Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

upgrade to 722k?


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Jim148

Jim148

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 319 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 27 February 2011 - 12:51 PM

Being able to watch OTA on TV2 is a real benefit.
I guess if my 622 dies, I would opt for a 722k.


That was one of the reasons for me. Actually one of a couple, which were:

-OTA Ability On TV2s (I have a few TV2s!)

-Compatibility With DISH Sling Adapter

-Larger HD (although I also have an external HD, anyway, now)

-You can also record something like 2 OTA and 2 SAT channels at the same time time (not a hug deal for me, but nice to know I can.)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 ONLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,276 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 27 February 2011 - 02:12 PM

I will try to restore my 90+ timers to the new box. That said, I have not heard good things about this feature actually working.


I hope you have better luck than I did. When they replaced my 722k, I couldn't get it to backup the timers to the remote at all. And then after I replaced, I tried it on the new one, it wouldn't back up either.

And the reports from some that got it to back up also reported they couldn't get it to restore.

So nice feature -- IF it worked! :(

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#23 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 02 March 2011 - 08:01 AM

I am looking upgrading from the 622 to a 722k as well.

I was just on chat with Dish and was told there would need to be a technician visit depending on the installation and orbital locations. Can someone enlighten me as to what this means. I was trying to get them to ship me a 722k and I would install the box myself.

What differences are there between a 622 installation and a 722k?

I do not have the DPP in my current installation. Will I need this for a 722k?

I am currently on the EA. What difference does this make?



Do you already have a 1K.4 DPP EA Dish?.If not I would guess that is the reason.;)

#24 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 02 March 2011 - 01:43 PM

I hope you have better luck than I did. When they replaced my 722k, I couldn't get it to backup the timers to the remote at all. And then after I replaced, I tried it on the new one, it wouldn't back up either.

And the reports from some that got it to back up also reported they couldn't get it to restore.

So nice feature -- IF it worked! :(


It is and it does. I've successfully backed up and restored timers, etc. three times.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#25 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 21 November 2011 - 02:37 PM

Back from the dead...
Did I read that a 722k costs more than a 622 on a monthly basis for some reason?
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#26 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 21 November 2011 - 06:43 PM

They carry the same fees. Having a 922 raises the account-level DVR fee from $6 to $10.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#27 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 November 2011 - 07:04 PM

BobaBird, isn't the time to expand EKB for new box [XiP813] info ? ;) Perhaps then OP reading it will wait for the model little longer ?

#28 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 21 November 2011 - 07:15 PM

Indeed it is. The info seems to be exclusive to another site (when I was too busy to keep up with here and there). Maybe I can slap something together before I go to be in the morning.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#29 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 November 2011 - 07:44 PM

Indeed it is. The info seems to be exclusive to another site (when I was too busy to keep up with here and there). Maybe I can slap something together before I go to be in the morning.


I bet they don't know what the current status of testing it ;). Also some snapshots would be advantageous for EKB.

#30 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 22 November 2011 - 03:06 AM

I suspect the former will lead to the latter. Expect pics on EKB about 1/10 unless someone can send some sooner.

Isn't this OT talk risking you getting shot or choked? I hear some people don't like it. ;)
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#31 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 November 2011 - 10:22 AM

I'm aiming to the OP - he is in process of make a decision and adding more info about the new model 813 could change his minds dramatically. :)

#32 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 23 November 2011 - 09:46 PM

I'm aiming to the OP - he is in process of make a decision and adding more info about the new model 813 could change his minds dramatically. :)


Is he schizophrenic? :lol:

#33 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 November 2011 - 09:52 PM

we all ... partially ...

#34 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 24 November 2011 - 03:27 PM

Probably very true...

#35 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 01 December 2011 - 04:44 PM

BobaBird, isn't the time to expand EKB for new box [XiP813] info ? ;)

It took longer than I thought, but here's the new page: http://www.dishuser.org/xip813.php
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#36 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,316 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 01 December 2011 - 06:06 PM

It took longer than I thought, but here's the new page: http://www.dishuser.org/xip813.php

Verrrrry interesting! Thanks for doing the work to bring together all the information in a clear concise format.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#37 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 December 2011 - 06:26 PM

Oh, ah - that is the old discussed DP or ViP422 ....
Interesting the apparatus [XiP813 aka DP422] also certified for Canada by UL.

Now, it would be interesting to know under what name will materialized other device DP544 (Whole Home Media DVR ?), perhaps when it will come to life/exhibitions ?

Edited by P Smith, 01 December 2011 - 07:02 PM.


#38 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 08 December 2011 - 02:43 PM

They carry the same fees. Having a 922 raises the account-level DVR fee from $6 to $10.

Thanks.
I could never get a 722k out of Dish, despite things read here.
I did find one on CL locally and will attempt to replace my 622 with it one of these days.:grin:
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#39 OFFLINE   NYBuddy

NYBuddy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2006

Posted 31 December 2011 - 04:52 PM

I just got a 722k. I was thinking of getting the ota for the box. I have 2 questions, is there a fee for the ota function outside the normal fees? And where can I get the ota module cheap?:confused:

#40 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 December 2011 - 05:20 PM

no fee, but if you don't pay for local then need add $5 for a guide, check eBay




spam firewall