Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

No closed captioning?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,082 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 16 August 2010 - 06:17 PM

My mom is undergoing Chemotherapy, and its really causing her hearing to deteriorate to the point she cannot understand anything on TV.

Her HR20 and HR21 (Kitchen and LR) both have closed captioning, but she asked me to turn it on for her in her bedroom (D11 I think, maybe D12?) SD receiver and 19" TV, and I could find no way to turn it on.

Is there no closed captioning on the SD receivers? If not, would DirecTv upgrade them to one that has CC, without a new contract?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 16 August 2010 - 07:24 PM

With SD receivers, the CC data is outputted via the analog connections all the time, but you have to turn on the CC feature on the TV set itself to see them.

With HD (which is sourced digitally), closed captioning is encoded differently and the receiver has to decode them.

#3 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,082 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 16 August 2010 - 07:47 PM

Ok, thanks, Ill check the TV.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"





spam firewall