Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR21 Slow to start up!


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 320 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 20 October 2010 - 04:11 AM

When I power up my HR21, it takes almost a minute before the picture qctually shows up on the TV!
This has just started.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,459 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 October 2010 - 04:59 AM

Why would you Power Off your DVR into a Standby Mode anyway?

The only thing that does is turn off the lights and the outputs.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#3 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,089 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 20 October 2010 - 07:55 AM

When I power up my HR21, it takes almost a minute before the picture qctually shows up on the TV!
This has just started.


Is it connected to the TV via HDMI? It may be an HDMI handshake problem or bad HDMI cable.

What do the lights on the front panel do during this time you are waiting?
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#4 OFFLINE   gfrang

gfrang

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,335 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2007

Posted 20 October 2010 - 09:27 AM

Try a red button reset.

#5 OFFLINE   pelley

pelley

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2007

Posted 20 October 2010 - 09:46 AM

Actually I've noticed this problem yesterday and today also-- both on my HR22 and HR21. It's not HDMI related because I can see the guide and other menus, although they are very slow. No error codes appear on screen; it's just black. After changing channels for a minute or two, it seems to wake up and then I get a picture. Haven't tried a reboot yet. Came here to see what might be going on.

#6 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,459 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 October 2010 - 11:38 AM

You need to do a Menu Restart to Reboot your DVR. This is Preferred over the Red Button Reset as it performs a "Graceful Shutdown of All Activities and Tasks" prior to the Shutdown and Reboot.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup




spam firewall