Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

R15 to HR21


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 644 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 02 November 2010 - 01:19 PM

I have been having R15 issues, I have an HR21 at home, I do not have HD, can the R15 be deactivated and the HR21 activated so I can watch SD programming? I figured I'd check here first before calling the CSR...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 644 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 02 November 2010 - 01:25 PM

Shoot, after digging out the box, I found no access card...can the card in the R15 be inserted in the HR21 and then be activated?

#3 ONLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,552 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 02 November 2010 - 02:19 PM

You most likely will have to have DirecTV send you a new access card ($20). I'd call and ask, you might get lucky.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#4 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 02 November 2010 - 02:35 PM

If you do not have HD service, DirecTV may not activate the HR21. I'm guessing that if you just have it at home it is an owned receiver, but if not, the Equipment Lease Addendum requires HD service if you have a HD recevier. The good news is that you can get the HD monthly fee waived for 2 years with AutoPay and if you don't have an HD dish, they might come out and perform the upgrade for you at little to no cost depending on your account history.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#5 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 644 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 02 November 2010 - 05:34 PM

I own the HR21, I have a slimline 5 dish, just no HDTV! Maybe this is a sign to upgrade. Already on autopay, been a customer since the 90's, should be good to go. I guess it depends on the CSR really, some are helpful, some are very rigid, no flexibility.

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 02 November 2010 - 05:48 PM

I own the HR21, I have a slimline 5 dish, just no HDTV! Maybe this is a sign to upgrade. Already on autopay, been a customer since the 90's, should be good to go. I guess it depends on the CSR really, some are helpful, some are very rigid, no flexibility.


If you have the HD dish already, you should be able to just turn on HD service when you activate the receiver. Then just request the Free HD for 24 Months offer. Basically, you'll be getting HD for free.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#7 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 644 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 02 November 2010 - 09:04 PM

If you have the HD dish already, you should be able to just turn on HD service when you activate the receiver. Then just request the Free HD for 24 Months offer. Basically, you'll be getting HD for free.

- Merg


Thanks!

#8 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 November 2010 - 06:50 AM

Thanks!


Let us know how it goes.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#9 OFFLINE   smhc29

smhc29

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2010

Posted 11 November 2010 - 07:35 PM

Let us know how it goes.

- Merg


hr24




spam firewall