Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Can I use a Hughes HIRD-E11


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gss1537

gss1537

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2010

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:31 PM

I recently just had (2) HR24's installed and I remembered I had DirecTv about 8 years ago and still had a Hughes HIRD-E11 in the closet.

Can I use this receiver with my current setup?
Would I run a RG6 cable from the Dish directly to the receiver or would I got through my splitter?

Would DirecTv charge me a monthly fee for this receiver?

This would make a perfect receiver for my Study so I hope it can be done.

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   doctrsnoop

doctrsnoop

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 466 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2007

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:54 PM

There's a couple of issues. One is the type of LNB is on your dish. If it is a Single Wire (Multiplexed) SWM that is running out of it and split to your HR24's than no, your unit is not compatible. You would need a D12 or D13 instead.

If you have a LNB with 4 wires running out of it to a WB68 multiswitch with 8 ports out, than you can run a cable to it - But I've seen reports that DTV isn't activating an increasing amount of old equipment.

You might just get a deal on a new plain receiver though, possibly even free.

5 - HR22-100 4 via regular ethernet, 1 via DECA, 2 HR21-700 networked via regular ethernet, HR21-100 networked via DECA, H25-500
R15-500 Inactive, H20-600 (ECO 2.0) inactive,D11 (Humax LD2060) inactive
Slimline 5 w/ SWM8 parallel w/ SWM16 w/DECA

#3 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,649 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 21 September 2010 - 03:17 PM

Even if it works with your new dish, realize that this is a VERY old Receiver. It's Guide Data is limited and it can no longer receive all of DirecTV's SD channels. You might be able to get a modern SD Receiver for free. Check your DirecTV.com account or call them.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#4 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 968 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 21 September 2010 - 04:01 PM

what is the d13?

#5 OFFLINE   doctrsnoop

doctrsnoop

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 466 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2007

Posted 21 September 2010 - 04:10 PM

what is the d13?


Well this is where I ought to shut up because my only half knowledge of the system betrays me, but it was something I saw on a couple of SWM FAQ pages like here http://www.swm8.com/swm-faq.php

Me not knowing or caring much about SD receivers just assumed it was something that snuck out, but I am probably wrong.

5 - HR22-100 4 via regular ethernet, 1 via DECA, 2 HR21-700 networked via regular ethernet, HR21-100 networked via DECA, H25-500
R15-500 Inactive, H20-600 (ECO 2.0) inactive,D11 (Humax LD2060) inactive
Slimline 5 w/ SWM8 parallel w/ SWM16 w/DECA

#6 OFFLINE   gss1537

gss1537

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2010

Posted 21 September 2010 - 07:18 PM

if i get a newer SD receiver, would it be compatible with the type of Dish I have? I guess then I would get charged the $5/monthly fee, right?

#7 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,649 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 21 September 2010 - 07:21 PM

if i get a newer SD receiver, would it be compatible with the type of Dish I have? I guess then I would get charged the $5/monthly fee, right?


Yes it's compatible. And if it's replacing an existing Receiver, then there's no additional monthly fee.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#8 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,572 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 22 September 2010 - 07:23 PM

He would be charged the fee since the HIRD-E11 is in the closet and probably not active on the account.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#9 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,649 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 22 September 2010 - 11:56 PM

He would be charged the fee since the HIRD-E11 is in the closet and probably not active on the account.


There's no additional fee, though, if that Receiver is simply replacing another Receiver that will be removed from the account, right?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#10 OFFLINE   narcolept

narcolept

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 355 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2007

Posted 23 September 2010 - 05:04 AM

if i get a newer SD receiver, would it be compatible with the type of Dish I have? I guess then I would get charged the $5/monthly fee, right?


If they would activate the HIRD-E11, you'd be charged $5/mo for that, as well.

#11 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 23 September 2010 - 06:12 AM

if i get a newer SD receiver, would it be compatible with the type of Dish I have? I guess then I would get charged the $5/monthly fee, right?


Every receiver beyond the 1st one costs $5/month, so it doesnt matter whether its a new reciever or an old one.

#12 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 958 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 23 September 2010 - 09:55 AM

There's no additional fee, though, if that Receiver is simply replacing another Receiver that will be removed from the account, right?


In this case the other receiver isn't listed on the account though.

#13 OFFLINE   gss1537

gss1537

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2010

Posted 24 September 2010 - 09:34 AM

Correct- this receiver is not on the current account.

I figured I would have to pay them to get a new card sent out but I didn't know if there would be the monthly $5 charge.

I had another post about just splitting the output from my bedroom to this TV so that may be the best option to avoid paying the monthly fee since we don't use this 3rd TV very often.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...