Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Signal Loss Question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mr_mark95

mr_mark95

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 19 August 2010 - 08:30 AM

I have a DB2 HDTV antenna in my attic. I use it to send OTA signals to my DISH 722 receivers. Yesterday my signals dropped from 100% down to the mid 60s.

I have two signal amplifiers in the house. One is a pre amp at the antenna. When I unhook them I lose signal completely which tells me they are working at least partially.

We have had some electrical storms in the last few days. Any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,694 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 19 August 2010 - 01:30 PM

Are you by chance sharing the SAT coax line with your OTA line by way of using diplexers?

I was doing this in the past and found a bad diplexer to be the cause of several signal loss problems.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#3 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2010 - 05:45 AM

Did you connect the OTA directly to the TV? This will tell you if it's your OTA system or the Dish tuner. I'm sure you did that already but had to ask.
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#4 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 20 August 2010 - 05:59 AM

And did you check the Locals Forum at AVS? I know there have been several problems in Houston that a lot of folks have experienced.
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...