Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR24 scheduled tuning


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   JamesTPDI

JamesTPDI

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2007

Posted 16 August 2010 - 11:52 AM

Is there any way to make an HR24 tune to a channel at a set time? I just want the TV to be set to a specific channel at a set time every day with having to do anything.

James
Directv since 1996
Slimline SL3PIG-P Dish, SWiM-8 switch
HR20-700 HDMI thru Sony STR-DG810 to LG 50PX1D-UC
HR22-100 HDMI thru Sony STR DG-820 to LG 60PG60
HR22-100 HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX80U
H24 to DECA

UPS backed and surge protected

Network: Hard wired thru Linksys EZXS55W switch to D-Link DGS-2208 SW to Westel 6100 DSL
PC XP-PRO SP3 on router WMP-11 44GB 6245 mp3 songs and data in 557 folders, 30,835 photos in 875 folders

Music MP3's also on WD-NAS

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,172 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 16 August 2010 - 11:55 AM

HR24 dosent have auto tune only H24. You can set it to manual record a show at that time and channel everyday and just erase the recording

JACK,
 
 


#3 OFFLINE   raoul5788

raoul5788

    Guest

  • Registered
  • 1,481 posts
Joined: May 13, 2006

Posted 16 August 2010 - 11:56 AM

Is there any way to make an HR24 tune to a channel at a set time? I just want the TV to be set to a specific channel at a set time every day with having to do anything.

James


Yes. In the menu there is an option for manual recording.

#4 OFFLINE   JamesTPDI

JamesTPDI

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2007

Posted 16 August 2010 - 12:08 PM

I don't want to record it. Just have it tuned. I miss wrote, it's an HR23.
Directv since 1996
Slimline SL3PIG-P Dish, SWiM-8 switch
HR20-700 HDMI thru Sony STR-DG810 to LG 50PX1D-UC
HR22-100 HDMI thru Sony STR DG-820 to LG 60PG60
HR22-100 HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX80U
H24 to DECA

UPS backed and surge protected

Network: Hard wired thru Linksys EZXS55W switch to D-Link DGS-2208 SW to Westel 6100 DSL
PC XP-PRO SP3 on router WMP-11 44GB 6245 mp3 songs and data in 557 folders, 30,835 photos in 875 folders

Music MP3's also on WD-NAS

#5 OFFLINE   mobandit

mobandit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,142 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 16 August 2010 - 12:29 PM

I don't want to record it. Just have it tuned. I miss wrote, it's an HR23.


Doesn't matter, same thing...DVR's don't auto-tune unless you set up a recording.

ETCM (SS/SW), USN (RET)
22 years, 4 months, 9 days


#6 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,172 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 16 August 2010 - 12:36 PM

I don't want to record it. Just have it tuned. I miss wrote, it's an HR23.


Just manual record it for a minute

JACK,
 
 


#7 ONLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,535 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 16 August 2010 - 12:41 PM

Just manual record it for a minute

Unfortunately no guarantee that'll change the foreground tuner tho. In that case, you can hit DOWN-DOWN to start DOUBLEPLAY and bring the background tuner to the front. The background tuner's buffer should be intact.
/steve

#8 OFFLINE   BAHitman

BAHitman

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 430 posts
  • LocationAustin Texas
Joined: Oct 23, 2007

Posted 16 August 2010 - 12:45 PM

What I do is to schedule a recording, then set it to only keey 1 episode. that way, it constantly deletes itself every day... low maintenance... and to get around the tuner problem I set it to record for 1 hour, and keep that at the lowest SL priority so that it does not record instead of other things at that timeslot...

HR34, HR20x3, HR22, HR23, H24, H21

-BAHitman


#9 OFFLINE   PokerJoker

PokerJoker

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 474 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas
Joined: Apr 12, 2008

Posted 16 August 2010 - 12:45 PM

Doesn't matter, same thing...DVR's don't auto-tune unless you set up a recording.


Just FYI, Dish Network DVRs will do an auto-tune without recording. I wish D* would add that feature.

#10 OFFLINE   mobandit

mobandit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,142 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 16 August 2010 - 06:57 PM

Just FYI, Dish Network DVRs will do an auto-tune without recording. I wish D* would add that feature.


I really don't care about what Dish does or doesn't do...

ETCM (SS/SW), USN (RET)
22 years, 4 months, 9 days


#11 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,859 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 16 August 2010 - 07:03 PM

I don't want to record it. Just have it tuned. I miss wrote, it's an HR23.

The HR2x's don't have anyway to auto tune to a given channel. The only way to do it would be to record something on that channel while starting something else recording on the background tuner first. That would force the live tuner to tune to your channel.

These can be very short manual recordings.

BTW, all the HR2x and H2x receivers have the same interface and features. One you learn on you've learned the all. :)

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.





spam firewall