Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How do I know if my LNBF is bad?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Bmac48

Bmac48

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2010

Posted 26 August 2010 - 11:22 AM

I have a Dish 500 with a DP Dual LNBF, and a single DP311 receiver. I am able to view programs from Sat 119, but not 110 as the signal goes in and out constantly. I have had this configuration for almost 4 years now with no problems. A tech told me the dish is aimed perfectly. I had branches cut from a tree across the street to ensure no interference, but it did nothing to change the status. Could my LNBF be bad? What can I do to test it? Thanx.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,726 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 26 August 2010 - 12:59 PM

I would get the service plan and ask for a service call.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#3 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 26 August 2010 - 06:05 PM

I'm guessing you mean you have a DP Twin LNB:

Posted Image

A DP Dual is a single LNB with 2 outputs:

Posted Image


Anyway, if your signal is intermittent, and you don't have something blocking your LOS, then most likely it is a bad LNB, but I'd agree that you'd be best off having a service call. That way, no matter what the problem is, it will get fixed.

#4 OFFLINE   veterantech

veterantech

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2010

Posted 31 August 2010 - 03:53 AM

BMAC-

your problem sounds like LNB drift to me.

Press "Menu"

then "6"

then"1"

then "3"

let the diagnostic do its thing, if you have drift you will be alerted.

the simplest explanation about drift is that the LNB has gone crosseyed.

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 August 2010 - 10:12 AM

The explanation of the 'drift' is LOF (local oscillator frequency) changed/changing from standard fixed values. This affect tuning to transponder's frequency and signal level when you select particular channel.




spam firewall