Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Looking for users of HR24-200 and AM21


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 06 September 2010 - 10:26 AM

Hello,

I'm looking for some feedback of people using the HR24-200 with an AM21. Since D* doesn't offer my locals yet, I rely heavily on recording OTA with my AM21, which is connected to my current HR21. The HR21 is sloooow, which is why I want to replace it with the HR24. And I'm looking specifically for the -200 since the -500 appears to have a problem recording OTA channels. See RAD's poll: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=183354

Based on the results of RAD's poll, it appears the HR24/AM21 problem is just with the -500, but since there are probably a lot fewer -200 in use, I just wanted to get some feedback from actual -200 users that regularly use an AM21 to record on the -200. Do you have any problems with the -200 and recording OTA? Even when recording 2 OTA at the same time?

I just don't want to spend $200 and then discover some of my OTA recordings are blank. Thanks for the help.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 06 September 2010 - 05:05 PM

Also, does anyone know where I can get a -200 model? Everywhere I've looked/inquired at is the -500.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#3 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 352 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 06 September 2010 - 05:08 PM

I will gladly check stock on what we have at work tomorrow and report back.

~Ed

#4 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 06 September 2010 - 08:18 PM

Much appreciated!
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#5 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • Registered
  • 706 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 09 September 2010 - 10:33 PM

I got my 3 newer HR23's swapped for HR24-100's and using them with AM21's.

No issues.

11 DirecTV HD-DVR's including a Genie and GenieGO


#6 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 10 September 2010 - 06:26 AM

How did you get them swapped out?

D* doesn't gaurantee what receivers you'll get.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#7 OFFLINE   p010ne

p010ne

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 510 posts
  • Locationdecatur, tx
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 23 September 2010 - 05:36 PM

:eek2: We had to download the current firmware release to get my new hr24-200 to recognize my AM21; however, it says that tv apps are loading but I do not get the tv apps menu? :confused:
Eighter from Decatur, County Seat of Wise (of course it's in Texas)

#8 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • Registered
  • 706 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 23 September 2010 - 08:32 PM

How did you get them swapped out?

D* doesn't gaurantee what receivers you'll get.


I got on my knees and begged....along with MRV for $100. It was a struggle though.

I also got the number for the local installer dispatch to make sure they were on the truck before they got to my house.

11 DirecTV HD-DVR's including a Genie and GenieGO


#9 OFFLINE   gravity113

gravity113

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2010

Posted 27 September 2010 - 08:04 PM

Hey there
I was hoping you might be able to steer me in the right direction. For some reason, dtv is unwilling to tell me what ota antennas/digital converters I can use with my brand new hr24-200 and also claim it has to connect via USB- for some reason, i don't believe this. Could you kinda point me in the direction of a compatible antenna and let me know how to get my receiver to display the OTA channels? Thanks from a frustrated direct tv newbie..

#10 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 08:07 PM

Hey there
I was hoping you might be able to steer me in the right direction. For some reason, dtv is unwilling to tell me what ota antennas/digital converters I can use with my brand new hr24-200 and also claim it has to connect via USB- for some reason, i don't believe this. Could you kinda point me in the direction of a compatible antenna and let me know how to get my receiver to display the OTA channels? Thanks from a frustrated direct tv newbie..


The ONLY converter box that will work with the HR24 is the AM21. Its around $50. DirecTv website sells it, Solid Signal.com sells it. It plugs into the HR24's USB port.

Antenna would depend how far you are from the stations you want, and in how many directions they are. Check www.tvfool.com and enter your address. It will list the channels, and tell you what size antenna you need.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#11 OFFLINE   gravity113

gravity113

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2010

Posted 27 September 2010 - 09:22 PM

thanks Davenlr.... finally an answer!
I'm assuming that if my signal strength requirements are modest, i might as well just get a converter box instead of an antenna. In the event I choose an antenna over a converter box, is there a list of compatible devices and must they connect via usb as well?

lastly, i'm assuming getting dtv to recognize the device once connected is pretty self explanatory?

thanks again

#12 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,103 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 09:30 PM

thanks Davenlr.... finally an answer!
I'm assuming that if my signal strength requirements are modest, i might as well just get a converter box instead of an antenna. In the event I choose an antenna over a converter box, is there a list of compatible devices and must they connect via usb as well?

lastly, i'm assuming getting dtv to recognize the device once connected is pretty self explanatory?

thanks again


No, you need an AM21 AND a suitable antenna. The antenna receives the signals and then passes them over separate coax to the AM21 which is a digital tuner.

#13 OFFLINE   gravity113

gravity113

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2010

Posted 27 September 2010 - 09:33 PM

bingo. thanks for your help.

#14 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 09:49 PM

lastly, i'm assuming getting dtv to recognize the device once connected is pretty self explanatory?


Yes. Put up antenna, route coax to location of AM21.
Screw antenna coax into AM21.
Unplug DVR, plug DVR into outlet on AM21
Plug AM21 USB cable into DVR
Plug AM21 into wall outlet you just unplugged the DVR from

Go to SETUP, Satellite and Antenna. Choose option Initial Setup. Enter your zip code. Box will download list of your local stations. Hit OK. If you have a second zip code (another close by town you want to pick up) you can enter a secondary zip, or just hit continue. DVR will download guide data for your new off air channels, and they will show up in the guide in a dark color with -1 designations. You can also edit the list of channels to remove those your antenna cannot pick up (if any) so they wont clutter your guide.

Pretty easy to do.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#15 OFFLINE   gravity113

gravity113

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2010

Posted 27 September 2010 - 10:17 PM

great. i'll be bookmarking this site. one question on this board trumps 5 tech calls ;)

#16 OFFLINE   bwclark

bwclark

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 211 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 29 September 2010 - 06:09 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...004#post2596004

I thought my problem was with my HR20-100 as I would be KOD menu on playback into the recording at random times on a specific OTA channel. Well, after a 1.5 years, it is still an issue and with my new HR24-500 on the same channel and now another channel as well.

DTV - HELLLLLLOOOOO :mad:

#17 OFFLINE   raromr

raromr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2010

Posted 17 October 2010 - 06:41 AM

I have 2 500s and 1 200. Just got the 200 from 6ave.com. Tested the OTA w/ the AM21 last night on a variety of channels. Still had 1 blank immediate delete recording (on the local NBC channel - 100% OTA signal). Am testing again tonight - still not willing to use OTA for any series links or important shows :( Had an HR20-700 w/ OTA and NEVER had one single recording issue. To me, it seems like the problem is that when the receiver tunes to the OTA channel there can sometimes be a "lag" and that lag causes the receiver to see the channel as blank and thus never "catches" the signal.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...