Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Multi-Room Viewing and Static IP Addresses - Discussion

switch dish direct to vs

  • Please log in to reply
392 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,647 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 24 October 2010 - 06:28 AM

[...] this thread may need to be cleaned up, and posts deleted, once we've boiled this all down.
This isn't to stop the discussion, but just to let everyone know at some point this thread needs to be concise for those that are looking for and need the help.

Good point.
/steve

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,043 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 24 October 2010 - 06:34 AM

Good point.

Perhaps creating a discussion thread parallel to the FAQ.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#43 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 24 October 2010 - 06:47 AM

Perhaps creating a discussion thread parallel to the FAQ.


I was just getting ready to post that idea. I'll change the title of this thread to be a discussion and create a new one to be the FAQ.

Mods, if you could please unsticky this one and sticky the new one it would be appreciated. Also, if you can change the external title to match the new internal one.

Thanks,
Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#44 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 24 October 2010 - 09:25 AM

I use the D-Link DIR-825 Xtreme N Simultaneous Dual Band Gigabit Router. The router's IP is 192.168.0.1. The DHCP pool is 192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.199.

I have 3 DVRs and a stand alone receiver with Static 'Reserved Addresses' within the pool. They never drop off the network. Whole Home DVR services (DECA/SWM connected) and DOD work consistently.

HR20-700 192.168.0.105
H21-100 192.168.0.113
HR24-500 (a) 192.168.0.120
HR24-500 (B) 192.168.0.121
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#45 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 October 2010 - 09:31 AM

Router| Router IP Address| DHCP Pool Range
2Wire HomePortal 1000SW|172.16.0.1|172.16.1.33 – 172.16.1.250
2Wire 2700HG-B Gateway| 192.168.1.254 | 192.168.1.64 - 192.168.1.253
Linksy WRT320N | 192.168.1.1| 192.168.1.100 - 192.168.1.149
NetGear WNDR3700 | 192.168.1.1 |192.168.1.2 - 192.168.1.254
D-Link DIR-825 | 192.168.0.1 | 192.168.0.100 - 192.168.0.199

A.K.A VOS

#46 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 October 2010 - 09:34 AM

Router|Router IP Address|DHCP Pool Range
2-Wire HomePortal 1000SW|172.16.0.1|172.16.1.33 – 172.16.1.250

I have to question/ask about this.

Is this a typo or true?
A.K.A VOS

#47 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,823 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 24 October 2010 - 10:08 AM

I have to question/ask about this.

Is this a typo or true?


I didn't find this as a default on the 2-wire support site, but 172.x.x.x is another group of non-routable (internal) addresses that are typically class B.

So a mask of 255.255.0.0 would let this pool work. (the 0s in the mask mean a range of 0-255 can be used)

Edited by dennisj00, 24 October 2010 - 10:17 AM.


Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#48 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,043 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 24 October 2010 - 10:55 AM

I was just getting ready to post that idea. I'll change the title of this thread to be a discussion and create a new one to be the FAQ.

Mods, if you could please unsticky this one and sticky the new one it would be appreciated. Also, if you can change the external title to match the new internal one.

Thanks,
Merg

Super idea and super work on your part. Thanks.

P.S...nice work on 5K!
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#49 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 October 2010 - 11:52 AM

I didn't find this as a default on the 2-wire support site, but 172.x.x.x is another group of non-routable (internal) addresses that are typically class B.

So a mask of 255.255.0.0 would let this pool work. (the 0s in the mask mean a range of 0-255 can be used)

The subnet mask used for the network typically corresponds to the class of IP address assigned, as shown
in the following table.

IP Address Class | Dotted-Decimal Notation Ranges | Corresponding Subnet Mask

Class A | 1.xxx.xxx.xxx to 126.xxx.xxx.xxx | 255.0.0.0

Class B | 128.0.xxx.xxx to 191.255.xxx.xxx | 255.255.0.0

Class C | 192.0.0.xxx to 223.255.255.xxx | 255.255.255.0

Maybe you can shed some more light on this.
Why can't my router be 192.168.1.254 and I use 192.168.2.040 ?
"Or" why can a router be 172.16.0.1 and yet can use 172.16.1.33 – 172.16.1.250?

Maybe I've answered my own question, by realizing the "0" in the subnet acts as a wildcard.

Edited by veryoldschool, 24 October 2010 - 12:00 PM.

A.K.A VOS

#50 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 24 October 2010 - 12:08 PM

The subnet mask used for the network typically corresponds to the class of IP address assigned, as shown
in the following table.

IP Address Class | Dotted-Decimal Notation Ranges | Corresponding Subnet Mask

Class A | 1.xxx.xxx.xxx to 126.xxx.xxx.xxx | 255.0.0.0

Class B | 128.0.xxx.xxx to 191.255.xxx.xxx | 255.255.0.0

Class C | 192.0.0.xxx to 223.255.255.xxx | 255.255.255.0

Maybe you can shed some more light on this.
Why can't my router be 192.168.1.254 and I use 192.168.2.040 ?
"Or" why can a router be 172.16.0.1 and yet can use 172.16.1.33 – 172.16.1.250?

Maybe I've answered my own question, by realizing the "0" in the subnet acts as a wildcard.


I'd hafta look into it, but if you set your subnet mask to 255.255.0.0, then you should be able to have your router be 192.168.1.254 and use 192.168.2.040.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#51 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 24 October 2010 - 12:12 PM

Super idea and super work on your part. Thanks.

P.S...nice work on 5K!


And thank you kind sir.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#52 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 October 2010 - 12:14 PM

This is out of a 2wire convoluted user manual here: http://www.2wire.com..._User_Guide.pdf

Subnet Mask. The IP addressing system allows subnetworks or “interchanges” to be created, and devices numbers or “extensions” to be established within these subnetworks. These numbers are created using a mathematical device called a subnet mask. A subnet mask, like the IP address, is a set of four numbers in dotted decimal notation. Subnet masks typically take three forms:
• 255.0.0.0
• 255.255.0.0
• 255.255.255.0
The number 255 “masks” out the corresponding number of the IP address, resulting in IP address numbers that are valid for the network. For example, an IP address of 123.45.67.89 and a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 results in a sub network number of 123.45.67.0 and a device number of 89.
The subnet mask used for the network typically corresponds to the class of IP address assigned, as shown in the following table.

^
which was the table I posted
A.K.A VOS

#53 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 October 2010 - 12:17 PM

I'd hafta look into it, but if you set your subnet mask to 255.255.0.0, then you should be able to have your router be 192.168.1.254 and use 192.168.2.040.

- Merg

If I do "get this", then these would need to be 191.xxx
A.K.A VOS

#54 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,823 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 24 October 2010 - 12:30 PM

The subnet mask used for the network typically corresponds to the class of IP address assigned, as shown
in the following table.

IP Address Class | Dotted-Decimal Notation Ranges | Corresponding Subnet Mask

Class A | 1.xxx.xxx.xxx to 126.xxx.xxx.xxx | 255.0.0.0

Class B | 128.0.xxx.xxx to 191.255.xxx.xxx | 255.255.0.0

Class C | 192.0.0.xxx to 223.255.255.xxx | 255.255.255.0

Maybe you can shed some more light on this.
Why can't my router be 192.168.1.254 and I use 192.168.2.040 ?
"Or" why can a router be 172.16.0.1 and yet can use 172.16.1.33 – 172.16.1.250?

Maybe I've answered my own question, by realizing the "0" in the subnet acts as a wildcard.


I've never tried a different mask on home routers, but according to the specs the 192.168.x.x space is a Class C that uses a 255.255.255.0 mask and only allows 254 devices -- .0 and .255 are used by the network.

So a class B mask 255.255.0.0 technically allows the address space for 65,024 devices . . (256 * 254)

You can use the mask to segment a smaller portion of any address space. . . for example, 255.255.255.128 will only allow 128 addresses. . .

In simple terms, it's a binary bit-wise AND (I think) that permits addresses that are and-ed with the mask to flow on the LAN. . . otherwise no communication.

That's why your 192.168.2.x won't talk on a 192.168.1.x net with a mask of 255.255.255.0.

But a 172.16.0.1 and 172.16.1.33 works if the mask is 255.255.0.0

So simple a caveman could do it?

Edited by dennisj00, 24 October 2010 - 12:37 PM.


Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#55 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,476 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 October 2010 - 12:33 PM

Super idea and super work on your part. Thanks.

P.S...nice work on 5K!


+1. Alot of Great Posts go into that Post Count Total!!!
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#56 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,823 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 24 October 2010 - 12:50 PM

Windows 7 has a 'Programmers' view of the Calculator that has binary operators. . .

With it set in decimal, enter 192 AND 255 . . . the result is 192.

Same for 168. . Same for 1

So any 192.168.1.x address passes with a mask of 255.255.255.0

This is probably the most difficult concept in TCP/IP. . . and I thought Smith charts were magic!

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#57 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 24 October 2010 - 06:57 PM

If I do "get this", then these would need to be 191.xxx


No. You could still have 192.168.xxx.xxx. With the subnet mask set to 255.255.0.0, you are allowing the router to see IP addresses with any value in the last two spots. Using 255.255.255.0 keeps it so that the router only sees IP addresses within its own subnet.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#58 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,063 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 24 October 2010 - 07:29 PM

No. You could still have 192.168.xxx.xxx. With the subnet mask set to 255.255.0.0, you are allowing the router to see IP addresses with any value in the last two spots. Using 255.255.255.0 keeps it so that the router only sees IP addresses within its own subnet.

- Merg


Correct. Where it really gets interesting is when netmask values other than 255 are used (which fortunately doesn't apply here).

#59 OFFLINE   E91

E91

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2008

Posted 24 October 2010 - 09:52 PM

Somebody should send a link to this thread to the higher ups at D*. When I was having MRV problems, they steadfastly maintained that ICK and DECA were unrelated, so that anything my router was doing could not have an impact on MRV.

Fortunately, I had the guys participating in this thread to talk me through the fix.

Anyway, just wanted to thank you guys again. Since I went to static IPs outside the range of the DHCP, things have run smooth as silk.

#60 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 October 2010 - 10:16 PM

Somebody should send a link to this thread to the higher ups at D*.

I'd feel fairly "safe" that this information is headed that way. ;)
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...