Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

R15 recording 11 hours for a 1 hour show


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   galenmd

galenmd

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2008

Posted 05 September 2010 - 02:35 PM

My R15 records 11 hours of time every time I tried to record an episode of "Wipeout" or "America's Got Talent." It has occurred for several movies as well. For awhile, I thought my DVR had a really small hard drive, until I realized that I had several movies I was saving for later, each one ranging from 7 to 12 hours.

Anyone else have this problem or anyone have a solution?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,164 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 05 September 2010 - 03:20 PM

My R15 records 11 hours of time every time I tried to record an episode of "Wipeout" or "America's Got Talent." It has occurred for several movies as well. For awhile, I thought my DVR had a really small hard drive, until I realized that I had several movies I was saving for later, each one ranging from 7 to 12 hours.

Anyone else have this problem or anyone have a solution?


It's a known problem on the R15. If you reset your recording options to defaults that seems to solve it. Menu ->Parental Favs & Setup -> System Setup -> Reset ->Reset Defaults.

#3 OFFLINE   galenmd

galenmd

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2008

Posted 05 September 2010 - 04:28 PM

Thank you. I just did it and will hope for good results.

#4 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • Registered
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 07 September 2010 - 05:26 PM

Another thing you should do is reset your R15 twice within the same half hour. (I.E. do both resets without having your clock on the top or bottom of the hour which is when the DVR updates it's guide and does disk housekeeping) Do this by going to menu/system setup/reset. This flushes the guide cache (starts your program guide over from scratch) and also checks various other files for corruption and if it finds any it re-creates them.

I've found that just powering the R15 off and on does NOT seem to do this (or pressing the red button to reset it)!!

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K





Protected By... spam firewall...And...