Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How to remove OTA'S from HD Guide listing?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jskipton

jskipton

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 23, 2010

Posted 23 October 2010 - 01:29 PM

I have 722K receiver and the OTA'S appear in the HD listing of the Guide. I don't want them there and have set up a new favorites list with them, but I cannot remove them from the HD Listing. Help.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,162 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 23 October 2010 - 02:24 PM

Only way to remove them is to delete the ota channels from the receiver.

#3 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 23 October 2010 - 04:30 PM

If you go into the Menu to Local Channels, select "from satellite" and the OTA channels will go away.

Commercial & Residential Satellite System Design & Installation
DirecTV, Dish Network & Free-To-Air


#4 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,450 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 23 October 2010 - 06:26 PM

The only way to remove channels from the built-in preset lists is to lock or hide them... but that would lock/hide them from any custom favorites lists as well.

To accomplish what the OP wants... he really needs to make his own custom "HD" list and include everything but the OTA channels in that one and just stop using the built-in HD listing.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#5 OFFLINE   jskipton

jskipton

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 23, 2010

Posted 23 October 2010 - 06:51 PM

That's not the answer I was looking for but appears to be the only solution.

Thanks for the input.

#6 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,450 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 23 October 2010 - 07:52 PM

You're welcome...

Basically those built-in lists are hard-coded to show anything you subscribe to that isn't blocked. Sometimes you even see some green/red things that you don't subscribe to... but you're pretty much stuck with them as they are.

I made my own custom favorites list and only rarely look at the built-in ones.

-- I like to go fast (not really)





spam firewall