Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

622 doesn't get a local that my TV tuner does


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dclaryjr

dclaryjr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2007

Posted 31 August 2010 - 09:05 PM

I'm having a problem receiving the local CBS-HD affiliate OTA. I just ran a scan on my TV's tuner and it picked up 15 signals, including 10.1 and 10,2--the CBS station in question. But when I switch that same antenna to the 622, it finds those signals, but for 10.1 it says "not locked" and a signal strength of 0. (10.2 has a strong signal but nothing is being broadcast). Any ideas on why I can't get this station on the 622? Thanks!
Dave Clary/Corpus Christi, TX
http://davidclary.com
HR24-200
HR21-100
H-23 x 2
JVC 56FN70 1080P LCOS
37" 1080P Sharp Aquos)
Two old TVs to be replaced with HD by end of year
Overpriced AV with psuedo-surround

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Curmudgeon

Curmudgeon

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2004

Posted 01 September 2010 - 03:50 PM

Tuners vary in sensitivity. Are you subscribing to locals thru Dish? If so, the CBS HD station (what you see as 10.1 from your antenna) is part of the package.

If not, Your TV's HD tuner is obviously more sensitive and you'll have to use it to tune your local HD channels. Your 622 is fairly "old" by electronics standards....I'd bet your TV is newer and more advanced.

#3 OFFLINE   dclaryjr

dclaryjr

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2007

Posted 01 September 2010 - 10:25 PM

Thanks for the reply. Just seems strange but the tuner on my JVC does seem to be a good one.

The problem will be OBE come Monday. I decided today to jump ship. I've been real happy with Dish for years but I've decided to go with D*. I just hope the equipment manages to be as reliable as my Dish stuff has been.
Dave Clary/Corpus Christi, TX
http://davidclary.com
HR24-200
HR21-100
H-23 x 2
JVC 56FN70 1080P LCOS
37" 1080P Sharp Aquos)
Two old TVs to be replaced with HD by end of year
Overpriced AV with psuedo-surround

#4 OFFLINE   dclaryjr

dclaryjr

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2007

Posted 04 September 2010 - 09:56 PM

Cancel the above post--not going anywhere. Upon further review, I've decided I'm better off staying put for now. I guess I'll just have to switch to my TV tuner for CBS HD.
Dave Clary/Corpus Christi, TX
http://davidclary.com
HR24-200
HR21-100
H-23 x 2
JVC 56FN70 1080P LCOS
37" 1080P Sharp Aquos)
Two old TVs to be replaced with HD by end of year
Overpriced AV with psuedo-surround

#5 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 05 September 2010 - 11:18 AM

Smart move - er - non move....:D

#6 OFFLINE   dclaryjr

dclaryjr

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2007

Posted 05 September 2010 - 04:39 PM

Smart move - er - non move....:D


LOL. I do have some mixed emotions. I wouldn't mind having Sunday Ticket and ESPNU in HD. But after the initial promotional period, I would end up spending more than I'd like to get what I'd want at that point.
Dave Clary/Corpus Christi, TX
http://davidclary.com
HR24-200
HR21-100
H-23 x 2
JVC 56FN70 1080P LCOS
37" 1080P Sharp Aquos)
Two old TVs to be replaced with HD by end of year
Overpriced AV with psuedo-surround

#7 OFFLINE   festivus

festivus

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 190 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2008

Posted 22 September 2010 - 05:46 AM

dclaryjr,

You might want to do a check switch and see if that fixes this issue.
Panasonic TCP50S1 50 inch plasma in great room, Dish VIP622, Pioneer Surround System

Sanyo PLV-Z5 Projector in basement, 106 inch gray screen, 2nd Dish VIP622. LG Surround System

db2 antennna in attic for both VIP622s

Time Warner Roadrunner

We live in a society exquisitely dependent on science and technology, in which hardly anyone knows anything about science and technology. ~Carl Sagan




Protected By... spam firewall...And...