Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DISH Remote Access from my Android phone

timer

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 01 October 2010 - 07:52 PM

You mean veer the thread COMPLETELY off topic with hyperbole and ranting?

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 18 November 2010 - 12:12 PM

Just got the Dish Remote Access app from the Android Market. :D Works great on my EVO. Haven't watched much yet as I've only had it on the phone for about 10 minutes.
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#23 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 18 November 2010 - 12:51 PM

I cannot believe I just spent $29.99 on the Slingplayer app a few days ago.

Edit: OH GOD IT IS THE SAME APP.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#24 OFFLINE   bobukcat

bobukcat

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,957 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 18 November 2010 - 01:35 PM

I don't have and probably won't be buying a Sling adaptor because I don't travel enough to worry about it anymore but I am pleased to final have an application on my Droid for scheduling records, managing timers remotely, etc. instead of having to use the browser. I'm seeing quite a few errors in the limited testing I've done with it so far, one of the worst seems that some of the current shows in the grid will give me a "Unknown Error" when I click on them but others will pop up with an info screen and ask me if I want to watch it on My TV or My Phone (obviously without a Slingbox I have to choose MY TV but it's not making it that far on many programs in the guide).

#25 OFFLINE   bobukcat

bobukcat

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,957 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 18 November 2010 - 02:57 PM

There definitely appears to be a problem with this application, at least there is on my Droid. I have logged out and back in, re-installed the application and tried it via both wifi and VZW 3G and I get the same problem: when I select most of the programs from the grid I get an error "Request Failed = unknown error" instead of the program information screen. Some programs work fine and give me the information popup box with the option to record it but most don't. It doesn't appear to be limited to any specific channel either, on any given channel one program will work fine when the one in the next time slot fails. Anyone else see this issue?

#26 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 19 November 2010 - 10:24 AM

There definitely appears to be a problem with this application, at least there is on my Droid. I have logged out and back in, re-installed the application and tried it via both wifi and VZW 3G and I get the same problem: when I select most of the programs from the grid I get an error "Request Failed = unknown error" instead of the program information screen. Some programs work fine and give me the information popup box with the option to record it but most don't. It doesn't appear to be limited to any specific channel either, on any given channel one program will work fine when the one in the next time slot fails. Anyone else see this issue?

When I tried to use it last night it would get hung in the log in. I also tried Dish Remote access using the SSkyfire browser on my EVO and the Dish Remote Access link was grayed out. Tried on my PC using Firefox, IE8 and Chrome with the same result. But the app on my iPod Touch worked just fine. I spoke with a Broadband CSR who determined there is definitely a problem on their end. But not to worry because it will be repaired soon. :P

Guess 14 or 15 hours isn't soon because it's still not working this morning.:lol:
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#27 OFFLINE   bobukcat

bobukcat

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,957 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 19 November 2010 - 03:19 PM

I guess all the Android users overwhelmed the system or something because it's not just me having problems. I deleted the application and went to download it again and the vast majority of the comments on the application are "Can't get past login screen" and that's where I'm stuck now too. Hopefully they get it fixed quickly, I was really looking forward to using it. :(

#28 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 19 November 2010 - 09:38 PM

My Android app logged on with no problem about 30 minutes ago. Hopefully they have it fixed. And Dish Remote Access in My Account is working again also.
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: timer

spam firewall