posted 08 August 2010 - 08:12 PM

I have an HR21 with a bad HDMI port that they refuse to replace and I have the PP as well. It's been bad for months and no matter how many times I call the answer is the same, use component and no replacement.


Tell them that your want to view 1080P PPV that needs HDMI to work.
I want CLTV / CLTV HD on direct tv.

#8 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 08 August 2010 - 09:18 PM

This same subject keeps coming up, here is the solution:

Tell them you were watching TV with the family and someone "smelled something electrical" near your TV. You started smelling around and discovered your HR smelled kinda funny. All of the sudden there was a loud humming bzzzzrrrrpppp electrical arcing sound and smoke started pouring out the back of it like it was at a BBQ competition. Your wife is pissed that her house smells and your little girl is afraid to go to bed because she is afraid the house in going to burn down in her sleep. You went to look at it and it gave you a little shock, so you unplugged it. You got brave and plugged it back in and now it does nothing, but the TV and all that still works.

When they have you move it to another outlet, just pretend like you are but don't, smack the entertainment center real hard with your hand, yell an obscenity, and tell them it still won't power up.

Ba-da-bing, replacemnt receiver!
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#9 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,446 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 08 August 2010 - 09:31 PM

That is complete BS! No one should have to suffer with a half-working receiver, especially after paying for the protection plan.

Maybe a better argument is that you don't pay for HD so you can use componet cables. Besides isn't their one resolution that requires a HDMI cable? Go with that instead.

Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#10 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,222 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 08 August 2010 - 10:26 PM

Tell them that your want to view 1080P PPV that needs HDMI to work.


I did, still no go.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#11 OFFLINE   bertman64

bertman64

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2007

Posted 08 August 2010 - 10:53 PM

They would only replace with a refurb. The new HR-24's sound superior and can be bought for about 175.00. Buy one, send this one back, ask for some credits and maybe cancel the Protection Plan so you will come out ahead within 24 months!

#12 OFFLINE   iceturkee

iceturkee

    DINFOS Trained Killer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,205 posts
  • Locationdaytona beach, fl
Joined: Apr 01, 2007

Posted 09 August 2010 - 05:40 AM

i've had this problem twice and twice dtv refused to change the unit. so both times i complained to the customer advocacy team and both times my unit was replaced....free, no s&h, no contract extension. the link for the team can be found on the investors page.

#13 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,764 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 09 August 2010 - 05:48 AM

:nono: What a stupid "rule." I'd tell them I want a replacement for 1080p & I don't have component or coax/dig audio cables.

Ya. And what about flush mount installs where only HDMI cables were run through a wall or conduit? Not ideal, I know, but people have them.
/steve

#14 OFFLINE   Joe C

Joe C

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 302 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2005

Posted 09 August 2010 - 05:52 AM

A bad HDMI port would be trouble for me. Both of my HR22's are in a closet and feed the TV's in other rooms via HDMI in the walls.

#15 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 519 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 09 August 2010 - 06:51 AM

A bad HDMI port would be trouble for me. Both of my HR22's are in a closet and feed the TV's in other rooms via HDMI in the walls.


I'm in my eleventh year with DirecTV and, overall, happy with them. The one thing that has always bugged me is the games we have to do to get them to do what is right for a customer. This should be a slam dunk decision. A key feature has stopped working. Replace it without the need for escalation, jumping through hoops are lying to get them to do what they should.

Edited by narrod, 09 August 2010 - 01:05 PM.


#16 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,726 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 09 August 2010 - 07:20 AM

If it won't turn on they will replace it.

#17 OFFLINE   iceturkee

iceturkee

    DINFOS Trained Killer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,205 posts
  • Locationdaytona beach, fl
Joined: Apr 01, 2007

Posted 09 August 2010 - 10:14 AM

dtv's rationale is if the unit turns on and outputs both audio and video, they don't consider the unit bad, even if you have protection plan.

#18 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,222 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 August 2010 - 12:20 PM

They would only replace with a refurb. The new HR-24's sound superior and can be bought for about 175.00. Buy one, send this one back, ask for some credits and maybe cancel the Protection Plan so you will come out ahead within 24 months!


And I'd be fine with a refurb. I've asked about credits if I go out and buy a new unit, they said no.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#19 OFFLINE   Birdieman30

Birdieman30

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2008

Posted 09 August 2010 - 04:39 PM

If it won't turn on they will replace it.


I assume that means "insure" it won't turn on.

#20 OFFLINE   Birdieman30

Birdieman30

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2008

Posted 09 August 2010 - 04:46 PM

What is sad about the games one must play to get D* to man up and treat long time customers right, is the money being thrown at new or potential new customers. A family member, who is a former D* customer and now with E*, receives weekly offers from D* with free equipment, free installs, teaser packages, and even an offer to pay any E* early termination fee up to $200.

#21 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,617 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 09 August 2010 - 04:54 PM

Simple make a single phone call. Tell them it won't turn on or smells like it may be burning. They will send you a replacement. Just one phone call and you're all set.
DTV = Digital Television

#22 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 09 August 2010 - 05:39 PM

Simple make a single phone call. Tell them it won't turn on or smells like it may be burning. They will send you a replacement. Just one phone call and you're all set.

+1

But, It still sucks that one needs to "fib" for a replacement.

Since 1080p can only be delivered via HDMI...if you have a 1080p capable HDTV shouldn't its failure be enough? Come on D*...it's time to tweak your policy. :yesman:
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#23 OFFLINE   Lee L

Lee L

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,134 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2002

Posted 09 August 2010 - 06:31 PM

Ya. And what about flush mount installs where only HDMI cables were run through a wall or conduit? Not ideal, I know, but people have them.


THats the first thing I thought of. I am sure that there are situations where HDMI was the only cable run. Because HDMI was still somewhat new in 2006 and the low voltage contractor my builder used sucked I have one TV where all I have is Component+analog audio and 2 CAT 5s that I made them install when they built the house. I can easily see them only wanting to run HDMI now since it is just one cable instead of 5, especially on a retrofit.


DirecTV, please don't make me have to go back to watching March Madness in standard Def! Oh, and the usual begging for AMC and BBC America. You are so close to actually being the HD Leader.

#24 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,222 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 August 2010 - 07:58 PM

Simple make a single phone call. Tell them it won't turn on or smells like it may be burning. They will send you a replacement. Just one phone call and you're all set.


I'm not going to lie about it.

I'm fine watching thru component, if I watch thru that DVR. I have another DVR in the same room and with MRV I don't need to watch thru the one with the bad HDMI port.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#25 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 09 August 2010 - 08:15 PM

I'm not going to lie about it.

I'm fine watching thru component, if I watch thru that DVR. I have another DVR in the same room and with MRV I don't need to watch thru the one with the bad HDMI port.


You da man! However everyone doesn't have multiple DVRs in 1 room, or MRV, or the ability to re-run component & audio cables through a wall without paying an installer. Bottom line is the receiver is not fully functional and needs to be replaced. If it takes a "lie" to get them to do what they SHOULD do they deserve it. That policy is totally absurd and needs to be changed. That's like a car dealer telling you that just because 2 cylinders aren't firing you can still run on 4 with no problem. :rolleyes:




Protected By... spam firewall...And...