Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Separate Dishes


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,596 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 August 2013 - 11:12 AM

 

  • the LNBF has "DP" logo, so it would be easy to pick (at eBay)
  • any size of reflector (3M 'spoon' dishes would be the best !) would works with DP LNBF, just use only one LNBF per dish
  • any DP/DPP switch will works for you [DP34 or DPP44, DPP64, etc]
  • be sure the big dishes: 1M, or 3M ;) fixed tight; at Bay Area we have constant earthquakes what tilting/moving walls/roofs slightly , so bigger dish should be watched and aligned sometimes - keep a spreadsheet of signals on each sat/tpn and use it as reference

 

A "DP" switch P. Smith?

 

Don't the Hopper tuners require 3 "DPP" blocks?

 

I understand its acceptable to use DP LNBFs for the dishes, but the multi-switch must be DPP to feed a Hopper or any other Dish DVR for that matter with a single coax line to it.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,269 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 20 August 2013 - 02:07 PM

you're right, I'm missed he has the H

 

regarding what  Solo or Duo Node require as input ... I'm not sure if a DP switch will not works for TWO satellites...

technically, it will be enough... yeah, some chances of stubborn FW coding perhaps will ruin my idea ;)

yes, for three sats DPP switch is must


Edited by P Smith, 20 August 2013 - 02:14 PM.


#28 OFFLINE   34Ford

34Ford

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2004

Posted 22 August 2013 - 07:28 AM

Looking at Sadoun and I was wondering if I could use a DPP33?   Or is the 44 required because it has the external power?


Dennis

#29 OFFLINE   Grandude

Grandude

    RichardParker II

  • Registered
  • 896 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2004

Posted 22 August 2013 - 08:50 AM

Looking at Sadoun and I was wondering if I could use a DPP33?   Or is the 44 required because it has the external power?

My guess is that it would work but I would still get the DPP44 switch, just 10 bucks more, and you would then be in a position to expand your system if it ever became necessary or desired.

BTW, in your picture above, the line to output 1 which requires the power inserter doesn't need to be used for feeding the mono or duonode.

In my setup it was more advantageous to mount it closer to the switch, in the garage, and AC power was already there for other things.


Brian...reporting from the left coast
 2 Hoppers,1 Joey, 1 VIP211K active receivers
 I still believe in magic
!





Protected By... spam firewall...And...