Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV Nomad


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2006 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,937 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 October 2010 - 10:23 AM

[not having any clue] Maybe a USB interface?


USB to what? If it's your computer, yeah, but if it's your smartPhone .. I'd think you'd use WiFi on your phone and Network from your STB, so why not use network for all transactions.

The intellectual property of how to do that would need to be added into the HRs as clearly it's not in there today, but it's certainly possible. The HR is just a computer after all.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 October 2010 - 10:36 AM

USB to what? If it's your computer, yeah, but if it's your smartPhone .. I'd think you'd use WiFi on your phone and Network from your STB, so why not use network for all transactions.

The intellectual property of how to do that would need to be added into the HRs as clearly it's not in there today, but it's certainly possible. The HR is just a computer after all.

"The thought here" was that this box/device could integrate into the DVR like the AM-21 does through USB.
A.K.A VOS

#28 ONLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,998 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 08 October 2010 - 11:00 AM

This would not be too surprising. That's sorta what the Slingbox is today (yeah I know it's not exactly the same thing). Would be nice if it was integrated into the STB somehow for simplicity (from a user perspective).


[not having any clue] Maybe a USB interface?

Not having any idea what Nomad is supposed to actually be, I wouldn't mind having some kind of sling like device; especially if it allowed me to do some house keeping like checking To-Do lists or some such thing...only instead of USB how about connected to the DECA cloud so it could access all the connected DVRs .

I don't know if that's what Nomad is intended to be but it would be very cool...I can dream can’t I. :grin:

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#29 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 October 2010 - 11:51 AM

Not having any idea what Nomad is supposed to actually be, I wouldn't mind having some kind of sling like device; especially if it allowed me to do some house keeping like checking To-Do lists or some such thing...only instead of USB how about connected to the DECA cloud so it could access all the connected DVRs .

I don't know if that's what Nomad is intended to be but it would be very cool...I can dream can’t I. :grin:

Mike

The product didn't have a name when I heard about it, but was to be something very much like Slingbox + a PVR type device, where you could "take" recordings with you for something like on vacation and keep the kids busy in the backseat.
"How" this was to do any of this wasn't mentioned, but seems it would be a separate box/device. I don't think the DVR could do the downscaling to feed a recording over the internet.
[again] I have no idea of how this will interconnect to the DVR. Using the network may or may not cause problems with all the other features we have now, but it seems [to me] utilizing the USB port might be a way to alleviate any of these if they were a problem. By integrating into the DVR, "perhaps" the UPL of the DVR could be available to this device too. :shrug:
A.K.A VOS

#30 OFFLINE   Satelliteracer

Satelliteracer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,042 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2006

Posted 08 October 2010 - 12:31 PM

You will know soon enough. :)
DIRECTV employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#31 OFFLINE   Scott Kdot

Scott Kdot

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,491 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 08 October 2010 - 12:49 PM

I am thinking this could be a very big deal, but then I thought that Directv would have made a bigger deal out of the MRV. I actually found myself stopping at their commercials to see how it was advertised and it just wasn't impressing. Having said that, it may be doing very well or better than expected and they don't need to do anymore, I have no way of knowing that. I still run into people that don't know that D* has a whole home dvr.

This has the potential to be even bigger than MRV. Portability is huge and I think this could put a lot of folks at ease by giving the ability to back up programs. Of course I'm only guessing but it makes sense that if you can move a show to a computer and watch it later that you may be able to move many shows.

 


#32 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 October 2010 - 12:52 PM

Of course I'm only guessing but it makes sense that if you can move a show to a computer and watch it later that you may be able to move many shows.

What isn't clear yet is at what resolution this will be.
A.K.A VOS

#33 OFFLINE   chrisfowler99

chrisfowler99

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 198 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 08 October 2010 - 01:04 PM

You will know soon enough. :)


There's that "soon" word again. ;)

#34 OFFLINE   Scott Kdot

Scott Kdot

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,491 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 08 October 2010 - 02:07 PM

What isn't clear yet is at what resolution this will be.


Boy I wish I could take the survey again so I could pay more attention.

 


#35 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,840 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 08 October 2010 - 04:56 PM

This June "Nomad" trademark registration shows up in a Google search.
/steve

#36 OFFLINE   loveshockey

loveshockey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 381 posts
  • LocationLancaster, NY
Joined: Feb 24, 2008

Posted 08 October 2010 - 07:24 PM

You could also stream content over a broadband connection and watch it on your phone or computer.


Isn't this basically Directv2PC?

#37 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,840 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 08 October 2010 - 07:35 PM

Isn't this basically Directv2PC?

DirecTV2PC only works on your home network, tho. It streams the recordings at their original resolutions and bitrates, which are way too high for streaming to a portable device outside the home. There's also a minimum level of hardware required on the client PC.
/steve

#38 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,282 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 09 October 2010 - 08:28 AM

Dang, Directv's gonna get me with another box and fee, but boy am I excited. I have a Sling Solo now, for fball games at work when Im on on the weekends. I bought it years ago, as an experiment, and love it. Would love an HD version, and the wife has an Droid 2, so...
65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#39 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 762 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 09 October 2010 - 10:24 AM

Nomad also received UL approval on Sept 7, 2010.....here: http://database.ul.c...372&sequence=1' class='bbc_url' title='External link' rel='nofollow external'> http://database.ul.com/cgi-bin/XYV/template/LISEXT/1FRAME/showpage.html?name=AZSQ7.E341393&ccnshorttitle=Audio/Video+Apparatus+Certified+for+Canada&objid=1081189820&cfgid=1073741824&version=versionless&parent_id=1073984372&sequence=1

Customer since 1998.  13 DirecTV HD-DVR's including 11 AM21's, a Genie, a GenieGO, 3 HR10-250 deactivated OTA tuners, and many TV's!


#40 OFFLINE   Brennok

Brennok

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2005

Posted 10 October 2010 - 09:19 AM

I wonder if this means they will allow TiVo to keep their TiVo To Go feature since that is basically what TiVo does..

#41 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 10 October 2010 - 09:40 AM

I wonder if this means they will allow TiVo to keep their TiVo To Go feature since that is basically what TiVo does..

It doesn't matter, since the new DirecTivo will never see the light of day.

#42 OFFLINE   Brennok

Brennok

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2005

Posted 10 October 2010 - 09:44 AM

Oh trust me I am not waiting for it I have mine, I just find it funny DirecTV would finally add a feature they didn't allow TiVo to add previously.

#43 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,600 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 10 October 2010 - 09:46 AM

Oh trust me I am not waiting for it I have mine, I just find it funny DirecTV would finally add a feature they didn't allow TiVo to add previously.


Things have changed at DirecTV over the years though.

#44 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,937 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 10 October 2010 - 09:50 AM

It doesn't matter, since the new DirecTivo will never see the light of day.


Oh trust me I am not waiting for it I have mine, I just find it funny DirecTV would finally add a feature they didn't allow TiVo to add previously.


Wrong thread .. Go here: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=184206

And yes it will ..
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#45 OFFLINE   bjdraw

bjdraw

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 10 October 2010 - 10:59 AM

Did anyone take screen shots of the survey? If so can you email them to me at ben at engadget?
How good can it be, if it isn't HD?
Ben
Engadget HD

#46 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 21,146 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 10 October 2010 - 11:50 PM

I'd think you'd use WiFi on your phone and Network from your STB, so why not use network for all transactions.

If the media device requires transcoding or scaling, the source receiver wouldn't seem to be capable on its own so I would expect that add-on hardware would be required to do it on the fly.

I'm guessing that not all modern media devices are up to displaying full resolution TV streams.
Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK

#47 OFFLINE   SunDevil2012

SunDevil2012

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2010

Posted 11 October 2010 - 12:22 AM

DirecTV2PC only works on your home network, tho. It streams the recordings at their original resolutions and bitrates, which are way too high for streaming to a portable device outside the home. There's also a minimum level of hardware required on the client PC.


The big issue with it that I had was that even on my desktop (AMD 965 BE, 6gb ram, etc) it was slow to load up. It was slow just to open up the program and recognize the receiver on the network. Which made no sense. The code was improperly optimized so that the interface itself was eating up so much resources, and it was bogging the performance of the program down. Once content was in the process of streaming it was snappier. But still, the fact that if I was trying to watch a live recording it was delayed by 30seconds MINIMUM was an issue. I was using the program as a way to get the 2nd tuner on my other TV without the need for a 2nd box.

I think the issue is they need to make boxes that accept 2 tuners and output them separately. And then in terms of content recordings. It should be that you can play with the files however way you want. DirecTV should have it's own file converter program built into an interface that accesses the recordings. Then from there it shows you the details of what the video quality is, etc. Then you can select a destination format. But because it's all TV it's going to have to have DRM, although I would hope not. But it would be very cool to have a 1080i recording from my receiver on my computer for archiving. That way less is stored on the receiver, which makes it faster.

But in terms of streaming content, they need to not look into streaming recorded content. They should look into making DirecTV available ONLINE. Make every channel your subscribed to available online (limit it to 1 viewer or something). That way if you have a fast internet connection you can still watch your MLB package without MLB.tv. Or you can see the post-game on your way home from the game. Think about the possibilities that having an online version of your directv service would bring. I would pay an extra $5-10 a month to get an online version of every channel as well. It would mean that even when I'm on vacation, or hell, if I'm in the car and I got a fast 3G or 4G connection, I can then catch all the action. It would be like "ESPN3 who?"

#48 OFFLINE   tpm1999

tpm1999

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 323 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 11 October 2010 - 01:17 AM

The question is, I suppose. How is the Nomad different than a slingbox?

1. Will it be cheaper? (non hd slingbox is pretty cheap). Or will it have a monthly cost?
2. Will it work with non-directv sources? If it is directv only, will it be able to change channels in a more eligant way than using an IR blaster?
3. Is it recorded shows only? Slingbox is live streaming.

In the end, I am looking forward to this...but only if it matches up nicely against a slingbox.
HR44-500 Genie
2 C41W-100 Wireless Genie Minis and WVB
Genie Go
SWM Dish

#49 OFFLINE   bakerfall

bakerfall

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 458 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 11 October 2010 - 07:00 AM

the answer to what Nomad is, and how it works, is likely explained on the web page of the company listed on the UL page.

http://www.morega.co...s_hardware.html

"Morega provides a reference DLNA/UPnP compliant hardware design which offers the ability to stream, side-load or place-shift content from multiple digital video sources to a wide range of devices including TVs, mobile phones, PCs, media players and flash-based media. The hardware repurposes video format, resolution and bit rate based on the target device while maintaining high video quality, all without the need for a PC."

Seems to be that it will move recorded content from the DVR to a mobile phone or laptop. It looks like it can run on the existing DVR, or via a stand alone box.
HR20-700 (w/1 TB eSATA drive), HR24-500 x3, HR22-100, SWM-16, DECA

#50 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,937 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 11 October 2010 - 09:02 AM

If the media device requires transcoding or scaling, the source receiver wouldn't seem to be capable on its own so I would expect that add-on hardware would be required to do it on the fly.

I'm guessing that not all modern media devices are up to displaying full resolution TV streams.


Yes, but if this is a "transfer and go" type of functionality, on the fly isn't really necessary. Now it's certainly true that generally speaking you'd want it to transfer quickly, so you might need additional hardware to make that happen at a reasonable rate. However, it's not a requirement. The STB could do it if the drivers were written. It just may not be practical.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...