Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR-24 vs TiVo question


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   EELUK

EELUK

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2010

Posted 27 September 2010 - 11:29 AM

If I set up a season pass and there's a conflict with a higher-priority show, will the HR-24 automatically record the show when it airs again? Or not?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,183 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 11:55 AM

Yes, I prioritize my TiVo and HR24 series links the same way, by order of showing. The HR will jump and record the next showing of a lower priority show.
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#3 OFFLINE   EELUK

EELUK

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2010

Posted 27 September 2010 - 12:12 PM

Does the season pass on the HR need to be set to BOTH, and not NEW ONLY for this "jump" to the next airing to take place?

#4 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,183 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 12:13 PM

I ONLY use new only.
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#5 OFFLINE   EELUK

EELUK

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2010

Posted 27 September 2010 - 12:20 PM

That would be great. But it is not showing up on the To-Do list.

I am having TiVo withdrawals....badly

#6 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,183 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 12:24 PM

I actually check both the TiVo and HR to do lists once per week, and every now and then I find one has not picked the next showing. I have to go to it and hit the "R" button once, to restore it. Not as reliable as the TiVo, but it's OK. I'd not leave it alone without double checking. I regularly have stuff like American Chopper, Dest Truth and Ghost Hunters that automatically pushes to the next showing just fine.
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#7 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 27 September 2010 - 12:36 PM

That would be great. But it is not showing up on the To-Do list.

I am having TiVo withdrawals....badly


The HR will act exactly as the Tivo with season passes in this regard. New only should be just fine. Only time it wouldn't pick up a later showing is if the guide data for the later showing is different or generic (i.e. screwed up).

Thing to remember about the ToDo list on the HR is that it is built slowly in the background over the next 6-12 hours after you make a change (vs. Tivo which does it right away but you get 5 minutes of "please wait"). So you may not see changes that are out past a few days until the following day.

#8 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 27 September 2010 - 02:02 PM

The HR24 is just as reliable as my old DirecTivo at recording future showings. It usually shows up in the ToDo list, but occasionally it doesn't show up in the ToDo list until after the first showing has passed, especially on a series link that is newly set up or has its priority changed.

I know it will take a while to trust a new box, but you will in time.
DogLover

My Setup

#9 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,088 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 02:18 PM

Yes, it works fine with NEW unless the guide data is messed up (and Tivo would have that problem, too). I have lots of conflicts like that because I like to record most on one box.

I woke up the other day and found the DVR recording and I was wondering what it was. It was a repeated new episode of Melissa & Joey that could not record in prime time. Used to have that issue all the time on Friday nights when Monk and other shows were on in conflict.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#10 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,183 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 02:39 PM

I agree that it works fine, but, unlike the TiVo, I'd worry if I did not chaperone it.
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#11 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,088 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 03:10 PM

I agree that it works fine, but, unlike the TiVo, I'd worry if I did not chaperone it.



I champerone every DVR I have ever had. I have found fewer errors with my HRs than my Tivos had but they all make mistakes. They are all at the mercy of guide data. Blindly letting any machine do its thing without checking on it means the task it is performing is not all that important to you. For example, I always checked Tivo for Smallville when it was recording it for me (I had WB/CW in HD on Comcast but not on DirecTV then and a wobbly OTA signal). It often made a mistake (the Tivo/Comcast relationship is horrible for some reason). But I never check my Fios DVR for All in the Family reruns. Smallville was important to me; All in the Family are just bon bons.

I find that moving recording times on the HR to be pretty simple. (I often do so just to have a tuner free to watch sports if I want to.) Just look at upcoming episodes and hit STOP to negate a recording and hit RECORD to add a specific recording episode. You could do that with Tivo as well but it an took extra step (had to go into individual episode screens).
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#12 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,183 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 27 September 2010 - 03:13 PM

Well, in my experience, I regularly find an issue with the HR missing a show it's supposed to record later, because of a conflict. I check them both, but the TiVo has yet to gimme a reason to think it might miss, because I never find anything wrong. If I could only verify one machine every week, it'd be the HR.
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#13 OFFLINE   trainman

trainman

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,419 posts
  • LocationSherman Oaks, CA
Joined: Jan 09, 2008

Posted 28 September 2010 - 08:41 AM

That would be great. But it is not showing up on the To-Do list.


I believe one difference between the TiVo and the HR series DVRs is that the HRs do more "background processing" than the TiVos. On one hand, you don't get a TiVo-style "Please wait..." graphic on the HRs, but on the other hand, the To Do list doesn't update itself as quickly on the HRs as it does on the TiVos.
trainman is Jim Ellwanger

HR34-700 | Linksys WGA-600N | Samsung 46" LCD | Slimline-5 dish

#14 OFFLINE   EELUK

EELUK

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2010

Posted 28 September 2010 - 08:42 AM

The HR-24 isn't all that bad....

#15 OFFLINE   Skyboss

Skyboss

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 578 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2004

Posted 28 September 2010 - 10:04 AM

I haev 3 HR24's and therefore six recording streams. What is a scheduling conflict?

#16 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 28 September 2010 - 03:12 PM

<snip>I woke up the other day and found the DVR recording and I was wondering what it was. It was a repeated new episode of Melissa & Joey that could not record in prime time.</snip>


Well, all I can say about that statement is that it's good to know M&J isn't at the top of your SL List. :D

My old DirecTiVos very very rarely missed a scheduled recording (it missed Survivor a few times last year, but probably a guide data thing). Only time will tell with the HR24.

Also, we lost sat signal and then briefly lost power the other night. Now, with old DirecTiVos, once units powered up and sat signal was restored they would pick up recording immediately where they left off. Not so with the HR24 -- first of all, unit wasn't coming on after power restored ... had to do a red button reset. When it did restore, took several minutes for recordings to start again. And old partial recordings were lost. So I only caught last 15 min of Survivor (what is it about that show and DVRs?). Ugh.

One nice thing I've noticed about the HR24 (or is it my imagination?) ... seems as tho recordings automatically get slilght padding at beginning and end of shows... anyone else notice that?
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#17 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,936 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 28 September 2010 - 03:22 PM

One nice thing I've noticed about the HR24 (or is it my imagination?) ... seems as tho recordings automatically get slilght padding at beginning and end of shows... anyone else notice that?


That was written into the software a year or two ago, you get a 30 second pad at the beginning and 90 seconds at the end. You wont see the beginning pad unless you rewind into it, pressing play starts at the designated time.
My Setup

#18 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,088 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 28 September 2010 - 05:05 PM

Also, we lost sat signal and then briefly lost power the other night. Now, with old DirecTiVos, once units powered up and sat signal was restored they would pick up recording immediately where they left off.


actually, I've seen my HR20 and the others keep recording through signal loss. It just skips the missing part on playback. And I've seen my DVRs restart the recording when power came back on. That it didn't start itself is your issue. Not that it won't pick up the recording.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#19 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 30 September 2010 - 03:06 PM

actually, I've seen my HR20 and the others keep recording through signal loss. It just skips the missing part on playback. And I've seen my DVRs restart the recording when power came back on. That it didn't start itself is your issue. Not that it won't pick up the recording.


Gotcha. Perhaps it was a fluke with this specific DVR under specific circumstances.
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#20 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 30 September 2010 - 03:08 PM

That was written into the software a year or two ago, you get a 30 second pad at the beginning and 90 seconds at the end. You wont see the beginning pad unless you rewind into it, pressing play starts at the designated time.


That's awesome. Thanks for the info.
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)




spam firewall