Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk

Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
Guest Message by DevFuse


Do TV Apps work with HR24's?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gss1537



  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2010

Posted 13 September 2010 - 07:54 PM

I searched on Directv website but is states a HR21 or HR23. Do the TV Apps work on HR24 receivers?

If they are supposed too, do I need to connect my receiver to my router or should it work with my Deca setup?


...Ads Help To Support This Site...




  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2010

Posted 13 September 2010 - 08:22 PM

It should work with DECA.

#3 OFFLINE   Davenlr


    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,136 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 13 September 2010 - 08:23 PM

TV Apps work on my HR24-500, which is connected to the internet via DECA. It will also work connected directly to the internet via a switch/router.

DirecTv HR24x2 Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"

#4 ONLINE   dpeters11


    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 16,134 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 13 September 2010 - 08:23 PM

Do you have a DECA box plugged into your network?

#5 OFFLINE   gss1537



  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2010

Posted 13 September 2010 - 08:28 PM

yeah, i have everything connected and my On Demand works and I'm getting the WHDVR to work too, but it gives me Error 11 "currently unavailable"

My mediaShare doesn't work either.

#6 OFFLINE   Justin85



  • Registered
  • 121 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2010

Posted 14 September 2010 - 03:06 AM

Apps have NEVER worked on either of my HR24-200's. I have DECA with an Internet Connection Kit.

Edited by Justin85, 14 September 2010 - 05:55 PM.

#7 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W


  • Registered
  • 851 posts
  • LocationConnecticut
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 14 September 2010 - 05:41 AM

TV Apps work fine on all my receivers(which includes 1 HR25-500... see my sig). I am connected via my home network, not DECA tho.

Current Equipment:

Tivo Roamio Plus -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
Tivo Roamio -> Yamaha RX-V675 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

Tivo Mini -> LG 32" 32LD450
Tivo Mini -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11

Tivo Mini -> Sharp 32" LC-32LB370U


Charter Spectrum TV

#8 OFFLINE   DoctorCAD


    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2009

Posted 14 September 2010 - 07:30 AM

Works on my HR24-200 with Ethernet only connection.

#9 OFFLINE   skatingrocker17



  • Registered
  • 274 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2010

Posted 14 September 2010 - 07:42 AM

They don't work on my receivers that don't have ethernet connected to them but I have 1 H24 and 1 HR24 with internet connected and the apps do work. The other 2 H24s don't have internet connected and they don't work. Where do you think the information would be coming from if it wasn't coming from the internet?

#10 OFFLINE   jpx5



  • Registered
  • 126 posts
  • LocationCentral New Jersey
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 14 September 2010 - 07:43 AM

Works fine on my HR24-500 using ethernet

Sat - AU9-S

SWM16 broadbandDECA

Network Linksys WRT54GS
HR34-700, HR24-500, 2 HR24-100's

#11 OFFLINE   spaul



  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 14 September 2010 - 09:04 AM

I, only have 1 H24-100 that is connected to MRV with my other boxes HR20-700 & H23-600 with apps working on all 3 boxes.

#12 OFFLINE   gss1537



  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2010

Posted 14 September 2010 - 09:28 AM

guess I will call tech support. Seems like they should work since I have the Deca hooked up to my router but I've read a few complaints on Directv website in the forums about the Apps not working properly.

#13 OFFLINE   Eskimo



  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2010

Posted 14 September 2010 - 12:50 PM

Has worked (intermittently, probably 75% of the time) on the Hx24's in my sig since my install on 9/1.

Rich in PA...

HR24-200 - MBR 32" Vizio
C41-100 - Great Room 50" Panny plasma w/ sound bar
HR44-700 - Theater room 128" 2.35:1 screen, Emotiva UMC-1, Klipsch KLF/KSP 7.1 speakers / Fi subs (18" x2), 3300 watts RMS.

#14 OFFLINE   tc3400



  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2006

Posted 15 September 2010 - 08:34 AM

Don't work on my HR24 or H24 with deca. Never have since I had deca installed.

#15 OFFLINE   gss1537



  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2010

Posted 15 September 2010 - 01:39 PM

i called Tech support and they just wrote up a ticket and said they would send up to Engineering....for what that is worth.

The tech actually had me plug directly from router to HR24 but that didn't work either. I read with the DECA, you are not supposed to plug directly from the router to receiver so after I got off phone I disconnected.

My status for WHDVR and Internet show OK after test run so it seems to be hit or miss on the TV APPS. Since I never had them I guess I won't know what I'm missing.

Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: whdvr

Protected By... spam firewall...And...