Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

ViP722 - L6.70/1831 Software Experiences/Bugs Discuss


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 October 2010 - 08:36 PM

PID=08BDh

 DownloadID: 6FKC (00/00)

 Upgrading FW [3]:

 L670:'L100'-'L669'

 L670:'L100'-'L669'

 1831:'1[0-8]1[A-G0-8]','1[0-8]30''L100'-'L670'

 New FW: '1831'

 List of BootStraps and BuildConfigs and SN: [2/2]

 '1[0-8]1[A-G0-8]' & 'RJ[BCHJ-LNP-TV-Z2-5].': {ViP722} [10]  R0082163432-R0084230936 R0079258945-R0079258945 R0079259546-R0079259546 R0087329595-R0087329595 R0089006772-R0089006772

 '1[0-8]3[0-1]-8]' & 'RJ[BCHJ-LNP-TV-Z2-5].': {ViP722} [10]  R0082163432-R0084230936 R0079258945-R0079258945 R0079259546-R0079259546 R0087329595-R0087329595 R0089006772-R0089006772



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 569 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 02 October 2010 - 03:20 AM

So two versions (6.30/6.70) are being released for the 722? What says that you get which one?

Or am I seeing this wrong? :confused:

#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 October 2010 - 01:16 PM

I did change other post's topic, but it didn't appear in a list - L6.30 is for 622 when L6.70 for 722, sort of 'fork' in FW development.

#4 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,479 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 02 October 2010 - 01:38 PM

Could this be related to the "coming soon" Sling Adapter (Sling 700U)? Aren't I a dreamer....

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 October 2010 - 01:43 PM

If someone have time for check all menu's items - perhaps some hint in there ( and in help pages) ?

#6 OFFLINE   kucharsk

kucharsk

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 470 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 02 October 2010 - 07:17 PM

Screen shots from 6.70 on a 722:

Top menu, when you press the "DVR" button:

Posted Image

DISH Cinema:

Posted Image

TV Shows:

Posted Image

Midnight Lounge:

Posted Image

It's like I now have a hotel cable/PPV box in my home. :(

#7 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 569 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 02 October 2010 - 07:32 PM

Oh my. My designs/renovation, that they did not use, years ago were/are far better. So much for 6 months of work. The checks cleared though.

#8 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,479 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 03 October 2010 - 12:27 AM

Uh... Can you lock out the "Midnight Lounge" display????

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#9 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,164 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 03 October 2010 - 12:39 AM

Yes
Kevin

3 Hoppers
3 Joeys, all wireless
1 Hopper 2.0
YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on any Hopper.


#10 OFFLINE   megeed

megeed

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: May 16, 2006

Posted 05 October 2010 - 08:52 AM

My 722 got 6.70 and there is a bug.

When using folders to view recordings, If you hit info, and then cancel, it takes you all the way to the top level. Its horrible when you are looking for a specific recording. I hope they fix this ASAP.

#11 OFFLINE   derwin0

derwin0

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 538 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2005

Posted 08 October 2010 - 06:47 AM

Yes


How?

#12 OFFLINE   mikepd

mikepd

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
  • LocationFlorida
Joined: Dec 21, 2004

Posted 08 October 2010 - 08:25 AM

The new color scheme with 6.70 on my 722 is just terrible looking in my opinion. It looks so unprofessional, if that term can be applied to a color scheme.

The appearance just does not look as crisp, clean, and well, polished as the previous ones did in the other versions.

This one reminds me of some of the schemes I have seen in some of the smaller motels we have stayed in when traveling around the country.

I really think Dish could have done a better job.

Also, after all the versions, the Caller ID History still does not work. Granted, it is a small thing but it is an indication of the overall quality of their work.
Dish 1000.2
Dish 722
Dish 722K
Home Theater-
Samsung HL-T5676S DLP
Panasonic SC-PT750

#13 OFFLINE   mikepd

mikepd

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
  • LocationFlorida
Joined: Dec 21, 2004

Posted 08 October 2010 - 08:31 AM

How?


Go to Midnight Lounge and when prompted, enter a 4 digit numerical password. You will be requested to enter it a second time to confirm your selection.

Select OK and from that point on, it will require the numerical password to get into the Midnight Lounge section. The section will still show up on the screen but you will need the password to make any selections.

You had best write your password choice down as there is no way to recover the password that I can see if you forget it.

You can also go into the Locks menu under Main Menu, Locks and select Hide Adult if you want to remove the adult channels from showing up at all. You can review the other lock selections on that menu and make your other selections as you wish as well.

Hope this helps.

Mike

Edited by mikepd, 08 October 2010 - 08:41 AM.

Dish 1000.2
Dish 722
Dish 722K
Home Theater-
Samsung HL-T5676S DLP
Panasonic SC-PT750

#14 OFFLINE   mark722

mark722

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 08 October 2010 - 03:07 PM

The thing I hate most about this update is the removal of the Dish Online feature. I used this quite a bit to find free TV shows to download to my DVR. The new software has the TV Shows feature, but it doesn't let you sort by free shows only. The new Dish Online website lets you watch shows for free online only and not set them to download to the DVR. I've already sent feedback on the Dish Online website to allow scheduling downloads to the DVR through Dish Online, but I wouldn't hold my breath since they just introduced the new Google TV with Dish integration. Their not making any money with the Dish Online feature, but they have the potential to make money with Google TV.

#15 OFFLINE   CoolGui

CoolGui

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 506 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2006

Posted 12 October 2010 - 07:35 AM

The thing I hate most about this update is the removal of the Dish Online feature. I used this quite a bit to find free TV shows to download to my DVR. The new software has the TV Shows feature, but it doesn't let you sort by free shows only. The new Dish Online website lets you watch shows for free online only and not set them to download to the DVR. I've already sent feedback on the Dish Online website to allow scheduling downloads to the DVR through Dish Online, but I wouldn't hold my breath since they just introduced the new Google TV with Dish integration. Their not making any money with the Dish Online feature, but they have the potential to make money with Google TV.


Pretty sure the online stuff is there. If anything they just brought it up to the front, not got rid of it. You are right though I see no way to sort by free, but most of them seem to be.

DirecTV - Slimline-3S (SWM) - Premiere + HD + MRV + HD Extra
Living Room : HR24/200 - Panasonic TH-50PX60U 50" Plasma - Onkyo TX-SR606B Audio Receiver - PS3 80GB - Wii - Slingbox Classic
Bed Room : H24/200 - LG 32LD450 32" LCD - Xbox 360S 250GB

#16 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 569 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 12 October 2010 - 08:32 AM

I just got my update to L670 while I was actually watching the box and it happened in the background, about 2 hours before the nightly/daily update was due to fire off. I found out when I went to go to the Menu panel and the old way did not work and I got the new "graphics". This not only was I surprised that it was done in the background, but that it is so disoriented and juvenile in design and look. I do GUI's all the time (and did for DISH years ago that beats the hell out of this that they never used) and what they have done is something one would evolve from, not go to. Even my cheap cheezy clients would not go for this. If DISH thinks that this is an upgrade, I suggest that they stop thinking. I'll be far less painful on us. Including reprogramming my HOne remote.

Throughout my years in the graphic and publishing industry (having published in 27 languages) I have learned how to tell what type of "professional" created the final product, what their professional expertise is, what country they're from and what language they speak just from reading the "instructions" that were created or looking at the pictures. And this was done by a set of lower level Engineers.

#17 OFFLINE   CoolGui

CoolGui

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 506 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2006

Posted 12 October 2010 - 09:11 AM

I know that dish on demand screen doesn't look like the rest of the UI, but does anyone know for sure that Dish isn't planning on changing the rest of the UI to look like it? I don't really think it's any more ugly than the regular screens, but they should be consistent.

What *does* annoy me though is the yellowish brown color on the guide now when I use HD Only list. I kind of understand why they did it as the blues were maybe too similar to each other, but they should at least let the user configure those built in list colors.

Edited by CoolGui, 12 October 2010 - 09:51 AM.


DirecTV - Slimline-3S (SWM) - Premiere + HD + MRV + HD Extra
Living Room : HR24/200 - Panasonic TH-50PX60U 50" Plasma - Onkyo TX-SR606B Audio Receiver - PS3 80GB - Wii - Slingbox Classic
Bed Room : H24/200 - LG 32LD450 32" LCD - Xbox 360S 250GB

#18 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,375 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 12 October 2010 - 09:27 AM

... I'll be far less painful on us. Including reprogramming my HOne remote.

Throughout my years in the graphic and publishing industry (having published in 27 languages) I have learned how to tell what type of "professional" created the final product, ...

I had a difficult time following your post, but what "reprogramming" did you find needed?

Edited by SaltiDawg, 12 October 2010 - 02:00 PM.


#19 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,479 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 12 October 2010 - 12:18 PM

It must have rolled out to most 722's as mine has it this morning. After doing a hard reboot I poked around a bit.

The new graphics are just that, new graphics. The new menu structure is also just that, a new menu structure. None of it improves my experience.

I don't know why they did it. Since there are many things I'd like to see done that are not included, I hope this money was spent to achieve some real improvement that we'll see "soon".:rolleyes:

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#20 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 12 October 2010 - 01:22 PM

I don't have it yet.

But then I think I am always last. :(
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver




Protected By... spam firewall...And...