Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Sony Movie Channel AVAILABLE on channel 386


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,227 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 01 October 2010 - 11:05 AM

DISH has activated Sony Movie Channel on channel 386 for Platinum HD customers.

Edited by James Long, 01 October 2010 - 11:23 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,382 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 01 October 2010 - 11:12 AM

Uh, don't you mean the Sony MOVIE channel? :)

Lloyd
Receiver : Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#3 OFFLINE   rstark18

rstark18

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2007

Posted 01 October 2010 - 11:24 AM

How come thing like this aren't mentioned in the RSS news feed? It seems like this site is hit or miss with the latest Dish news. It wasn't this way in the not too distant past :(

#4 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 40,227 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 01 October 2010 - 11:28 AM

Uh, don't you mean the Sony MOVIE channel? :)

Corrected in about four posts ... not sure why music got in my mind.

#5 OFFLINE   j_dish

j_dish

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2008

Posted 01 October 2010 - 11:29 AM

Pleasantly surprised to see it included with my Absolute service.
Thanks Dish!
Receiver: ViP722 with External HDD
TV: Mitsubishi 52" WD-52631; ViP722 via HDMI

#6 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,169 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 01 October 2010 - 12:22 PM

DISH has activated Sony Movie Channel on channel 386 for Platinum HD customers.


Wonderful:) Love movies!

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#7 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 01 October 2010 - 12:55 PM

Hooray!
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#8 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 01 October 2010 - 02:34 PM

Thanks for the heads up.
Watching the Graduate right now, but that stupid Sony Movie Channel logo in the top right needs to GO!

#9 OFFLINE   l8er

l8er

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 624 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2004

Posted 01 October 2010 - 03:07 PM

...., but that stupid Sony Movie Channel logo in the top right needs to GO!

The top right is an odd and annoying place to put a logo. :rolleyes:
-GA

#10 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 01 October 2010 - 03:20 PM

I wouldn't mind the logo as much if the DAMN thing went away.

#11 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 02 October 2010 - 06:03 AM

Well that's good they added a channel that can theoretically replace NTGEO since it now seems to be showing the HDTHR logo and it looks as though the programming is mixed and under the HDTHR moniker from here on. No big loss since they are also showing commercials now, some that last about a month. Unless this a temporary thing or only during certain hours? But it doesn't look as though. :nono2:

The original HDTHR use to be a showcase of all kinds of great stuff without commercials. Guess they got bored with us.

P.S.
If this has already been discovered and posted, feel free to delete this.

#12 OFFLINE   rcpilot82

rcpilot82

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2006

Posted 02 October 2010 - 07:31 AM

Had a problem finding it until I just entered the channel number. Guide logo says "ESPNEWSHD". Also, the channel currenlty has a major lip sync problem. Still nice to have another movie channel.
Setup - Living Room:
HR20-700 (Direct HDMI connection to TV)
H21-100 (Direct HDMI connection to TV)
Onkyo TX-SR705
Sony KDS-60A2000
Vizio
Harmony 880 Remote
XBox360
PS3
Aperion 7.1 Speaker System

#13 OFFLINE   JWKessler

JWKessler

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 169 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2004

Posted 03 October 2010 - 09:46 AM

The original HDTHR use to be a showcase of all kinds of great stuff without commercials. Guess they got bored with us.


HD Theater used to be one of my favorite channels. I first saw it on my C-Band system where the picture quality was simply not to be believed. Once the other Discovery Channels went HD they stopped rebroadcasting most other Discovery content on HD Theater and the channel seems to have been carrying the same old stuff over and over now for a couple of years. I've given up even checking it out. They should just kill it and put up something else that is actually useful in it's place.

#14 OFFLINE   dough_boy747

dough_boy747

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2004

Posted 03 October 2010 - 12:11 PM

I can't get it i am on the eastern arc. and have a 722 r. i have the 385 MGM channel, but i don't have it. I called Dish net. about this and they told me that the channel does not exsist, therer isn't any channel on our list that does have that name. Need help to find this one lol.

#15 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 03 October 2010 - 01:22 PM

I can't get it i am on the eastern arc. and have a 722 r. i have the 385 MGM channel, but i don't have it. I called Dish net. about this and they told me that the channel does not exsist, therer isn't any channel on our list that does have that name. Need help to find this one lol.


Make sure you don't have channel 386 locked out.

#16 OFFLINE   dough_boy747

dough_boy747

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2004

Posted 03 October 2010 - 01:47 PM

Thanks alot i did have it locked out, but for somereasn Dish says it does not exsist though, but in this world who knows lol Again that did help me alot thanks.

#17 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 03 October 2010 - 10:51 PM

On my 922 to guide says 386 "ESPN News"..........:brush: yet the movies are for "The Sony Channel".......!pepsi! you couldn't make this stuff up :new_popco

:icon_band
Thank you and
Best of luck

#18 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 03 October 2010 - 10:53 PM

I kept missing it as its SMC. Which is how 395 Sportsman Channel used to be in the guide.

#19 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,850 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 04 October 2010 - 12:06 AM

I thought I remembered Sportsman being SMC when it first came online... now it is "SPMAN" I think, which maybe means they switched once they new SMC was coming.

It is funny seeing that ESPNews icon though.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#20 OFFLINE   rcpilot82

rcpilot82

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2006

Posted 04 October 2010 - 08:51 AM

On my 922 to guide says 386 "ESPN News"..........:brush: yet the movies are for "The Sony Channel".......!pepsi! you couldn't make this stuff up :new_popco

:icon_band


My 922 displayed the same thing until the next day. Now the guide logo is correct.
Setup - Living Room:
HR20-700 (Direct HDMI connection to TV)
H21-100 (Direct HDMI connection to TV)
Onkyo TX-SR705
Sony KDS-60A2000
Vizio
Harmony 880 Remote
XBox360
PS3
Aperion 7.1 Speaker System




Protected By... spam firewall...And...