Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need some answers before upgrading to 211k

remote

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Boba Fett

Boba Fett

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2006

Posted 24 August 2010 - 12:05 PM

I am upgrading from two 301 to two VIP 211k.

I have one HDTV and one analog tv. Will the VIP 211k work on analog tv ? Will I still have access to the SD channels like the 311 ?

Will I still be able to use my outdoor antenna (TV/Video button) to access local channels ?

Thanks for any help !

Edited by Boba Fett, 24 August 2010 - 11:51 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,341 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 August 2010 - 01:15 PM

Yes. Just read the official page http://www.dishnetwo...hd/default.aspx

#3 OFFLINE   finniganps

finniganps

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,517 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2004

Posted 24 August 2010 - 01:32 PM

You can also add a EHD and make it a DVR (need to pay $40 activation fee). I just did this and it works great.

#4 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 24 August 2010 - 06:04 PM

to answer your question, yes you can watch a 211 on a standard def TV. And the 211 has an optional Over-The-Air tuner module (that costs extra) so that you can watch locals right there on the reciever. Without subscribing to locals (in your package) though, you won't have any guide data for the locals.

I'm not sure dish will let you install a 211 on a standard def TV though. When you activate an HD receiver, they will ask if you have an HD TV. Of course if no installer comes out then you can simply lie, but perhaps a better solution would be the 222k, which has a 2nd room output that IS standard def. You'll go from 2 receivers to one but w/ the new receiver fees, it won't save you any money.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#5 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,411 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 24 August 2010 - 09:01 PM

Bit of a correction, the 211 and the 211k both have the OTA tuner built in , only the 222k and 722k need the optional OTA dual tuner.

Dish can and does install a 211 on an SD TV, no problem I vave 2 on SDTV's, great picture, not HD, but very clear.

All outputs on the 221 are hot all the time, I drive my Sony CRT projector and a Philips Magnavox SD TV off the same 211, looking at it right now.

The 222K is Ok, but you do need the $30 OTA module to see OTA channels and it cannot be made into a DVR. It has a $14/mo. fee, the 211 is $7.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#6 OFFLINE   Boba Fett

Boba Fett

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2006

Posted 24 August 2010 - 11:49 PM

Bit of a correction, the 211 and the 211k both have the OTA tuner built in , only the 222k and 722k need the optional OTA dual tuner.

Dish can and does install a 211 on an SD TV, no problem I vave 2 on SDTV's, great picture, not HD, but very clear.

All outputs on the 221 are hot all the time, I drive my Sony CRT projector and a Philips Magnavox SD TV off the same 211, looking at it right now.

The 222K is Ok, but you do need the $30 OTA module to see OTA channels and it cannot be made into a DVR. It has a $14/mo. fee, the 211 is $7.

So I will have access to my outdoor antenna with the 211 or 211k, just like my 301s ?

What is the difference between 211/211k ? Do I have to call Dish to turn on HD channels when I do get a new HDTV in the future ?

Thanks !

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,341 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 August 2010 - 01:42 AM

Chipset, functionally they are the same.
It was posted first look for 211k and there been described the differences.

#8 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 25 August 2010 - 11:09 PM

The 301's dont have an OTA tuner, the OTA input is just a 'past-thru' on the 301s, where as the 211's actually uses the OTA signal. With the 301s you would need some other device to utilize OTA (ie: a tuner). SO , no its not quite the same.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,341 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 August 2010 - 02:06 AM

The 301's dont have an OTA tuner, the OTA input is just a 'past-thru' on the 301s, where as the 211's actually uses the OTA signal. With the 301s you would need some other device to utilize OTA (ie: a tuner). SO , no its not quite the same.


Did you read this: "What is the difference between 211/211k ?" ?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: remote

spam firewall