Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DishArc


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   yt8znu35

yt8znu35

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2010

Posted 14 September 2010 - 11:34 AM

As mentioned, there are plenty of tools for doing this in Windows. However, it is a very simple operation when undertaken under Linux natively. I happen to run a Linux desktop. I simply hot-mounted the old, full 1TB MyBook and the new 2TB MyBook (pre-formatted by the 622) and, as root, copied the second and third partitions of the old disk to the second and third partitions of the new disk. (The first partition is reserved.)

Prior to the copy, as an experiment I formatted the 2TB disk as a single ext3 partition to see if the 622 would recognize it. It did not and the disk had to be reformatted by the 622. I was hoping to save some space wasted by the default formatting scheme--pri, pri, pri and extended with two logicals.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   bamaredwingsfan

bamaredwingsfan

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2007

Posted 21 January 2013 - 07:53 PM

hate to bump this old thread, but i have an old EHD that was trying to go bad, so i replaced it with a new EHD. My question is, since im still using the same DVR (211k) can i copy the contents of the old EHD to the new EHD an save my recording before the old EHD crapps out? I have a windows7 PC with a ubuntu setup on it as well. Any suggestions for me? I connected the old EHD to the ubuntu pc and it would pull up all the files on the EHD but it would not let me copy them to my internal HD on the PC. I have used about 250 Gigz of the original 750GB EHD.

#28 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,345 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 January 2013 - 08:33 PM

create backup EXT2 partition big enough to copy all the DVR's files and folders under Ubuntu

#29 OFFLINE   rbgator95

rbgator95

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: May 31, 2007

Posted 10 March 2013 - 02:58 PM

Hi

Using Win7, Acronis True Image 2013 recognized the external 2TB HD formatted by the vip622. External HD was plugged into laptop via USB - nothing special.

I would like to purchase a second 2TB external HD, also plug into laptop via USB, and "clone" the contents of the external HD formatted by the 622 - effectively making a backup copy of the original external HD. Can this be done using True Image? Or will it only write to hard drives that are NTFS formatted?

Thanks.

#30 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,345 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 March 2013 - 03:39 PM

Hi

Using Win7, Acronis True Image 2013 recognized the external 2TB HD formatted by the vip622. External HD was plugged into laptop via USB - nothing special.

I would like to purchase a second 2TB external HD, also plug into laptop via USB, and "clone" the contents of the external HD formatted by the 622 - effectively making a backup copy of the original external HD. Can this be done using True Image? Or will it only write to hard drives that are NTFS formatted?

Thanks.

Please read post #26

#31 OFFLINE   tdiguy

tdiguy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
  • LocationMA
Joined: Oct 31, 2014

Posted 31 October 2014 - 11:47 AM

I know this is an ancient thread but i hope people are still watching. There was a lot of good advice here that has helped me thus far.

So far i am a bit annoyed with Dish. I have a vip622 and it has been acting up by rebooting on its own and such. So i called and went through troubleshooting and they decided a replacement was in order. I have a lot of programming on the dvr for my kids that they love and i would rather not lose. So i bought a portable hard drive. These days of course its impossible to find a external usb 2 hard drive with its own seperate power supply so i have a WD my passport 500 gig hard drive. Storage wise its plenty to backup the vip622.

I was able to connect it up using an old powered usb 2 hub  ( glad i kept that around the usb port on the reciever didnt seem to have enough juice on its own ) and i was able to format and then send all my recordings from the dvr to the external.

The new reciever that dish sent me is a pile of junk. It does not recognize the external hard drive, the wireless adapter and to top it off it has an internal hard drive failure.

So i wanted to put the recordings back on my old dvr. When i connected the external back up to my old dvr it wants to format the drive.. What the heck this is the same dvr i just pulled the recordings from.

Dish is saying the external is incompatible. Any advice on what i should try next?

I am using ext2 volume manager to recognise the external and basically dragging and dropping the contents of my external to my laptop. Will that be sufficient to backup this drive to the laptop?

Also do i need to backup the "raw" partition that reads no usage at all?


Edited by tdiguy, 31 October 2014 - 12:58 PM.


#32 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,345 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 October 2014 - 03:17 PM

What "raw partition" you found? swap? Skip it.

#33 OFFLINE   tdiguy

tdiguy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
  • LocationMA
Joined: Oct 31, 2014

Posted 01 November 2014 - 12:53 PM

This is turning into an odd problem for me. My external hard drive ( a WD passport usb 3 buss powered drive ) is no longer recognized by the receiver. Whenever i plug it in it says that it needs to be formated.

So i went through my basement to see if i had some old drives laying about and i found an old 2.5 sata drive and a adapter kit to connect it by usb ( and wall outlet for power ). I connected that up and formated it via the 622. On reboot it wanted to format that drive again also.

I am at a bit of a loss right now. I have asked dish for a new receiver. Hopefully this time i get one thats not a POS from the word go. 



#34 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,345 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 November 2014 - 11:26 PM

Perhaps FW bug. Try cold reboot, just disconnect power plug for a minute.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...