Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

owned recievers


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   DFDureiko

DFDureiko

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2006

Posted 22 October 2010 - 08:20 AM

to clarify something. if all receivers on your account are owned. can you turn on/off the service at will, ie for a week or two, a few weekends etc?
Dan
RV:
HR22-100/Olevia 232v/Motosat HDSL5/Sony S350
Home:
Apple Airport Extreme wifi N router
HR22-100/LaCie TwoBig eSATA/Olevia 237v/WGA600N
H21-200/Apple Airport Express/Vizio SV420XVT/Sony S350

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,264 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 22 October 2010 - 08:28 AM

to clarify something. if all receivers on your account are owned. can you turn on/off the service at will, ie for a week or two, a few weekends etc?


Whether you own the receivers or not, you can suspend your account once a year for up to 6 months. If you turn off your service, you are basically canceling your service with DirecTV. And while you might be able to have it turned back on, they will probably charge you a reconnection fee everytime if they let you do that. I would assume that after a few times, they will tell you to forget it.

- Merg

Edited by The Merg, 22 October 2010 - 08:28 AM.

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#23 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,939 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 22 October 2010 - 08:42 AM

With an owned receiver, you can turn the receiver on/off at will. But not the account. You need to keep at least one receiver active other than as The Merg posted about suspending an account once a year.

#24 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 22 October 2010 - 08:44 AM

I would venture to guess that the primary receiver would be the one that has to stay on, since everything has to be rebuilt if you turn the primary off.
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#25 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,695 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 22 October 2010 - 10:53 AM

I would venture to guess that the primary receiver would be the one that has to stay on, since everything has to be rebuilt if you turn the primary off.


If I recall correctly, it's pretty easy to change the primary receiver.

Rich

#26 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,939 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 22 October 2010 - 12:21 PM

If I recall correctly, it's pretty easy to change the primary receiver.

Rich


Generally yes, unless you have some obscure grandfathered package. Then you have to be very careful.

#27 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,695 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 22 October 2010 - 12:31 PM

Generally yes, unless you have some obscure grandfathered package. Then you have to be very careful.


I've got a pretty straight forward package. I think I've had to send primary HRs back on multiple occasions and they've just changed the primary to another HR.

Rich




Protected By... spam firewall...And...