Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Home Media Option


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BurgEnder

BurgEnder

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2003

Posted 06 November 2003 - 08:34 PM

Has anyone upgraded to this option? I don't really care about viewing JPEGs or listening to my mp3 collection-just viewing recorded shows between the two units. Is it like having one four tuner unit? Will one unit send a record "job" to the other if it's already scheduled for two simutaneous recordings (like ReplayTV units will do)? When watching material recorded on another unit in the home, is the program "streamed" from that unit or is it transfered to the viewing unit's HDD? I'm not worried about setup as i'm A+ and Network+ certified, and I just bought a home and plan to run Cat5e or Cat6 throughout.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 07 November 2003 - 03:20 PM

It's not an option for DirecTivo's. There is no HMO available for them. HMO is only for Stand Alone Series 2 Tivo's.

#3 OFFLINE   tivosmart

tivosmart

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 132 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2003

Posted 07 November 2003 - 07:59 PM

Has anyone upgraded to this option? I don't really care about viewing JPEGs or listening to my mp3 collection-just viewing recorded shows between the two units. Is it like having one four tuner unit? Will one unit send a record "job" to the other if it's already scheduled for two simutaneous recordings (like ReplayTV units will do)? When watching material recorded on another unit in the home, is the program "streamed" from that unit or is it transfered to the viewing unit's HDD? I'm not worried about setup as i'm A+ and Network+ certified, and I just bought a home and plan to run Cat5e or Cat6 throughout.


Hi BurgEnder, welcome to the forum.

The Directivo unfortunately doesn't have the home media option available yet. There's a big commotion blaming Directv for not allowing Tivo to rollup their software version 4.0, which has the HMO option.

I've heard rummors of guys at TivoCommunity who got a standalone 4.0 image and intalled it succesfully to a Directivo, is this what you're talking about?

BTW, the way HMO works is streaming it over the net, and it keeps some MB in the recipient's HD for caching, but not the whole movie before playing.

#4 OFFLINE   BurgEnder

BurgEnder

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2003

Posted 07 November 2003 - 10:58 PM

Thank-you both for your answers. You've been very helpful.




spam firewall