Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

1080p issue


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 966 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 21 October 2010 - 08:11 AM

I was able to trick the h20-100 to output 1080p on nick hd. has anyone else had similar experiences. native is off.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Joe C

Joe C

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 297 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2005

Posted 21 October 2010 - 08:24 AM

You did not actually see 1080p on Nick. The receivers don't upconvert like BD players do.

#3 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 966 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 21 October 2010 - 08:38 AM

You did not actually see 1080p on Nick. The receivers don't upconvert like BD players do.


update I fooled the receiver to output 1080p on any channel hd and sd and yes I do see weird effects. all I did was tune to a 1080p program turn off tv change channel on receiver and in the middle of the channel change turn the tv on and the receiver will switch from 1080i back to 1080p on the channel you chose. another update. I fooled the receiver to output 1080p via component video.

Edited by dorfd1, 21 October 2010 - 08:53 AM.


#4 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 21 October 2010 - 09:12 AM

No, you didn't. The chipset on the receiver isn't even capable of what you're talking about. Max output of the component output is 1080/60i. It can't even to 1080/24p on the component output; it's a physical limitation of the hardware of the receiver, not to mention that I don't know of any consumer TVs that will accept 1080/24p via component.

While HDMI can do 1080/24p, the receiver cannot upscale to that format, nor to 1080/60p, so while you might think you "fooled" the receiver, you didn't. Only native 1080/24p content can be displayed in 1080/24p on DirecTV receivers.

Commercial & Residential Satellite System Design & Installation
DirecTV, Dish Network & Free-To-Air


#5 OFFLINE   Clemsole

Clemsole

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 367 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2005

Posted 21 October 2010 - 09:13 AM

your not fooling the receiver, what lights are on on the frint of the receiver, only the right one wich is 1080i, the tv is the one confused. Also "I do see weird effects" why even bother? 1080p is output by hdmi only.

#6 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 966 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 21 October 2010 - 09:20 AM

your not fooling the receiver, what lights are on on the frint of the receiver, only the right one wich is 1080i, the tv is the one confused. Also "I do see weird effects" why even bother? 1080p is output by hdmi only.


both 720p and 1080i lights are on.

Edited by dorfd1, 21 October 2010 - 09:21 AM.


#7 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 21 October 2010 - 10:29 AM

Why are you even bothering to try this, what are you gaining here? Apparently just weird artifacts....

Edited by CCarncross, 21 October 2010 - 10:30 AM.


#8 OFFLINE   BattleScott

BattleScott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,353 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2006

Posted 21 October 2010 - 10:37 AM

what does the TV report the resolution is during this trickery?
HR24-500 / AM-21 / WGA54AG
42" Pannasonic Plasma
HR22-100 / 26" LG LCD
Slimline 5-LNB

#9 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,661 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 21 October 2010 - 10:44 AM

For his next act he will "trick" his H20-100 to output 3D on all channels. At no time will his hands leave his wrists! :rolleyes:

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#10 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 966 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 21 October 2010 - 12:04 PM

what does the TV report the resolution is during this trickery?


no idea because the tv never tells you the format being recieved no matter what resolution is outputted.

#11 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,969 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 21 October 2010 - 12:14 PM

no idea because the tv never tells you the format being recieved no matter what resolution is outputted.


Sounds like a great TV! :rolleyes:
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#12 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 966 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 21 October 2010 - 12:41 PM

Sounds like a great TV! :rolleyes:


it is definately not the best.

#13 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,883 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 21 October 2010 - 01:28 PM

no idea because the tv never tells you the format being recieved no matter what resolution is outputted.

Mine does. I press info and it displays, among other things, the input resolution.. e.g. 1080i.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#14 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 966 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 21 October 2010 - 01:43 PM

Mine does. I press info and it displays, among other things, the input resolution.. e.g. 1080i.

Mike


this lg tv does not.

#15 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,547 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 21 October 2010 - 02:50 PM

My Sony only does it when I have full info banners turned on. Maybe there is a setting on the LG that does the same. (I usually turn them off because they are annoying.)
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#16 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 21 October 2010 - 03:52 PM

a misaligned led causing 2 slots to glow isn't 1080p..
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#17 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 21 October 2010 - 04:02 PM

The H20 supports 1080p?
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#18 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 21 October 2010 - 04:20 PM

Pictures or it didn't happen.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#19 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,883 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 21 October 2010 - 04:30 PM

Pictures or it didn't happen.

+1

I would be cool if it could be replicated. Show us some pictures so we can figure out what's going on.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#20 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 966 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 21 October 2010 - 04:55 PM

The H20 supports 1080p?


yes it does.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...