Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Recording playback ended early?


  • Please log in to reply
166 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 11 December 2010 - 03:00 PM

My local dealer said they ground the coax but not the dish. He did not think grounding was the problem. In this latest case it should not make a difference because I used the OTA antenna.

He suggested I use the sat tuners for locals & see what happens. I explained the DVR he picked up last week had corrupt programs from the sat tuners. IOW the tuners do not seem to be the problem. And when I had a sat signal loss due to rain fade about a month ago the DVR kept on recording.

I explained to the dealer that per this forum that other people have had the same problem with the 722K. IOW it may be a software issue. He was going to check with his retail dealer forum & see what he can find out. I will follow up with him next week.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   russ9

russ9

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2004

Posted 11 December 2010 - 07:03 PM

722k, has had it happen sporadically, last one was a week ago on "Pirate Radio"
.
.
Dishing it up since 4-4-1997
vip722K hooked up to a bunch of stuff. Like a bigger TV.

Soon to be on Dish network, explained by a BBC spokesman

#28 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 21 December 2010 - 08:26 PM

...

The Engineer at Dish with whom I was corresponding indicated that they believed it was a software issue with the 722k.

Interestingly, it has occurred twice since I upload my logs, etc, to Dish and I have saved those corrupted(?) files - but can not get the Dish Engineer to respond to my E-mails. :mad:

I just sent another E-mail to the contact, copy to the CEO contact that has always helped with "issues" in the past.

I have now heard from Dish Engineering again. They are certain it is a software issue and not an install or individual receiver issue.

They are sending me a replacement and an RMA lable via US Mail so that i can return my receiver to Colorado with three recordings that all appear normal, yet skip to the end at some point. (Last night I recorded two one-hour episodes of TNT's "Leverage." Both recordings appeared to be complete. However, five minutes into the first episode the recording simply skipped to the end-screen.)

The three defective recordings on the receiver were recorded on TNT, DIY, and ENCORE. (I will include a note advising them that in the past the problem has also occurred on an OTA recording.)

It will be interesting to see if a 722k replacement shows up... and also if it has the OTA module. (If not, I'll install mine in it.) Also, we'll see if I can successfully save the old 722k's timers to my remote and transfer them to the new 722k. (If not, I'll do what I've done in the past with my 622.... take photos of the TV screen listing my timers.)

Edited by SaltiDawg, 21 December 2010 - 08:55 PM.


#29 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 22 December 2010 - 01:54 AM

SaltiDawg,

Please keep us informed on what Dish Engineering finds out.

I spoke with my dealer yesterday & asked what he found out from his dealer forum. He said about 70 people read his posting but only one replied. And that one said he replaced the DVR 3 times.

I hope it's a software issue & that Dish can just download an update.

#30 OFFLINE   BarryG

BarryG

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2006

Posted 22 December 2010 - 06:11 AM

Nice to compare notes on this annoying problem I still see occasionally. It is FUTILE to swap out your 722K - I've already done that. I believe it's related to the OTA Tuner, even if the affected recording was off sat.

Has anybody EVER experienced the premature jumping to the end with a 722K that did not have the OTA tuner installed?

I'm intrigued by the above hypothesis that a sat program might have been affected by a glitch in the OTA Tuner. My OTA Tuner will occasionally complain/pixelate even though I'm 7 miles line-of-sight from the broadcast antenna - the 722K OTA Tuner is just a flakey design and swapping that is ALSO futile (done that as well).

#31 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 22 December 2010 - 07:18 AM

...

I'm intrigued by the above hypothesis that a sat program might have been affected by a glitch in the OTA Tuner. My OTA Tuner will occasionally complain/pixelate even though I'm 7 miles line-of-sight from the broadcast antenna - the 722K OTA Tuner is just a flakey design and swapping that is ALSO futile (done that as well).

Barry,

Not arguing, but I have never seen the issues you describe with my OTA module. In fact, my only issue or complaint is the early ending of recordings about 3-4 times a month. (I have 90+ timers set.)

#32 OFFLINE   BarryG

BarryG

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2006

Posted 22 December 2010 - 07:29 AM

Not arguing, but I have never seen the issues you describe with my OTA module. In fact, my only issue or complaint is the early ending of recordings about 3-4 times a month. (I have 90+ timers set.)

Right, but I still suspect it's related to that OTA module. Let's wait and see if anybody responds who's seeing the problem on a 722K with no OTA module installed.

#33 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 22 December 2010 - 10:25 PM

I don't think I have seen it since I replaced my 722 with a 722k.
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#34 OFFLINE   JSIsabella

JSIsabella

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2006

Posted 30 December 2010 - 03:47 PM

I really hope that Dish will address this problem.

It has happened to me three times this month.

I have a 722k with OTA module, and one of the recordings was OTA. The other two were from the sat.

Two of these were shows recorded for the wife. It is bad enough that we missed 4 episodes of Terriers during the dish-fox stalemate. To say she is not happy is a real understatement. She wants me to throw out the dish system.

My cable from the dish is grounded just fine. And I don't think it is an issue of conflicts with other recordings. When it recorded NCIS-LA, there was nothing else scheduled before or after. It says it has recorded 1 hr and 3 min, but at 38 minutes into the show it just ended.

It really is aggravating..........

If there is someone specific to complain to, let me know.

#35 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 30 December 2010 - 04:06 PM

I have now heard from Dish Engineering again. They are certain it is a software issue and not an install or individual receiver issue.

They are sending me a replacement and an RMA lable via US Mail so that i can return my receiver to Colorado with three recordings that all appear normal, yet skip to the end at some point. (Last night I recorded two one-hour episodes of TNT's "Leverage." Both recordings appeared to be complete. However, five minutes into the first episode the recording simply skipped to the end-screen.)

The three defective recordings on the receiver were recorded on TNT, DIY, and ENCORE. (I will include a note advising them that in the past the problem has also occurred on an OTA recording.)

It will be interesting to see if a 722k replacement shows up... and also if it has the OTA module. (If not, I'll install mine in it.) Also, we'll see if I can successfully save the old 722k's timers to my remote and transfer them to the new 722k. (If not, I'll do what I've done in the past with my 622.... take photos of the TV screen listing my timers.)


I received a replacement 722k on December 24th. I have not returned the original 722k with the three early-ending recordings because dish has not yet sent me the appropriate RMA label so that it can be returned to Colorado vice N Carolina. :mad:

I did have pretty good results with restoring my saved timers from the remote to the replacement 722k. :)

The replacement unit did not include an OTA module, but it did have instructions telling me to use the module from my original receiver, if it had one. No big deal.

#36 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 30 December 2010 - 04:52 PM

Any issues with the replacement?
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#37 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 30 December 2010 - 05:34 PM

Any issues with the replacement?

Kent,
Absolutely no issues - so far. :)

Edited by SaltiDawg, 03 January 2011 - 04:26 PM.


#38 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 30 December 2010 - 08:56 PM

I just replaced my 722 with a 722k. I haven't had the early ending issue (yet). It does have some annoying features that the 722 did not have. Glad yours is working.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#39 OFFLINE   bliz

bliz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2011

Posted 03 January 2011 - 01:20 PM

for me it only records 24 mins of some shows

#40 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 03 January 2011 - 03:39 PM

Consistently?
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#41 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 03 January 2011 - 04:27 PM

Kent,
Absolutely no issues - so far. :)


Kent, my replacement 722k, which I've had for 10 days, just made a recording of "This Old House." After two minutes, the recording skips to the end screen. I advised Dish.

#42 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 03 January 2011 - 10:01 PM

Crap. I hope that's not a preview of coming attractions.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#43 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 04 January 2011 - 07:15 AM

Crap. I hope that's not a preview of coming attractions.

Kent,

They still have not received my "old" 722k with the three examples of the problem so there is/was no reason to expect the temporary replacement to not exhibit the problem.

#44 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 04 January 2011 - 09:48 AM

I haven't experienced this thus far. I am assuming it doesn't happen on all 722k's; is that your understanding?
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#45 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 04 January 2011 - 11:20 AM

I haven't experienced this thus far. I am assuming it doesn't happen on all 722k's; is that your understanding?

Actually, the Dish Engineer to which I'm talking to says they are leaning toward something that will take an update to correct.

I have posted and asked if anyone with a 622 or 722 has this problem... no responses. I asked if anyone with a 722k was having this problem and only got a couple of positive responses.

I guess the honest answer is that I don't know if all 722ks are having this problem.

#46 OFFLINE   kevin d

kevin d

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2005

Posted 04 January 2011 - 09:34 PM

Just experienced this again on my 722K, but for the first time it was not via an OTA channel. Missing the last 10 minutes of The Closer. Gets to 9:59 left and skips to the end.

Shame to pay $140 a month for TV and have to result to 'illegal' means to catch the end of a season finale.

Kevin D.

#47 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 04 January 2011 - 10:15 PM

...
Shame to pay $140 a month for TV and have to result to 'illegal' means to catch the end of a season finale.

:confused: It's repeated Saturday at 11:00AM EST.

#48 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 04 January 2011 - 10:16 PM

Just experienced this again on my 722K, but for the first time it was not via an OTA channel. Missing the last 10 minutes of The Closer. Gets to 9:59 left and skips to the end.

Shame to pay $140 a month for TV and have to result to 'illegal' means to catch the end of a season finale.

Kevin D.


So, I guess you didn't see Brenda get shot at the end???
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#49 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 05 January 2011 - 01:23 AM

I emailed the Dish Network Executive Offices yesterday. I politely explained the situation & that I was not the only one having this problem & referred them to this forum thread for additional information.

At about 8:00pm I received a phone call from their Executive Offices. I was told they were aware of this problem & it seems to affect only some of the 722K models. It does not affect the 722. They have been aware of this since the middle of last year, which would mean about 6 months. They have not received a lot of complaints & thought some people just delete the corrupt recordings. Maybe more people need to call or write Dish every time they have a problem.

The person I spoke with said he would swap my 722K for a 722 and said the only difference was the remote. I explained the 722K had the dual tuner OTA module. He said the 722 has an OTA tuner. I said it’s only a single tuner. At first he did not appear to understand the difference, until I said the 722K can record 4 programs at once, and of course he said the 722 cannot.

I asked if he looked at this forum & he said he could not because they had restricted access to Internet sites. I understand a lot of companies do this so the employees don’t spend their day on ebay, etc. But you would think if you worked in the Executive Offices that you would have access to everything, especially if it’s related to DBS.

He thought the problem might be a scheduling problem or a HDD problem, but did not know for sure. I was more than a little disappointed that they’ve known about this for about 6 months and still don’t know what causes it, let alone find a solution.

Obviously SaltiDawg’s engineer contact should have more intimate knowledge of the problem. I don’t mean to step on anyone’s toes, but do want to make sure the Executives know there is a problem brewing down here. Too bad they’re locked out of a satellite forum. As previously mentioned, you don’t know there’s a problem until you’re already into watching a recording & it suddenly ends. I feel like I’m living with time bomb just waiting for it to miss another recording.

#50 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 05 January 2011 - 07:38 AM

...
Obviously SaltiDawg’s engineer contact should have more intimate knowledge of the problem. I don’t mean to step on anyone’s toes, but do want to make sure the Executives know there is a problem brewing down here. ...

Every E-mail I send to or receive from Dish on this matter is Cc'd to the CEO's Office to an individual that has been both supportive and technically knowledgeable in the past.

It has not been suggested to me that Dish has been aware of this problem apparently unique to the 722k for six months. If the person you communicated with thought that the difference between a 722 and a 722k was the remote, I'm not sure i'd be quoting him here as saying Dish has been aware of the early ending problem for six months or more.

I do agree with the idea that if one is having problems they should call Dish. However, as we see from reading posts here, frequently it is cockpit error rather than hardware/software.

Edited by SaltiDawg, 29 January 2011 - 08:27 AM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...