Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

4.1 vs 3.1 hdmi inputs....


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sticketfan

sticketfan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 205 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2007

Posted 07 October 2010 - 10:14 AM

noticed as i have been researching and prepared to buy a samsung 3d television model un46c8000xf that its 4 hdmi inputs are 4.1 does this mean i need all new hdmi cables? or can i still use the ones i have even if they are 3.1?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,442 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 October 2010 - 10:15 AM

You're fine with current cables.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#3 OFFLINE   sticketfan

sticketfan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 205 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2007

Posted 07 October 2010 - 10:17 AM

oops i met to write 1.3 vs 1.4 my bad...

#4 OFFLINE   sticketfan

sticketfan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 205 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2007

Posted 07 October 2010 - 10:18 AM

that is good to know...

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,805 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 07 October 2010 - 10:27 AM

Are you having a bout with dyslexia with respect to your HDMI version numbers???

The HDMI home site is the best place to get answers to these kinds of questions.

http://www.hdmi.org/..._1_4_faq.aspx#5

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   Cholly

Cholly

    Old Guys Rule!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,454 posts
  • LocationIndian Trail, NC
Joined: Mar 22, 2004

Posted 08 October 2010 - 09:43 AM

The important HDMI cables will be the one that runs from a 3D Blu-4ay player to the TV and, if you have a satellite receiver or DVR that supports 3D (thinking DirecTV), HDMI version 1.3 cables MAY work just fine. My son is using a Vizio flat high speed cable that he got at Fry's to connect between his 55 inch Samsung 3D LCD and Samsung 3D Blu-ray player with excellent results. Sam's club sells a two pack of these cables. The Monster 1.4 cable with adapter is overpriced and unnecessary.

Charlie
--------------------

Family Room: Samsung UN60F7100 60" LED 3D TV; Samsung  BD-H5900 3D Blu-Ray DVD player; Yamaha RX-V663 AVR. Paradigm speakers - Focus fronts, CC170 center, PDR-8 subwoofer, Atom surrounds, ADP rear center; TiVo Roamio Plus DVR, Toshiba HD-A3 HD DVD player.
Bedroom: Vizio 42" 3D TV, Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Panasonic 3D DVD player, Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers, Roku 2 XD, TiVo Premiere, Insignia HD radio tuner, Toshiba HD DVD player





Protected By... spam firewall...And...