Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Thinking of returning to D


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   psternklar

psternklar

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: May 02, 2007

Posted 11 August 2010 - 09:27 AM

Hi,

I left D about 2 years ago due to CS issues and audio dropouts using HR21. I am with E and am generally happy but want 2 hd outputs per box not one. I am thinking about returning to D with HR24. Has D fixed the audio dropouts? When watching 24 on Fox HD the dropouts made it impossible to watch. Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,903 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 11 August 2010 - 09:33 AM

There are still audio issues with Dolby Digital audio. The severity of the issue depends a lot on the audio receiver you are using, from what I've seen Onkyo's seem to take the longest to recover from whatever error is in the stream causing the drops.

As for your 2 HD outputs, DirecTV doesn't have that. What they do have is Whole Home DVR, where using the coax that connects the receivers to the dish are used for networking HD DVR's and HD receivers so they can view content between boxes. There is a $3/month charge for Whole Home DVR service.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 11 August 2010 - 09:34 AM

Sadly there are still some issues with audio drops but in many cases things have improved.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#4 OFFLINE   Ken984

Ken984

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,015 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2005

Posted 11 August 2010 - 09:41 AM

The 2 HD outputs could be HDMI and Component. But if you are wanting 2 HD tuners on separate outputs then that requires 2 HD boxes.

Samsung 65-es6550-HR44-700-Denon AVR-2311CI, XBOX360, Win Media Center 7, Samsung BD-D6500


#5 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,427 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 11 August 2010 - 10:11 AM

As for your 2 HD outputs, DirecTV doesn't have that.


All my boxes have HDMI and Component.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#6 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,903 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 11 August 2010 - 10:13 AM

All my boxes have HDMI and Component.


OK, since the OP is a Dish customer and their STB's have two independent outputs, but only one is HD I took that to mean that he wanted the same thing but two independent HD outputs. If all he wanted was to use a HDMI and component from the same box the Dish boxes can also do that. But you are correct, DirecTV boxes have HDMI and component outputs and both are active at the same time.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#7 OFFLINE   txfeinbergs

txfeinbergs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 124 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 11 August 2010 - 10:21 AM

Seriously, if audio dropouts piss you off, I would not come back and present - especially if you use an AVR.

#8 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,427 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 11 August 2010 - 10:22 AM

On the other hand, I never have audio dropouts using either my Sony AVR or my Pioneer AVR.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#9 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 11 August 2010 - 10:59 AM

My Yamaha is very minimal.

#10 OFFLINE   gfrang

gfrang

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,335 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2007

Posted 11 August 2010 - 11:41 AM

I haven't experienced any audio dropouts in a long time.
In the living room have Sony AVR, bedroom sound bar.

#11 OFFLINE   john18

john18

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 978 posts
Joined: Nov 21, 2006

Posted 11 August 2010 - 01:04 PM

To the OP:

Do you use an AVR and if so which?

#12 OFFLINE   Bellman

Bellman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2007

Posted 11 August 2010 - 01:06 PM

I can't recall any audio dropouts with my HR22-100 and Denon receiver.

#13 OFFLINE   psternklar

psternklar

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: May 02, 2007

Posted 11 August 2010 - 03:04 PM

Thanks all for the replies. Yes use an Onkyo AVR, perhaps I should wait for a fix before coming back.

#14 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 11 August 2010 - 03:10 PM

I would.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#15 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,903 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 11 August 2010 - 03:18 PM

Thanks all for the replies. Yes use an Onkyo AVR, perhaps I should wait for a fix before coming back.


FYI, you can circumvent the problem by turning off Dolby Digital in the DirecTV receiver.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#16 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 11 August 2010 - 03:20 PM

It should be noted that the audio drops are only with Dolby Digital on, and they affect some markets more than others. If that's what's holding you back, perhaps you could simply switch Dolby Digital off if they get to be too much.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#17 OFFLINE   john18

john18

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 978 posts
Joined: Nov 21, 2006

Posted 11 August 2010 - 03:55 PM

Thanks all for the replies. Yes use an Onkyo AVR, perhaps I should wait for a fix before coming back.


I have an Onkyo 806 and I do experience the drops. I live with it knowing it is being looked at as an open issue. You can wait, come back now and live with it or come back know and bypass the AVR for now or run it with DD off.

#18 OFFLINE   BKC

BKC

    Icon

  • Banned User
  • 682 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2007

Posted 11 August 2010 - 04:14 PM

It should be noted that the audio drops are only with Dolby Digital on, and they affect some markets more than others. If that's what's holding you back, perhaps you could simply switch Dolby Digital off if they get to be too much.



This isn't quite true. Many of us have audio dropouts with DD on or off. Many of us also have audio dropouts with a sound system or through just the tv speakers.

#19 OFFLINE   Blaze

Blaze

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Jun 08, 2010

Posted 12 August 2010 - 12:20 AM

Sadly there are still some issues with audio drops but in many cases things have improved.


Directv Told me they're currently working on the issue.

#20 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 12 August 2010 - 06:32 AM

Stuart, I don't follow the remark about "affects some markets more than others?"

Many of the affected channels are national networks....I understand that there are probably lots of lil HD's that are affected as well.




spam firewall