Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Globecast World TV - Help finding quality signal


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   emb95

emb95

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2010

Posted 20 October 2010 - 10:49 PM

Recently I bough World TV box with dish package and subscription to foreign channels. I am having trouble with finding signal quality to Galaxy 19 (97W). Dish I’ve received is some what like DTV slim dish style type. I am able to find good signal strength but not quality. Here are specs ELV 39, AZM 207 SKEW 105 and LNB SKEW 14.7. Anyone have any idea to why I cant find signal quality?


I also have circular dish which I am able to find good signal strength and quality on Galaxy 19. Circular dish is used for other satellite.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BNUMM

BNUMM

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,079 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 21 October 2010 - 07:29 AM

If it is similar to a DirecTv Slimline dish it is not tall enough. I have found that in Michigan you can use a 33 inch dish if you align it just right but a 36 inch dish works better.

#3 OFFLINE   emb95

emb95

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2010

Posted 21 October 2010 - 01:57 PM

If it is similar to a DirecTv Slimline dish it is not tall enough. I have found that in Michigan you can use a 33 inch dish if you align it just right but a 36 inch dish works better.

First thank you for reply! 100cm (w) 77cm (H) and dist center to LNB is 85. Package markings are 85 cm antenna. This is driving me crazy!

#4 OFFLINE   BNUMM

BNUMM

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,079 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 21 October 2010 - 06:01 PM

39in x 30in (100cm x 77cm)
33in (85cm)

#5 OFFLINE   FTA Michael

FTA Michael

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,473 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2002

Posted 21 October 2010 - 06:37 PM

Anyone have any idea to why I cant find signal quality?

* Line of site from different dish pole.

* Different dish offset (apparent elevation not the same as other dish's apparent elevation).

* LNB not at focal point.

Put your receiver on a strong transponder, then slowly move the dish left-right, up-down until you get a glimmer of a signal. Then move in. Good luck!
Yes, FTABlog is active again. Why do you ask?

#6 OFFLINE   BNUMM

BNUMM

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,079 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 21 October 2010 - 09:19 PM

I have done quite a few of these in Michigan and the dish has to be at least 33 inches high because most of the channels are vertical polarity.




spam firewall