Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

upgrade to 722k?


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jim2000

jim2000

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2010

Posted 31 October 2010 - 04:02 PM

was thinking of upgraging from 722 to 722k its free other than 2 year comittment is there anything better other than the ota or the remote saving ability diff on screen look or anything thanks jim

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,843 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 October 2010 - 04:19 PM

pretty much it

#3 ONLINE   Jim148

Jim148

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 319 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 31 October 2010 - 07:30 PM

Good luck and be careful. I went from a 622 to a 722k, BUT they sent me another 622 even after I verified that I only wanted a 722k. I eventually got the 722k, but apparently when I called the considered the 622, 722, and 722k the same. I also had to wait a little while to get the DISH Network MT2 Over the Air Module. The good thing is if Dish doesn't have it in stock, then other dealers might have it in stock and the prices can vary somewhat.

#4 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 31 October 2010 - 08:08 PM

They do consider the 6/7/7k the same. That's pretty much always been true.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#5 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 31 October 2010 - 08:28 PM

Unless 2 OTA tuners is a HUGE, HUGE deal for you, IMO, it's crazy to "upgrade" from a 722 (one OTA tuner included) to a 722 (no OTA tuners included; optional $50 dual OTA tuner module available). Being on the hook for an ETF of up to $420 ($17.50 x months remaining) for an extra OTA tuner, that you have to pay for, makes no sense to me.

Commercial & Residential Satellite System Design & Installation
DirecTV, Dish Network & Free-To-Air


#6 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 31 October 2010 - 09:23 PM

Optional OTA tuner is $29.99, not $50.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#7 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 01 November 2010 - 07:04 AM

Optional OTA tuner is $29.99, not $50.



Kent:

When I login to My Account at Dish Network then select Order from Store.This is what I see:

*
OTA Module
* Required to integrate your rooftop or rabbit ear antenna to your receiver.
* Receiver Models: 222K, 722k, 922
* Includes a one (1) year warranty from date of purchase.
* Item is non refundable once your order has been placed.

*
$50.00
Add to Cart

:eek2::confused:

#8 OFFLINE   jsk

jsk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 720 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 01 November 2010 - 08:29 AM

If you get it from SolidSignal.com, it's $29.99+$8.95 (shipping).

You can also try eBay.
Dish Player DVR 722K with OTA module connected to the Eastern Arc

#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,843 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 November 2010 - 10:54 AM

If you get it from SolidSignal.com, it's $29.99+$8.95 (shipping).

You can also try eBay.


and of them: $57.94 +$10.70 shipping ... ouch !

#10 OFFLINE   Oompah

Oompah

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 23 December 2010 - 05:16 PM

I got that upgrade offer, too. It's been sitting for a while, and I'm just now getting around to looking at it. This old thread seems to address my questions, but want to confirm a couple of things.

I have had a 622 since early '07. We have one HD set on TV1 in the room with it and one SD TV2 in another room; I use the OTA tuner some, and occasionally record three shows at once (Sat - Sat - OTA). It has worked well.

Looking around the Dish website and here, it seems there is little to gain with the 722 over the 622 other than additional recording time (50 hrs HD vs. ~30), and newer equipment (which might be a blessing or a curse - mine's been reliable so far, knock wood).

I gather that there's an optional OTA module (available for 722k only?) with two tuners; the 722 includes a single OTA tuner (like the 622) but the 722k does not include OTA without the option. Is this correct? The offer mentions 612, 622 and 722, but not the 'k' model. I don't want to give up OTA, but might use dual OTA tuners on very rare occasions. Can the 722k with the optional module record four shows at once (two each, Sat and OTA)?

As it stands, I think I'll stay put and keep the ol' reliable 622 unless it breaks between now and 1/31/11. Am I missing something?

#11 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,375 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 23 December 2010 - 05:49 PM

...

I gather that there's an optional OTA module (available for 722k only?) with two tuners; the 722 includes a single OTA tuner (like the 622) but the 722k does not include OTA without the option. Is this correct? ... Can the 722k with the optional module record four shows at once (two each, Sat and OTA)? ...

Yeah, the 722k comes with zero OTA tuners. The optional 722k OTA module is a dual tuner and yes, you can simultaneously record two OTA signals and two Sat signals... four total.

Another feature of the 722k is that you can save your timers to the remote control and thus be able to restore the timers to a new 722k should the original need replacement.

dish is about to replace my 722k with another 722k in order to help troubleshoot an apparent software issue. See Post # 28 at http://www.dbstalk.c...252#post2664252

I will try to restore my 90+ timers to the new box. That said, I have not heard good things about this feature actually working.

#12 OFFLINE   Oompah

Oompah

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 23 December 2010 - 10:13 PM

Thanks for the reply, Salti.

The 2-OTA tuner option is interesting; that ability to record 4 shows at once while watching two more recordings at the same time is truly amazing, but it costs extra and I'm not sure how often it would actually be used. I can think of one or maybe two times in the years we've had the 622 it would have been nice. Cool, though.

I don't have so many timers that re-creating them on another unit would be that big a hassle, either. In fact, it might be an advantage. We went thru recently and cleared out a bunch of obsolete and no-longer-wanted ones; I think we deleted more than we kept.

The extra capacity would good, but what we have now has been reliable. Always tradeoffs.

#13 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 13 January 2011 - 05:49 PM

I got that upgrade offer, too. It's been sitting for a while, and I'm just now getting around to looking at it. This old thread seems to address my questions, but want to confirm a couple of things.

I have had a 622 since early '07. We have one HD set on TV1 in the room with it and one SD TV2 in another room; I use the OTA tuner some, and occasionally record three shows at once (Sat - Sat - OTA). It has worked well.

Looking around the Dish website and here, it seems there is little to gain with the 722 over the 622 other than additional recording time (50 hrs HD vs. ~30), and newer equipment (which might be a blessing or a curse - mine's been reliable so far, knock wood).

I gather that there's an optional OTA module (available for 722k only?) with two tuners; the 722 includes a single OTA tuner (like the 622) but the 722k does not include OTA without the option. Is this correct? The offer mentions 612, 622 and 722, but not the 'k' model. I don't want to give up OTA, but might use dual OTA tuners on very rare occasions. Can the 722k with the optional module record four shows at once (two each, Sat and OTA)?

As it stands, I think I'll stay put and keep the ol' reliable 622 unless it breaks between now and 1/31/11. Am I missing something?



What your missing is you believe you won't use the extra features.When I had a 625 I never thought I would ever use the OTA tuner on the 622 I have but I have used it and been happy with it.When I receive my upgrade 722k I will get the OTA tuner(s) because when you have it and you realize it's a nice feature you have access to when you
do use it.;):D

#14 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 13 January 2011 - 05:52 PM

They do consider the 6/7/7k the same. That's pretty much always been true.



So if they walk in with the wrong one? They know how to walk back out again.;):D

#15 OFFLINE   JerryEl

JerryEl

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2006

Posted 13 January 2011 - 08:53 PM

...the 622 and the 722k with the optional OTA receiver. When I replaced another 622 they didn't tell me it didn't come with an OTA receiver so I bought it separately from Dish. I like the 622 best, it seems to have less trouble locking on to channels, keeping the sound synced, and for some reason it seems to have a stronger signal out to the HDMI output.

I have a 50'-60' HDMI run with an amplified cable and have tried both with the same TV and the 622 is much better when the TV locks on at channel changes. It's instantaneous with the 622 and slower with the 722k. Can't really see any difference with the quality though. I have to recycle the 722k 2-3 times a month (by unplugging it) to keep the audio sync. Never have to do anything to the old reliable 622.
***********
Jerry in NW FL

#16 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 21 January 2011 - 07:36 PM

...the 622 and the 722k with the optional OTA receiver. When I replaced another 622 they didn't tell me it didn't come with an OTA receiver so I bought it separately from Dish. I like the 622 best, it seems to have less trouble locking on to channels, keeping the sound synced, and for some reason it seems to have a stronger signal out to the HDMI output.

I have a 50'-60' HDMI run with an amplified cable and have tried both with the same TV and the 622 is much better when the TV locks on at channel changes. It's instantaneous with the 622 and slower with the 722k. Can't really see any difference with the quality though. I have to recycle the 722k 2-3 times a month (by unplugging it) to keep the audio sync. Never have to do anything to the old reliable 622.



Well my 722k with MT2 is a little less signal,than the single OTA tuner on my 622.But I am also running a Rat Shak 25db 4 coax distribution preamp with output terminators on 3 outputs,with my antenna as high up as my WA.4 Dish what signals I receive are very acceptable and I'm 60 to 80 miles from the broadcast towers.So I'm happy.;):D

You won't believe the OTA antenna I chose.;)
http://www.costco.co...lang=en-US&Sp=C

#17 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 23 January 2011 - 09:20 AM

I got that upgrade offer, too. It's been sitting for a while, and I'm just now getting around to looking at it. This old thread seems to address my questions, but want to confirm a couple of things.

I have had a 622 since early '07. We have one HD set on TV1 in the room with it and one SD TV2 in another room; I use the OTA tuner some, and occasionally record three shows at once (Sat - Sat - OTA). It has worked well.

Looking around the Dish website and here, it seems there is little to gain with the 722 over the 622 other than additional recording time (50 hrs HD vs. ~30), and newer equipment (which might be a blessing or a curse - mine's been reliable so far, knock wood).

I gather that there's an optional OTA module (available for 722k only?) with two tuners; the 722 includes a single OTA tuner (like the 622) but the 722k does not include OTA without the option. Is this correct? The offer mentions 612, 622 and 722, but not the 'k' model. I don't want to give up OTA, but might use dual OTA tuners on very rare occasions. Can the 722k with the optional module record four shows at once (two each, Sat and OTA)?

As it stands, I think I'll stay put and keep the ol' reliable 622 unless it breaks between now and 1/31/11. Am I missing something?


Yes!.:grin:


What you are also missing here also is that with the 722k/w MT2 module gives you access to your OTA channels in your second room for viewing there.Also the MT2 module also has a modulated Channel 3 or 4 coax connection for TV1.So those still with older SDTVs can be using the 722k/w MT2.That's what I use Channel 3 coax connection.Instead of using a splitter from the Home Distribution Output for TV1 and TV2,which was a pain on my 622.The MPEG4 channels in my opinion look better than Dish Network's MPEG2 channels.;)

Dish Network needs to include the Dish Network MT2 module with all the Dish Network receivers that do not have them it would add convenience to all Dish Network installs for the Dish Network customer with all these Over The Air digital channels being broadcast because I believe Dish Network will not be able to put all these channels on satellite due to bandwith restrictions.

So Good Luck!:) with whatever you choose,but to record 4 shows(2 OTA and 2 satellite at the same time while you watch an already recorded program) at once is pretty cool.:cool::grin:

Edited by Jhon69, 23 January 2011 - 09:42 AM.


#18 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 23 January 2011 - 09:37 AM

They do consider the 6/7/7k the same. That's pretty much always been true.



This policy needs to change as they are NOT the same!.:rolleyes::nono2:

#19 OFFLINE   Mokanic

Mokanic

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2007

Posted 25 February 2011 - 07:28 PM

I am looking upgrading from the 622 to a 722k as well.

I was just on chat with Dish and was told there would need to be a technician visit depending on the installation and orbital locations. Can someone enlighten me as to what this means. I was trying to get them to ship me a 722k and I would install the box myself.

What differences are there between a 622 installation and a 722k?

I do not have the DPP in my current installation. Will I need this for a 722k?

I am currently on the EA. What difference does this make?

#20 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 27 February 2011 - 11:53 AM

Being able to watch OTA on TV2 is a real benefit.
I guess if my 622 dies, I would opt for a 722k.
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg




Protected By... spam firewall...And...