Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk

Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
Guest Message by DevFuse

- - - - -

Weird thing happened when I went to the guide. . .

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Wisegoat



  • Registered
  • 803 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 22 September 2010 - 11:31 PM

Anyone ever seen their guide do this?

I like it! I wouldn't mind it doing it full time, instead of just randomly.

This is an HR20-700. Had it since August 06.

Attached Thumbnails

  • guide.jpg

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 ONLINE   murry27409



  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2007

Posted 23 September 2010 - 12:09 AM

Both my HR20-100 and HR22-100 have done this. Occurs every now and then and has happened while showing the guide and the playlist.





  • Registered
  • 435 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2007

Posted 23 September 2010 - 05:59 AM

I've seen it. Personally, I wish I could set it to be this way all the time. Obviously not exactly like that but I would like to be able to have transparent menus with fullscreen programming in the background.
Broadband DECA connected to Linksys WRT150N
Samsung HLS-5679W LED DLP
Sony Playstation 3

DIRECTV Employee.
All comments are my own. My views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV.

#4 OFFLINE   johnid


    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2010

Posted 23 September 2010 - 06:12 AM

it glitched like that for me once the other day but it inly lasted like a couple of seconds

#5 OFFLINE   ronsanjim



  • Registered
  • 417 posts
  • LocationCherokee Village, AR
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 24 September 2010 - 12:39 PM

It has happened 3 or 4 times on my HR20-100, and it quickly vanished once I made an exit. I certainly don't like it...

#6 OFFLINE   n3ntj


    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,749 posts
  • LocationLancaster, PA area
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 24 September 2010 - 12:40 PM

I've also seen this on my HR20-700. A weird glitch.

HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200 (2), 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV), Cinema Kit (Wifi connection)
Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.

#7 OFFLINE   Indiana627


    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,213 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 24 September 2010 - 05:09 PM

It happens a lot on my HR21-100. And I don't like it.


"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR44-700; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired via ethernet port to Linksys WRT54G; power inserter; UPS
Bedroom: HR24-100 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; connected to Linksys WRT54G via the HR44-700; UPS
(1) SL3-SWM LNB dish with 1x4 splitter (2 lines direct to each room: 2nd line in family room connected to power inserter; 2nd line in bedroom not used).
D* since January 2003

#8 OFFLINE   Drucifer


    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,756 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 24 September 2010 - 06:28 PM

I occasionally get a guide that's transparent on my HR21.

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-700, Bsm: HR24-100, Den HR24-200, MB: HR24-500, Kit: H25-500
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00




  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,613 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 24 September 2010 - 06:32 PM

I have seen it also but I dont like it


#10 OFFLINE   orbit626


    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
  • LocationMichigan
Joined: Jan 23, 2009

Posted 26 September 2010 - 11:46 AM

My HR20-700 has done this countless times, and has been doing it a lot as of late. I dont like it much. When it does it, I can scroll through the guide like normal, but it wont let me select a station, so I have to exit out and reload the guide.

Edited by orbit626, 26 September 2010 - 11:46 AM.

#11 OFFLINE   rynorama



  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2010

Posted 26 September 2010 - 04:57 PM

I like when that happens, should be an option. Then an option for opacity. Like the old days.
HR34-700 on a 73" Mitsubishi 1080P
HR22-100 on a 23" Acer Monitor (3 input w/Dual monitor and Home server on KVM )
R22-100 on a 42" Vizio 1080P
R22 on a 32" Sylvania 1080i
R22 on a 32" Sanyo 1080i
H24 on a 26" Westinghouse 1080i
Plus 3 D12's on other TVs

#12 OFFLINE   texasmoose



  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 26 September 2010 - 05:08 PM

Posted Image
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr



    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,876 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 27 September 2010 - 05:56 AM

I've noticed it twice since the latest firmware update. Never noticed it before, though.

#14 OFFLINE   DrummerBoy523



  • Registered
  • 484 posts
  • LocationFranklin, TN
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 27 September 2010 - 08:47 AM

it has happened to our HR21-200 but instead of transparent, everything turns black in the background. Really freaked out my 7 year old once.
  • Swim LNB
  • HR44-500 Family Room
  • HR24-200 Bonus Room
  • H24-100 Bedroom
  • MRV enabled

#15 OFFLINE   Drucifer


    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,756 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 27 September 2010 - 09:25 AM

I've noticed it twice since the latest firmware update. Never noticed it before, though.

Yeah, I think you're right on that. I too, don't remember it happening before the last upgrade.

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-700, Bsm: HR24-100, Den HR24-200, MB: HR24-500, Kit: H25-500
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#16 OFFLINE   johnp37



  • Registered
  • 537 posts
  • LocationCentral NJ
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 09:30 AM

Some of you like this glitch!? Its not normal plus the fact as a poster mentioned you can scroll the guide but are unable to select a channel. And then having to reload the guide? Are you kidding? I absolutely don't like it.

#17 OFFLINE   jangelj



  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 28 September 2010 - 06:32 AM

it's happened to me, too, on my HR21 after the last update. I do wish menu transparency was an option.

Protected By... spam firewall...And...