Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Signal Strength and 771


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,634 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:24 PM

I have noticed that both of my DVRs (HR20 and HR21) are giving me a flashing "searching for signal" message on ESPN2 and only on ESPN2. When I run the system test, it tells me that my dish may need reaiming. When I test the signal meters, however, all are fine except for 99C. On that one, both tuners show as 80%, then tuner one drops off (acquiring signal) for a second, then it jumps back to 80% and tuner two drops off for a second.

The upshot is that ESPN2 is unwatchable, but everything else is perfect. I am considering climbing up to mess with the dish, but I don't want to do that if the problem could be eleswhere.

What should I do (bearing in mind that the MLL Championship is this weekend and I really need ESPN2!)?

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,130 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:25 PM

Same here and also on CBS and ABC

JACK,
 
 


#3 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,634 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:28 PM

Same here and also on CBS and ABC


OK, so I won't climb up there just yet.

I've never seen the meters go from 80 to 0 to 80 to 0 like that, and the way it cycles from tuner 1 to tuner 2 was worrying me.

ABC and CBS are fine here, but the ESPN2 thing is weird. Could it be a problem at the source?

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#4 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,130 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:30 PM

OK, so I won't climb up there just yet.

I've never seen the meters go from 80 to 0 to 80 to 0 like that, and the way it cycles from tuner 1 to tuner 2 was worrying me.


Im getting the same thing it just started for me how is your ABC and CBS

JACK,
 
 


#5 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,634 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:31 PM

Im getting the same thing it just started for me how is your ABC and CBS


My ABC and CBS are different sources (Reno). Do you know of another channel that comes in on the same satellite as ESPN2? Are you getting the same signal meter results?

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#6 OFFLINE   bww

bww

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:33 PM

I am in so cal and it is bad here on 209 and also tennis channel 217 that is unwatchable. SD is not breaking up like the HD channels. Every signal strength I have is in the 80s and 90s and the breakup is the same on 3 different dvrs.
I called Directv about the tennis channel and they looked at a set there (they were in Oregon) and said there was "slight" breakup but he would report my problem.
Genie HR44-500, C41-700, HR24-500, GenieGo, SWM8, WholeHome + Internet, 1 AM21

#7 OFFLINE   laffingeys

laffingeys

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: May 14, 2010

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:33 PM

I'm having problems on Tennis Channel too .... my signal strengths on 99c are low to mid 80's - only noticed it the past two days - (yesterday only happed once or twice - today is terrible) not sure if it's my end or their end.

#8 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,130 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:34 PM

My ABC and CBS are different sources (Reno). Do you know of another channel that comes in on the same satellite as ESPN2? Are you getting the same signal meter results?


No it just is those 3 channels so far

JACK,
 
 


#9 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,634 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:39 PM

I'm having problems on Tennis Channel too .... my signal strengths on 99c are low to mid 80's - only noticed it the past two days - (yesterday only happed once or twice - today is terrible) not sure if it's my end or their end.


Are you getting any searching for signal errors?

I have the same thing happening on 217 too.

My neighbor is having no problems with 209 (she doesn't get 217).

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#10 OFFLINE   mexican-bum

mexican-bum

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 259 posts
Joined: Feb 25, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:40 PM

I am having the same problem on all my DVR's. Seems a bit early for solar fade

#11 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,130 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:40 PM

217 Tennis chanel also

JACK,
 
 


#12 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,130 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:41 PM

I'm having problems on Tennis Channel too .... my signal strengths on 99c are low to mid 80's - only noticed it the past two days - (yesterday only happed once or twice - today is terrible) not sure if it's my end or their end.


Im pretty sure it is not your end

JACK,
 
 


#13 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,130 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:46 PM

Everything is working now

JACK,
 
 


#14 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2,634 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 18 August 2010 - 02:50 PM

Yep all back to normal. I just panicked since the Lizards are in the playoffs this weekend and I didn't want to have to watch online. (actually the LI v. Denver game isn't televised this year, but I'm assuming they'll take care of the Outlaws on Saturday and I'll see them play Boston on Sunday)

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#15 OFFLINE   Tallgntlmn

Tallgntlmn

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 851 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2007

Posted 23 August 2010 - 06:45 PM

I am a little late to the party. Geeze, it's come to me now. My HR22 has this intermittent 771 on every HD channel I have watched.

Last night, trying to watch Favre, on a recording of Ice Road Truckers, ESPN, ABC, Fox. Saw it this evening on WB. During the football game tonight, it was happening. I looked up the transponder of my locals and watched it. It goes 81-0, 0-81 over and over and then sits on 81 for a while. It's the highest number I have in my sats other than on the 101.

Did it just fix itself or did you guys do something? I think I am going to power the HR22 off all night and see if that does anything. I have a truck scheduled because my signal levels are awful and this needs to be fixed before football starts. But if I could somehow blame my HR22 and get an HR24 out of it, I will. Heh.
My setup: Darn trees sent me back to cable.




spam firewall