Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Distant Network - No Sound on 1 Channel


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Finnigan

Finnigan

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2010

Posted 28 September 2010 - 11:44 AM

I have 8 Distant Network Standard channels (NY & SF).

Been working fine for months.

Now, all of a sudden (2 weeks now), the NBC channel out of NY offers no sound. Picture is fine.

Who do I complain to?

I think Distant Networks offer no support - only sales.

Is Dishnetwork going to deal with this? Why would they even care?

Finnigan

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Pete K.

Pete K.

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 776 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 28 September 2010 - 12:02 PM

WNBC without sound is better than WNBC with sound. Seriously though, I think you have to go through All American Direct (https://www.mydistantnetworks.com). Aren't they still providing those channels for Dish subscribers? If they don't offer support, maybe they shouldn't be in business.

#3 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,254 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 28 September 2010 - 12:18 PM

Who do I complain to?

Who are you paying? Start there ... and if you get no satisfaction you can stop paying (or at least threaten to do so).

#4 OFFLINE   Finnigan

Finnigan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2010

Posted 28 September 2010 - 03:44 PM

OK, I started by calling All American Direct (their old name).

They sent a download again of all the 8 channels I get. That did nothing.

They had me do a RESET on my receiver. That did nothing.

They told me to call Dish. I did.

Dish Tech 1 could not solve it, got bumped up. Next level could not solve it.

Now, it has been sent to their Lab - the engineers will work on it from there.

They do not need me. They just told me to check the channel every so often.

Sounds like, "don't call us - we will call you". :mad:

I will update this Thread in a few days (if there is anything to update).

Finnigan

#5 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 611 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 28 September 2010 - 04:03 PM

No problem with WNBC here.

#6 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 28 September 2010 - 05:37 PM

My WNBC works
:icon_band
Thank you and
Best of luck

#7 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,859 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 28 September 2010 - 08:25 PM

WNBC audio fine here, all three receivers.

#8 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 28 September 2010 - 08:46 PM

The thread starter lists his location as Mexico. Is Dish/AAD legally available in Mexico?

#9 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 684 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 28 September 2010 - 08:52 PM

241 WNBC audio is fine here too. I did notice some pixalation on KPIX on sunday during the Raiders game.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#10 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,254 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 28 September 2010 - 09:46 PM

No problem with WNBC here.

My WNBC works
:icon_band

WNBC audio fine here, all three receivers.

241 WNBC audio is fine here too. I did notice some pixalation on KPIX on sunday during the Raiders game.


Time for the OP to check his receiver connections. It appears that the channel is working fine for others. Are the other channels in your subscription working?

#11 OFFLINE   Finnigan

Finnigan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2010

Posted 29 September 2010 - 01:53 PM

...and still not sound on 241 (WNBC).

And, that is on two receivers - 722 & 622

Very strange!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...