Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Quick tip to make HDDVR respond/work a bit faster


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Codfishjoe

Codfishjoe

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2010

Posted 30 September 2010 - 05:01 PM

After seeing multiple threads regarding how slow HDDVRs respond, I figured I'd post this here as a quick little fix. It helps a bit to make the receiver respond faster in most cases. It doesn't improve by leaps and bounds, but definitely noticeable in most cases.

Start by pressing and holding mute first, then select at the same time until the green light on the remote flashes twice, just like any other programming remote step.

Next, press the numbers 9 6 3 and the green light should flash twice again.

Finally, press the "Chan Down" button and the green light should flash twice again.

This disables the model id on the remote, basically meaning the remote doesn't send a sort of verification code of what model of remote it is with each key press that requires the receiver verify it first before processing the command. It just sends the signal straight through, providing faster response time.

Try this and see if it improves the speed at all.
I am not really a codfish.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 30 September 2010 - 05:16 PM

Will the affect any other devices the remote is programmed to control, like the TV or AV receiver?
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#3 OFFLINE   Codfishjoe

Codfishjoe

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2010

Posted 30 September 2010 - 05:23 PM

This programming affects only the functionality of remote to receiver commands. Not designed to affect other functions such as TV or AV1, although I see no reason why it wouldn't hurt to try if those are an issue. =P
I am not really a codfish.

#4 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 719 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 30 September 2010 - 06:52 PM

This tip does help a little bit, a CSR told me about it when I wanted HR24's instead of my turtle like HR23's.

Turning off scrolling effects also helps.

11 DirecTV HD-DVR's including a Genie and GenieGO


#5 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,328 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 30 September 2010 - 07:20 PM

Just in case, how to you enable again? Is it a toggle and you repeat the same process?

#6 OFFLINE   Codfishjoe

Codfishjoe

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2010

Posted 30 September 2010 - 07:22 PM

To enable it again, do the exact same process except press "Chan Up" instead of "Chan Down"

Also, agreed that disabling scrolling effects for the guide will help speed a little as well, and turning native mode to off for HD receivers will help with channel changing speed somewhat. HD receivers for the most part don't need anything except 1080i enabled anyways.

Edited by Codfishjoe, 30 September 2010 - 07:33 PM.

I am not really a codfish.

#7 OFFLINE   ticmxman

ticmxman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 282 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2007

Posted 02 October 2010 - 06:34 AM

I can confirm this did speed up my HR22 responce time .
Thanks for the tip!

#8 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,719 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 02 October 2010 - 08:24 AM

After seeing multiple threads regarding how slow HDDVRs respond, I figured I'd post this here as a quick little fix. It helps a bit to make the receiver respond faster in most cases. It doesn't improve by leaps and bounds, but definitely noticeable in most cases.

Start by pressing and holding mute first, then select at the same time until the green light on the remote flashes twice, just like any other programming remote step.

Next, press the numbers 9 6 3 and the green light should flash twice again.

Finally, press the "Chan Down" button and the green light should flash twice again.

This disables the model id on the remote, basically meaning the remote doesn't send a sort of verification code of what model of remote it is with each key press that requires the receiver verify it first before processing the command. It just sends the signal straight through, providing faster response time.

Try this and see if it improves the speed at all.


I just tried this on my HR23 and when I press the channel down it flashes the light on the remote 4 times.
??
When I program it and press the channel up the light flashes twice.
??
My unit seems to be faster using the Channel Up setting.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#9 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,284 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 02 October 2010 - 12:35 PM

I can confirm this did speed up my HR22 response time .
Thanks for the tip!


Worked for me too on my HR20-700. Thanks! :D
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#10 OFFLINE   mikeinthekeys

mikeinthekeys

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 360 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 02 October 2010 - 02:27 PM

I tried this on HR20-700s also. I'm using one on IR and the other on RF. Seemed to speed up on both... great tip!
Working hard every day to stay retired!:
D* since 1994 Setup:
Den - H21-200 Sony 34XBR910
LR - HR24-200 Vivitek proj, Vizio SV420SVT
BR - H20 Olevia 26"

#11 OFFLINE   Ed-Williams

Ed-Williams

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2006

Posted 02 October 2010 - 03:15 PM

Great tip, thanks Codfishjoe!:hurah:

I’d like to know where the internal remote RF antenna of the HR23-700 is located; I’ll try to attach
an external cable or something to improve the RF remote reception that’s very weak.

Regards,
Ed.





.

#12 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,645 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 02 October 2010 - 03:20 PM

Unfortunately my older, backlit RC32RF remotes don't seem to support 9-6-3. :(

Works well on the RC64R, however.
/steve

#13 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,890 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 02 October 2010 - 04:03 PM

I just tried this on my HR23 and when I press the channel down it flashes the light on the remote 4 times.
??
When I program it and press the channel up the light flashes twice.
??
My unit seems to be faster using the Channel Up setting.


I tried this tip on an RC64RB, and when hitting channel down, the remote also flashes 4 times. Hitting channel up flashes 2 times.

I don't notice any significant difference in speed, but may play with it some more, if and when we find out what the four vs. two flashes really means.

HR20-700 in RF mode, btw.

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#14 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 02 October 2010 - 06:53 PM

I think my RC64 remote in IR mode flashed 4 times after pressing Channel Down, but it does seem to be responding to the remote commands faster. I hope it doesn't slow down later for some reason. Great tip!
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#15 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,328 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 02 October 2010 - 07:46 PM

Wow, this is great. That explains why my HR22 seems to be faster in the menus than my HR20, different remote.

I passed this on to a friend that has been complaining about the speed, he's happy with the speed now. And that's saying a lot.

#16 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,772 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 02 October 2010 - 07:57 PM

Does this affect the RF mode at all?

Unfortunately my older, backlit RC32RF remotes don't seem to support 9-6-3. :(

Works well on the RC64R, however.

Ok I just tried it on both an RC34 and RC64. Didn't work on the RC34, but it did work on the RC64. Seems a little faster.

Edited by TheRatPatrol, 02 October 2010 - 08:09 PM.


#17 OFFLINE   dlt4

dlt4

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 447 posts
  • LocationFlorida
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 03 October 2010 - 08:00 AM

I'll just add my thanks to the OP for this tip. It has made a difference in my HR20's response, and every little bit helps. :)

DirecTV customer since 2003
HR44-700 --> Sony KDL-46XBR4
HR24-500 --> Sony KDL-32EX500


#18 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,148 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 October 2010 - 10:21 AM

After seeing multiple threads regarding how slow HDDVRs respond, I figured I'd post this here as a quick little fix. It helps a bit to make the receiver respond faster in most cases. It doesn't improve by leaps and bounds, but definitely noticeable in most cases.

Start by pressing and holding mute first, then select at the same time until the green light on the remote flashes twice, just like any other programming remote step.

Next, press the numbers 9 6 3 and the green light should flash twice again.

Finally, press the "Chan Down" button and the green light should flash twice again.

This disables the model id on the remote, basically meaning the remote doesn't send a sort of verification code of what model of remote it is with each key press that requires the receiver verify it first before processing the command. It just sends the signal straight through, providing faster response time.

Try this and see if it improves the speed at all.


All my 20-700s are in rooms with other 20-700s. Will this cause the others to respond to the remote commands or will the remote still just work with it's assigned HR? I have all my HRs in RF mode.

Rich

#19 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,410 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 03 October 2010 - 04:19 PM

Sticky this thread! :)

#20 OFFLINE   Joe C

Joe C

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 297 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2005

Posted 04 October 2010 - 01:14 PM

I have 2 HR22s in a AV closet and 3 RC64R remotes that control them via Directv and AV1 positions on the remotes. Do I do this on each remote and on each position(Directv,AV1) ?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...