Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

1 tuner vs 2 tuner


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   djsaad1

djsaad1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2010

Posted 12 August 2010 - 03:27 PM

I just got a free install in our new house. The installer put a slim dish up with one lnb and one cable into the house.

I noticed that each room in the house has a capability of hooking up 2 tuners to a cable box and there is another cable that runs into the house for that.

I only have two tv's in the house. Do I benefit at all by hooking up the other tuner to each dvr? I can already watch a show and record another at the same time.

Also would I need a dish with two lnbs to do this?

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   JoeTheDragon

JoeTheDragon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,091 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2008

Posted 12 August 2010 - 03:45 PM

I just got a free install in our new house. The installer put a slim dish up with one lnb and one cable into the house.

I noticed that each room in the house has a capability of hooking up 2 tuners to a cable box and there is another cable that runs into the house for that.

I only have two tv's in the house. Do I benefit at all by hooking up the other tuner to each dvr? I can already watch a show and record another at the same time.

Also would I need a dish with two lnbs to do this?

Thanks.


I think you have a SWM system.
I want CLTV / CLTV HD on direct tv.

#3 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 12 August 2010 - 03:48 PM

If you can record a show and watch another, you are already using 2 tuners. The newest lnb's allow both tuners to be used over 1 cable. You are good to go.
DogLover

My Setup

#4 OFFLINE   doctrsnoop

doctrsnoop

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 466 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2007

Posted 12 August 2010 - 04:37 PM

You are already on two tuners as the others have said. You are good, nothing else to do.

5 - HR22-100 4 via regular ethernet, 1 via DECA, 2 HR21-700 networked via regular ethernet, HR21-100 networked via DECA, H25-500
R15-500 Inactive, H20-600 (ECO 2.0) inactive,D11 (Humax LD2060) inactive
Slimline 5 w/ SWM8 parallel w/ SWM16 w/DECA




spam firewall