Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Connecting HR22-100 to a Cisco E100 (w/ Netgear Wgt624)


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dcmidnight

dcmidnight

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2007

Posted 28 September 2010 - 07:43 PM

Is it possible to use this older Netgear router to wirelessly connect the HR22 to my home network (Cisco E1000 / Cox Cable)?

I've tried manually setting this up for a couple of hours tonight. On the connection screen it shows all OKs and that it connects to the network but not the internet - and repeatedly I get Error 22. Is part of the reason that I have not been able to set this router up with my network key to connect?

I consider myself pretty technically inclined but this has been a real hassle. Would like if possible to avoid paying DTV another $100 if I can use this old Netgear router.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   cherry919

cherry919

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2010

Posted 28 September 2010 - 10:54 PM

That unit is a router only. I don't see any custom firmware that might convert it to a bridge or access point. You need a wireless bridge and/or a "gaming adapter" to connect your unit without wires. Powerline adapters are an option too. If you plan on using MRV, YMMV with powerline or wireless. With wireless, N is much faster than G. If you only want to add internet access, wireless or powerline will probably be OK. Don't spend $100 -- this is only $43 w/ shipping.
http://www.amazon.co...t/dp/B002LITI7K
I have used ZyXEL products in the past and found them to be reliable.

#3 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 29 September 2010 - 05:53 AM

You can also look at getting the Linksys WRT160N router. With DD-WRT firmware, it works well as a wireless bridge. Just make sure to NOT get v2 of the router as that is the only version that DD-WRT firmware does not work with. You can get it refurbished or used for around $30 or so.

I have two that way and am very happy.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





spam firewall