Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

VIP 612 vs DirecTV HR20-700


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   marty45714

marty45714

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 403 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 03 October 2010 - 01:06 PM

Thinking about leaving DirecTV for Dish. My question is about hardware. Has the VIP612/622/722 ever had a hardware refresh since it was first announced? My concern is that I will leave the 2006 HR20-700 hardware that I have on DirecTV and receive the same type of hardware on Dish with the same slow response issues. Thanks.

Edited by marty45714, 03 October 2010 - 01:37 PM.
Subject not concise enough.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,411 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 03 October 2010 - 07:51 PM

Each different model type you listed is an improvement over the previous model.

622 was first, then 722, 612 was introduced as a wicked stepchild, then the 722k and finally the 922.

Model "improvements" include improved processor, larger HDD and added features, not necessarily all improvements happen each upgrade.

722 has slightly better processor and larger HDD;612 is a neutered 622 with only one output (can't call this an improvement, slightly buggy);722k has larger HDD and the OTA tuner was removed for an optional module with 2 OTA tuners; 922 has 1TB HDD, sling technology, new user interface and who knows what else - a work on progress.

Generally Dish receivers are fairly quick in response, occasionally a software update will bog things down until you do a power cord reboot.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#3 OFFLINE   tsanders3

tsanders3

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Sep 13, 2008

Posted 07 October 2010 - 08:43 PM

Looks like the VIP612 does not fully support the new GoogleTV. I am on Direct also and looking to switch. Since we have 1 tv they only will give the 612.
You can plug in an external hard drive to make up for less DVR space.

#4 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,411 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 09 October 2010 - 05:20 PM

612 does work with the external HDD.

You can always tell them you have 2 TV's and get a 622/722 class receiver.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!




spam firewall