Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Recording playback ended early?


  • Please log in to reply
166 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 06 August 2013 - 04:27 AM

I had 2 more corrupt recordings last night. One was OTA NBC and the other was on TNT which was the same as one that was cutoff last week.



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 07 August 2013 - 07:44 PM

I just sent a PM to Mike.H asking for status when this problem will be fixed. I'm on my third brand new 722k and this still happens once in a while.



#128 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 302 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 08 August 2013 - 08:52 AM

I have reach out to the engineer and I am waiting for a response back. I do apologize for the delayed response but as soon as I hear back I will message you and Mike109 via inbox messaging. Thanks for your patience.



#129 OFFLINE   MattE303

MattE303

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2011

Posted 08 August 2013 - 10:40 AM

I have reach out to the engineer and I am waiting for a response back. I do apologize for the delayed response but as soon as I hear back I will message you and Mike109 via inbox messaging. Thanks for your patience.

 

Instead of private messaging, how about posting the response here so all of us suffering from this issue can see it???



#130 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 302 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 08 August 2013 - 12:22 PM

Instead of private messaging, how about posting the response here so all of us suffering from this issue can see it???

 

MattE303,

I am more than happy to post the response on this thread as soon as I hear back from the engineer.



#131 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 586 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 08 August 2013 - 06:33 PM

I have been complaining about this for years and have a lot of ecamples for techs sort through. But have been told that "it ain't gonna get fixed". No reason given. I suspect that the fix would need to be something that would encroach on TiVo patents and would also delay people from moving to Hoppers (which I pray that this doesn’t happen on Hoppers?) so they can’t EOL the ViP series. Personally I think it’s a mix of TiVo features and the EPG. Of which I know because of either, it will not get fixed. I have been told it’s purely the networks running over. If so, I have never seen this on Xfinity or DTV. And have family and neighbors constantly looking for an instance to prove me wrong. Nothing yet.

But I am damn glad that I am not the only one complaining about this anymore. I got tired of the flaming.

. . . fb



#132 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 09 August 2013 - 01:10 AM

A friend of mine said "Under The Dome" was cut off the other day, and that was with CBS OTA on a 722k. And it's not the first time he's had a problem.


Edited by Mike109, 09 August 2013 - 01:11 AM.


#133 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 10 August 2013 - 09:09 PM

Previously I noticed when I deleted a corrupt recording that I did not recoup the full recording time. IOW deleting a one hour "short" recording gave me back less than an hour.

 

This time I had a corrupt version and a good version which I was able to catch on a rebroadcast on TNT. I've been padding my recordings by 5 minutes on both ends. I thought to save these to an EHD because that process indicates how large the files are.

The 70 minute good recording indicated it would be saving a 2.3 GB file.

The corrupt version played only about 17 mins and saving it would only be a 576 MB file.

 

It appears only 17 minutes were actually recorded not the 70 minutes, vs recording 70 mins but not having access to all of it. I guess the missing 53 minutes could be somewhere on the HDD but just not properly addressed. I wonder if this screws up the table of contents or whatever Dish uses. It would be nice to run some type of chkdsk or defrag to clean up the HDD.



#134 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 31 August 2013 - 08:36 PM

MattE303,

I am more than happy to post the response on this thread as soon as I hear back from the engineer.

Is it possible to follow up on this?



#135 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 01 September 2013 - 12:52 PM

Is it possible to follow up on this?

I provided Mike.H the name and contact info on July 24th - see above confirmation post.

 

It's now September.  The guy works in Virginia....

 

And this is "Hot" problem?  lol


Edited by SaltiDawg, 01 September 2013 - 12:53 PM.


#136 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 01 September 2013 - 10:19 PM

I just had another screwed up recording this evening, Copper on BBCA. It was the only program being recorded all day. I padded it to start 5 mins early & end 5 mins late which gives me a 1 hour 10 minute recording. I knew there was a problem when I saw the recording was only 1:00 hour. I also verified this looking at its history.

 

The blankety-blank Dish DVR started the recording 10 minutes late!!!!

 

Come on Dish get this problem fixed.



#137 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 06 September 2013 - 04:16 PM

I just had another screwed up recording this evening, Copper on BBCA. It was the only program being recorded all day. I padded it to start 5 mins early & end 5 mins late which gives me a 1 hour 10 minute recording. I knew there was a problem when I saw the recording was only 1:00 hour. I also verified this looking at its history.

 

The blankety-blank Dish DVR started the recording 10 minutes late!!!!

 

Come on Dish get this problem fixed.

Mike,

 

This is not the same problem that we are discussing in this thread.  In your example, the symptom would be that the recording started when it should have and ended when it should have.  On playback, however, at some point durnig playback the recording would just skip to the end.



#138 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 06 September 2013 - 04:22 PM

What I don't understand is that thios problem has existed and was a "known issue" over two years ago.  Repeatedly in this thread, Dish Reps have posted to the effect that they were "working on it."  Yet when I provided the name and contact info to the Dish rep in this thread on July 24th he has not been able to contact him?

 

Dish Customer Service has taken a serious nosedive since I started with them with a Dish 5000 many years ago.

 

I'm thinking very seriously of jumping ship to Fios!



#139 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 09 September 2013 - 02:07 AM

Mike,

 

This is not the same problem that we are discussing in this thread.  In your example, the symptom would be that the recording started when it should have and ended when it should have.  On playback, however, at some point durnig playback the recording would just skip to the end.

 

I realize I mentioned a different problem in a moment of frustration. However I also did post the "Missed Beginning" problem in the proper thread which I started over 2 years ago. And nothing has been done to fix that problem either.

http://www.dbstalk.c...programs/page-3

 

I have a recently replaced new 722K & new LNB but those did not make any difference. What I've been trying to do lately before I turn everything off for the night is to FF through any new recordings to make they are all there. Once I was able to catch a re-broadcast & re-record it. Another time I had to watch tnt.com. No one should have to do that. I never know if I'm going to complete recording. In my case I get more beginnings starting late. Padding by 5 minutes usually solves the problem because they typically get cut by 3 minutes. But twice recordings have started later than the 5 minute padding could handle.

 

I put together a cheap HTPC to use as an OTA DVR. It has a $25 motherboard, a $50 CPU, & uses Media Center which is built into Windows. I've been using it for over a year & Its never missed or screwed up a recording. So why the #@&% can't Dish make something that's reliable?



#140 OFFLINE   d_cubed

d_cubed

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee,WI
Joined: Jul 18, 2011

Posted 09 September 2013 - 08:20 AM

Third 722k and same problem, but I found an easier way to verify if a show is complete.

 

Press DVR 3 times, find program, hit INFO. If less than 4 lines of info recording is bad.



#141 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 09 September 2013 - 11:01 AM

Well, with Dish ignoring the posts here, I contacted the Dish Rep that had been the liason with me trying to get the "Early Ending" issue resolved.  He told me that he had been contacted some time ago by someone from here and explained that he had been transferred to a different area.

 

My contact tells me that he pointed that person toward the group that has the lead on finding a solution.

 

I've got Fios coming out in two days to show me what's involved in installing the TV internal coax.

 

Bye.



#142 OFFLINE   kimesco_DISH

kimesco_DISH

    New Member

  • DISH Representative
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2011

Posted 12 September 2013 - 01:38 PM

We need to gather some additional information on this topic.  Please include the following information: The name of the program, what channel and time the program air on.  We will also need to know how the timers are setup.  To find this information, please go to menu, daily schedule, timers, select the timer with the issue, and choose edit.  From this screen we will need to know if the timer is setup to start early and end late, or if it is set to 0 minutes early and late, etc.  We need the length of the program that recorded shows in the DVR screen.  Also, please go to menu, and daily schedule, and list any events that start before and after the event in question, and list whether these events are also set to record early and end late.  Please note if you have deleted the timer and set it back up, and whether not this resolved the issue.  Finally, please let us know if the receiver is connected to the internet via an Ethernet connection.

 

Thanks,

Kim E.



#143 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 13 September 2013 - 06:17 AM

We need to gather some additional information on this topic.  Please include the following information: The name of the program, what channel and time the program air on.  We will also need to know how the timers are setup.  To find this information, please go to menu, daily schedule, timers, select the timer with the issue, and choose edit.  From this screen we will need to know if the timer is setup to start early and end late, or if it is set to 0 minutes early and late, etc.  We need the length of the program that recorded shows in the DVR screen.  Also, please go to menu, and daily schedule, and list any events that start before and after the event in question, and list whether these events are also set to record early and end late.  Please note if you have deleted the timer and set it back up, and whether not this resolved the issue.  Finally, please let us know if the receiver is connected to the internet via an Ethernet connection.

 

Thanks,

Kim E.

 

Have you read anything in this thread? That a lot of what you are asking has already been provided? That several other DIRT employees were looking into this? That engineers at Dish have already been contacted? That Dish has stated it is software problem? That this has been a problem for at least 3 years? That Dish's Executive Dept told me they know about the problem?

 

Did all these Dish people die that we have to start all over after 3 years?


Edited by Mike109, 13 September 2013 - 06:18 AM.


#144 OFFLINE   kimesco_DISH

kimesco_DISH

    New Member

  • DISH Representative
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2011

Posted 13 September 2013 - 02:27 PM

Mike109, et al.,

 

We need to continue to gather up to date information, so we can attempt to duplicate this issue.  That is why it's important to see if there is an internet connection via the Ethernet cable as well.  After 48 hours if we have not collected the data, it will be too old to upload this information and see.  That is why we continue to ask for updated information: we need this information to replicate the issue and find a solution.  At this time, we have been unable to duplicate the issue.  So, we need to find out what other timers you have setup to record, what is scheduled to record before and after the issue.  What the daily schedule shows, if the timer has been setup for a long time or if it is a newer timer, what exactly the timers are setup for in recording duration, etc.

 

Thanks,

Kim E.



#145 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:56 AM

Take a look at message #17 where Dish has uploaded the diagnostic logs in November 2010. What has Dish done about that?

Message #25 indicates the same poster as above has discussed this with a Dish engineer in December 2010. What had Dish done about it?

Message #28 - the same person heard from Dish Engineering who said it was software problem. The poster is sending his DVR to Dish with some corrupt recordings on it. What has Dish done to fix the problem?

Message #49 - I spoke with the Dish Executive Office in January 2011 and they said they are aware of the problem. Again, what is Dish doing to fix it?

Message #79 - A poster sent 6 emails to Dish Engineering & also to the CEO’s office. Yet no one from Dish had the decency to respond. No wonder nothing is getting fixed.

Message #101 is just one posting that supplied a lot of information to a DIRT member. But nothing ever happened.

Message 107 -  A DIRT member states this problem is on the Dish  "Known Receiver Issue" list.

Message #117 - I had a problem & Dish had set things up so I could send my logs to Dish when I had a problem. When a problem occurred I emailed the proper parties as I was instructed, but no one ever replied.

Message #123 - Poster provide DIRT member with Dish engineer who was working on the issue.

Now you’re the fourth DIRT member getting involved with a three year old problem that other DIRT members & Dish engineering & Dish’s Executive Office already know about. And Dish has the logs from almost 3 years ago from a poster’s DVR. So what the heck is Dish doing? It seems quite clear that Dish knows about the problem & is doing nothing to fix it. They are taking customer's money & not fixing a known problem. People are paying for a service & not getting it. Does it take a Class Action lawsuit to get things fixed?
 



#146 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:10 AM

Hi Mike109, I can absolutley understand your frustration and so see your point. I am sending you a PM to explain what we are trying to do and see if you are interested in our offer. Thank you!


Mary Catherine Brady
Social Media Business Operations Analyst

 

 


#147 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 586 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:53 PM

Hi Mike109, I can absolutley understand your frustration and so see your point. I am sending you a PM to explain what we are trying to do and see if you are interested in our offer. Thank you!

Why not share with the whole class?


  • Laxguy likes this

#148 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 30 September 2013 - 10:23 AM

Besides playback ending early I also have this problem of missed beginning of programs.
http://www.dbstalk.c...ng-of-programs/

Another DIRT person contacted me right before MaryB did. I provided my contact info & someone from Dish called me. We had a conversation about both problems & went over several DVR stats. Dish is going to access my DVR logs as I just had a missed beginning problem. It’s been a while since a playback ended early problem has occurred so I don’t know if anything will still be on the logs. I have not heard back regarding either issue but again the conversation just took place a few days ago. When I hear something I will post it.



#149 OFFLINE   Barrysb

Barrysb

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2004

Posted 02 March 2014 - 07:38 AM

Is anyone still reading this forum? I noticed the date of the last post. I've recently just began to experience this playback ending early problem on one of my two 722ks. Is there a fix I should know about?



#150 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 302 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 02 March 2014 - 01:06 PM

Barrysb,

 

Would you please PM me with the phone number on the account and what type of DVR you’re using?

 

Thanks






Protected By... spam firewall...And...