Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA Guide shows wrong channel info


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   boy654

boy654

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 28 September 2010 - 07:48 AM

I have one OTA channel (ABC) that shows EPG for different channel (PBS), the Dish local HD channel has the correct guide. I have deleted and rescanned locals, reloaded guide and it still shows guide for the PBS local channel. Is there a way to fix this?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,604 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 28 September 2010 - 12:48 PM

Most likely it is a problem with Dish and how they are mapping the data... If you can list the specific channel numbers that you are having problems with, one of us here can try and pass it along to Dish (and of course you can call them yourself) in case they are unaware of the problem.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#3 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,468 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 28 September 2010 - 05:50 PM

We have a similar problem in that MY Network is the secondary channel on a frequency with CW and since Dish uses the PSIP data to associate the OTA channel with th edata in the guide, both of these channels show the same programming info even hough they are different. I griped at Dish and the station for 6 months before they finally said the way the station PSIP associates the data makes it impossible for them to map the correct OTA data to that station, so I just keep the SD channel on below it to see what's showing. Rarely watch MYNetwork antway.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#4 OFFLINE   boy654

boy654

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 29 September 2010 - 06:40 PM

Thanks for the explanation, it just started showing the wrong guide about a week ago for the ota. Sounds like the local station has made changes, Charlotte WSOC channel 9.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...