Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

SD Receivers


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 29 August 2010 - 07:12 AM

Ok. Now I get what's up with the continued popularity of SD receivers. It's the customers who like getting up to 4 FREE SD receivers at Sign Up instead of spending a little extra to invest in HD technologies fault. It's simple Ma & Pa Kettle Math applied to the Directv Free Receiver Credit: 1 HD-DVR + 1 HD receiver = 3 HD receivers or 4 SD receivers.

Why bother getting 2 to 3 HD receivers to start (and get 1-2 more now or later on at cost) when 4 sub-par SD ones for Free from the get-go will do just fine in their book. They're either too dam cheap or feel it's owed to them like all the people who cried foul when OTA broadcasts went from NTSC to ATSC and their old tv's became worthless without the Government (taxpayer funded) converter box program. The people toting how much they love SD over HD probably also only subscribe to the lowest programming package.


Durectv just replaced all the old rca and hughs sd recievers at a customers business site for free - they got fifteen D12's to replace the old GBAE0's and RCA SD recievers, so there is still a good stock of them floating around

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#22 OFFLINE   StangGT909

StangGT909

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 172 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2007

Posted 29 August 2010 - 08:37 AM

I guess I just don't understand the difference between the boxes. A DVR has a hard drive and more inputs / outputs... but my new H24 HD receiver is so small and simple, it doesn't feel like there's much to the insides.... I just can't believe that it costs them much more to produce than a SD receiver. But then again, maybe it doesn't and their goal is to make money off them.

#23 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • Registered
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 29 August 2010 - 07:08 PM

I guess I just don't understand the difference between the boxes. A DVR has a hard drive and more inputs / outputs... but my new H24 HD receiver is so small and simple, it doesn't feel like there's much to the insides.... I just can't believe that it costs them much more to produce than a SD receiver. But then again, maybe it doesn't and their goal is to make money off them.


Duhh!! When the R22 was a current product you could get one at Best Buy or from DirecTV for $99 (the price of an SD DVR like the R15/R16). But as time went on we all realized that it was really an HR21 HD DVR (with HD disabled). Well, now with the latest software it looks EXACTLY like an HD DVR including all the SAME menu options. But they won't let you upgrade your account to HD unless you get a "genuine" HD box and add/reset your commitment to 2 years. "Their goal is to make money"? Uh, YEAH!!!! :mad:

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#24 OFFLINE   markfp

markfp

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2010

Posted 29 August 2010 - 11:02 PM

[quote name='ThomasM']These channels will probably NEVER offer an HD feed.

Well, actually TCM does have an HD channel, but DirecTV doesn't carry it. Most of of the programming on TCMHD is upconverted at this time, but TCM has plans to go full HD at some point.

The problem seems to be with the various studios who have been dragging their feet when it comes to making HD masters for rarely shown films that only TCM is interested in.

#25 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 30 August 2010 - 07:50 AM

You think it is irrelevant how many HD satellites broadcasting HD would it take to replace that one satellite 2-4? How about the millions of SD receivers already in use that would have to be replaced before the marketplace could go HD only. Just how cheap do you think H24s are?:):):)



It is completely irrelevant because if every household had only HD receivers and DVRs, it would requite exactly ZERO additional satellites (and not even a single additional transponder). In fact, what that situation would do is actually free up satellite transponder space and slightly delay the need for acquiring new transponder capacity, because they could then turn off all of the SD channels on 101 which already have HD versions of the same channel on one of the other satellites. That's all that would happen. There is no need to broadcast every channel in HD just because everyone has HD capable receivers, and the process of adding future HD channels would simply continue the way it happens now.

#26 OFFLINE   nick1817

nick1817

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 208 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2007

Posted 30 August 2010 - 09:12 AM

somewhat related...

I went to the kids room last night (SD receiver) to turn on Monsters Inc. which was on my guide in the den-HD DVR (on starz HD or soemthing), and the SD receiver won't tune HD channels?

#27 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,686 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 30 August 2010 - 10:05 AM

somewhat related...

I went to the kids room last night (SD receiver) to turn on Monsters Inc. which was on my guide in the den-HD DVR (on starz HD or soemthing), and the SD receiver won't tune HD channels?


Nope, that is the problem. They would have to replace every SD receiver and DVR with an HD one and the cost would be way too much. Now someday when a whole lot more people have switched over to HD at their own expense it may become feasible but it will be quite a while before that happens.

#28 OFFLINE   NewForceFiveFan

NewForceFiveFan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 213 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2010

Posted 30 August 2010 - 11:07 AM

Durectv just replaced all the old rca and hughs sd recievers at a customers business site for free - they got fifteen D12's to replace the old GBAE0's and RCA SD recievers, so there is still a good stock of them floating around


With that many receivers being swapped out I'm guessing it's a restaurant or a bar and their monthly bill is high enough to justify Directv doing a free swapout. Are the 15 tv's all old SD ones or have they replaced some-or-all with hdtv's? As we've been discussing in this thread even older SD tv's can view an HD receivers output. It is odd that a business wouldn't want to go full HDTV for customer satisfaction when their competition is probably already doing it.

#29 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 30 August 2010 - 11:08 AM

They would have to replace every SD receiver and DVR with an HD one and the cost would be way too much.

Or, the next generation of D* SD receivers is MPEG2/4 capable. When the current installed SD base is replaced via upgrades and failures, with MPEG4 boxes that will simply down-convert to 480i. They can transition all channels to MPEG4...abandon MPEG2...freeing up bandwidth for more channels.

HD/SD...makes no difference.
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#30 OFFLINE   NewForceFiveFan

NewForceFiveFan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 213 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2010

Posted 30 August 2010 - 11:31 AM

Duhh!! When the R22 was a current product you could get one at Best Buy or from DirecTV for $99 (the price of an SD DVR like the R15/R16). But as time went on we all realized that it was really an HR21 HD DVR (with HD disabled). Well, now with the latest software it looks EXACTLY like an HD DVR including all the SAME menu options. But they won't let you upgrade your account to HD unless you get a "genuine" HD box and add/reset your commitment to 2 years. "Their goal is to make money"? Uh, YEAH!!!! :mad:


Um, a "genuine" HD box has hardware inside for decoding HD and MPEG4 video that the R15/R16 doesn't have. Just because the latest software makes it look like an HD-DVR doesn't make it one. I've owned dvd and blu-ray players, cell phones, etc. that had upgradable firmware and some of the new options included in the updates had no bearing on my current model.

#31 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 30 August 2010 - 03:58 PM

With that many receivers being swapped out I'm guessing it's a restaurant or a bar and their monthly bill is high enough to justify Directv doing a free swapout. Are the 15 tv's all old SD ones or have they replaced some-or-all with hdtv's? As we've been discussing in this thread even older SD tv's can view an HD receivers output. It is odd that a business wouldn't want to go full HDTV for customer satisfaction when their competition is probably already doing it.


I know what their monthly bill is - less the 100.00 with taxes. They have 26 recievers spread out over 3 dishes, a mixture of HD and SD sets. For what they use it for, SD fits fine in most locations, they are neither a bar or a restaurant.

http://www.directv.c...footernavtype=3

with HD package and locals

#32 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • Registered
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 30 August 2010 - 06:25 PM

Um, a "genuine" HD box has hardware inside for decoding HD and MPEG4 video that the R15/R16 doesn't have. Just because the latest software makes it look like an HD-DVR doesn't make it one. I've owned dvd and blu-ray players, cell phones, etc. that had upgradable firmware and some of the new options included in the updates had no bearing on my current model.


Yes, and the R22 has the hardware inside for decoding HD and MPEG4. Today, with the current software, it is virtually identical to an HR21 HD DVR. But it was sold (leased) as an "SD DVR" and DirecTV still considers it to be an SD DVR. The latest software on the R15/R16 makes it look like an SD DVR which it is. There are NO references to "HD" and no HD interfaces. Read my post again.

You need to familiarize yourself with the various DirecTV models and their capabilities...

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K





Protected By... spam firewall...And...