Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Differnce between SL-3 and SL3-SWM


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   onebadharley09

onebadharley09

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2010

Posted 16 August 2010 - 07:57 AM

I have a SL-3-SWM installed (by Direct TV). I installed a slimline dish in my out building and took one of my recievers out of the house in connected it to the dish. The new slimline dish I installed has a different LNB on it. it is a SL3 Slimline four Ka/Ku. When I hook the reciever up it goes through the installation and changes to the SL3. But when going though the channels I only get a few of the channels. I do not get the locals. Is there a difference in the two LNBS or am I doing something wrong?
Dale

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,874 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 16 August 2010 - 08:08 AM

Hmmmm.... as long as the guided setup is done it should be ok. However, I should note that the SWM setup can be used with splitters while the SL3 (non-SWM) should not be used with splitters. If you're splitting the lines, or if you have more than four tuners total with an SL3 (non-SWM) then you're going to have problems. Also, the SL3 (non-SWM) should not be used with a power inserter.

and :welcome_s to DBSTalk!
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   eakes

eakes

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 350 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 16 August 2010 - 08:19 AM

You don't say what the receiver model number is but it is obviously not an H23 or HR23 as all the other H' models need a B-band converter when connected to a 'standard' dish such as the one you installed on the out building.

Yes, there is a major difference in the way things work when using a SL3-SWM and a 'conventional' SL3 (non-SWM). Receivers can be swapped back and forth between the two antenna/LNB types, but a B-band converter is required between receiver and antenna when using the non-SWM LNB (unless the receiver is H23 or HR23) if you want access to all the channels.

To keep things simple, I would recommend swapping the 'conventional' LNB on the out-building antenna for a SWM version.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...