Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Recording playback ended early?


  • Please log in to reply
166 replies to this topic

#151 OFFLINE   dwforslund

dwforslund

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2003

Posted 11 May 2014 - 10:21 PM

We've had this stopping early for quite awhile.  We have the ViP722k with OTA tuner.   When it occurred last year we called Dish and they sent a replacement receiver in November 2013 and we used the existing OTA Tuner in the "new" receiver.  The old receiver  was VIP722K R0129013104    The new receiver is VIP722K R0129013104      The "new" receiver has had the same problem in stopping before the end of the program.  The program says it is the proper length and everything looks fine until the counter suddenly drops to 0 and stops playing.   I can jump back from the end and it says there is lots of time left (typically more than 20 minutes) but abruptly stops at the exact same point.   Once I believe that I was able to jump back and then fast forward and get past the stopping point, but I've not been able to reproduce that.   I think it is recording the entire program fine, but some signal is placed in the recording telling the recording to stop playing.   I can call for another RMA, but it seems that replacing the machine doesn't fix the problem.  It occurred now on a recording of Amazing Race from 5/4/2014 with about 22 minutes to go.   From this forum, this problem has been going on for a number of years, with no apparent solution.  We have been Dish customers for more than 12 years and this is the only DVR we've had that has this problem.   It seems to be endemic which would appear to point to a software problem.   It isn't reproducible and seems to occur randomly and occasionally.   Is this to infrequent for Dish to reproduce in the Lab?   I still would like to see a solution to this problem.  



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#152 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 20 May 2014 - 08:19 PM

I'm still having this problem on my my third DVR. And had it on the other two. I just had it happen again last night. My wife was watching "The Voice" which was recorded on the 722K with the OTA module. Playback ended about 20 minutes into the 2 hour program. And my friend also has this problem once in a while.The Dish reps on the forum keep asking for more information but it's not a hardware problem.

 

My other problem is recordings starting late. And I don't mean because the broadcaster is off on the program times. I have pages of documentation & many photos of the TV screen showing the History & that the Dish Start times are off, & sometimes up to an hour late. And Dish knows about this. But I don't think these problems are ever going to be fixed.



#153 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 06 September 2014 - 05:59 AM

Short version -

Several months ago I managed to establish contact with Dish’s advanced technical support dept. They sent me a USB thumb drive that was set to record my logs when a problem occurred. It took a while & eventually my DVR started a recording late & therefore missed the beginning of a program. I sent the logs to Dish. Eventually they got one of their DVRs to start a recording late. They were to fix the problem in the next software rollout which unfortunately did not happen until this week.

 

They said the problem occurs on the 722K and mostly with those who have the optional OTA module installed, which is a very small percentage of units. It supposedly is a timer problem between the OTA tuners & the satellite tuners.

 

I asked what about the problem where playback ends early & they think it is part of the same timer problem.

 

Software version 806 which just came out will supposedly & hopefully fix both the missed beginning and the playback ending early problems.


Edited by Mike109, 06 September 2014 - 06:00 AM.


#154 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 581 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 07 September 2014 - 01:31 AM

As posted below Mike109's post on the other thread, since I posted here too before:

 

Lucky you. And I thought I had contacts and that things were getting done. Guess not. Are they looking at all the boxes? Even after moving to the Hopper, mostly because of the cutoff programming on a 722 and 625, we still have these same problems and more. Seems to be inherent across platforms. Over the past couple of weeks programs that recorded halfway decently since the beginning of the season, on their last or near to last recording got chopped off or completely failed and there is only one way to deal with it, and that is to watch them through DISH via a web browser, not VOD on the boxes or the DISHanywhere app. It looks as though most of them are available to the general public through the DISH website, but not the boxes or apps. BUT you can watch other premium stuff through the app that you can't on the boxes though. After not being able to grasp the illogical scope of this last night, I just gave up. We've got several devices that have the means, Netflix, Amazon, to go back and see all missed episodes. Much easier than dealing with messed up timers.

 

Thanks for your persistence in getting as far as you did. I'm very curious to see how this works out. Have been waiting for many years.


Edited by FarmerBob, 07 September 2014 - 01:32 AM.


#155 OFFLINE   dwforslund

dwforslund

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2003

Posted 23 September 2014 - 08:45 PM

I hadn't had a problem in quite awhile with my ViP722K, but tonight the OTA recording of Jeopardy cut off with about 8 minutes showing left on the recording.    We have had  slightly different problem in the past few days when we play a program that is still being recorded.  There will be a hesitation with the forward arrow showing and then proceeding.  Sometimes it will say it showing live tv when, in fact, it is still behind the current recording point.  Moving backward and forward seems to get it back in sync.  I don't know if this is related to the stopping early, or not, but it is a new behavior and somewhat annoying.   It is like people are stuttering and clipping what they are saying.    I don't know the version of the system we are on but I assume it is current.   This stuttering behavior seems to only occur with recordings underway and some kind of conflict between the recording signal and the playing.  



#156 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 28 September 2014 - 10:03 PM

FarmerBob, et al,

 

Sorry for the late response but I was out of town.

I do not know if Dish is/was looking at all the other boxes. I only have the 722K & was told by a couple Dish people that the recording starting late problem usually happened with the 722K DVRs using the optional OTA tuner module. That would imply they have received at least some complaints on other DVRs.

From postings I have seen it appears the recording-ending-early problem is more common than the recording-starting-late problem. However in my situation I have experienced about 50 occurrences of recordings starting late (and some not at all) and maybe 5 or so recordings ending early. I’d have to go back & look at my notes to the exact figures but missed beginnings far outnumbered cutoff short recordings.

So from my perspective I concentrated on getting the missed beginning problem fixed. Dish said it was a timer problem & “thought” the recording-ending-early problem was related to the same timer issue.

 

We'll see how software 806 works out.
 



#157 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 28 September 2014 - 10:06 PM

I hadn't had a problem in quite awhile with my ViP722K, but tonight the OTA recording of Jeopardy cut off with about 8 minutes showing left on the recording.    We have had  slightly different problem in the past few days when we play a program that is still being recorded.  There will be a hesitation with the forward arrow showing and then proceeding.  Sometimes it will say it showing live tv when, in fact, it is still behind the current recording point.  Moving backward and forward seems to get it back in sync.  I don't know if this is related to the stopping early, or not, but it is a new behavior and somewhat annoying.   It is like people are stuttering and clipping what they are saying.    I don't know the version of the system we are on but I assume it is current.   This stuttering behavior seems to only occur with recordings underway and some kind of conflict between the recording signal and the playing.  

 

Did your 722K get the 806 software?

If so then perhaps it does not fix the recoding-ending-early problem.



#158 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 581 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 29 September 2014 - 12:02 AM

FarmerBob, et al,

 

Sorry for the late response but I was out of town.

I do not know if Dish is/was looking at all the other boxes. I only have the 722K & was told by a couple Dish people that the recording starting late problem usually happened with the 722K DVRs using the optional OTA tuner module. That would imply they have received at least some complaints on other DVRs.

From postings I have seen it appears the recording-ending-early problem is more common than the recording-starting-late problem. However in my situation I have experienced about 50 occurrences of recordings starting late (and some not at all) and maybe 5 or so recordings ending early. I’d have to go back & look at my notes to the exact figures but missed beginnings far outnumbered cutoff short recordings.

So from my perspective I concentrated on getting the missed beginning problem fixed. Dish said it was a timer problem & “thought” the recording-ending-early problem was related to the same timer issue.

 

We'll see how software 806 works out.
 

 

I was always told that it was in my head. Even though I have hundreds of screen shots of the issue. Glad to see that they acknowledged there is an issue. Although their take may not be entirely what's happening. Looks like variations of it crosses product lines. I gave up dealing with it on the 722 (not K and only a secluded happening) and traded out for a HwS system where we're still having early end, late start issues. But once I turned off PTAT and that leaving the timers freer I'm getting great over lap which seems to help things out. Now I just have to deal with a second year of rain/snow fade. So there is no early end or late start, just no programming at all. We'll have to see how much of this gets resolved and how soon . . .



#159 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 29 September 2014 - 03:26 AM

When I had Comcast cable I went through several of their DVRs due to missed recordings. Maybe those issues might have been resolved with their last DVR but the cost got to be too much so I switched to Dish. Then Dish's DVRs have given me problems. I put together a basic HTPC for OTA recording & it always works. If a cheap built PC running Windows 7 Media Center works then how come Comcast & Dish can't make a reliable DVR? Oh well. A Comcast salesperson was going door-to-door by me & made me an offer that's hard to resist & I am considering it.



#160 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 01 October 2014 - 01:41 AM

I just watched a recent recording where playback ended 16 minutes early. Therefore software version 806 did not fix that problem.



#161 OFFLINE   dwforslund

dwforslund

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2003

Posted 16 January 2015 - 05:56 PM

My VIP722K does this periodically.   At the same time on OTA broadcasts (only), when watching them live but delayed will hesitate and move on with the forward arrow briefly showing up on the screen and a loss of a fraction of a second of sound.   When I press skip forward it says it is live.  I have to press skip backward and the skip forward to move forward in time.    The other day the failure occurred when watching a program being recorded.  At that point the DVR skips back a few seconds moves forward until it hits the drop point.  This proceeds on an endless cycle unless I stop it.   At the end of the record time which says it has recorded the entire program, it quits when hitting that drop point.   I've keep this recording should anyone from Dish want to see it.  If I reboot the machine it may work for a while without this pausing issue, but then it occurs again a little while later.  It is making it difficult to what live delayed programs with the OTA tuner.   We had this problem with our older VIP722 which was swapped out because of the problem, but the VIP722K seems to behave the same.



#162 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,549 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 17 January 2015 - 11:26 PM

This could either be a failing hard drive (except that it would most likely occur on all programming) or it could be a momentary loss of OTA signal or it could be the station's PSIP glitches and messes with the 722's brain, or it could be a tuner problem.

 

Since the anomaly is being recorded, it is probably signal or tuner related.

 

Is it any one particular OTA channel or is it random.

 

Randomness points toward the tuner being the culprit.

 

If it is always the same station, it is probably the station at fault.


Edited by Jim5506, 17 January 2015 - 11:27 PM.

Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#163 OFFLINE   dwforslund

dwforslund

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2003

Posted 18 January 2015 - 11:02 PM

I don't know how to tell which OTA tuner is being used.   Certainly not after it was recorded.  I don't know if it is on all the stations, as we don't watch all the local stations.  It is only on OTA and not on the Satellite local feed.   I don't think it is the station as the problem seems to not occur for a while after a reboot.    I wonder if there is a way to test the OTA tuner?



#164 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,549 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 20 January 2015 - 07:46 AM

If rebooting solves the problem, you have just tested the OTA tuner.

 

You might try removing the MT-2 module and then reseating it.


Edited by Jim5506, 20 January 2015 - 07:47 AM.

Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#165 OFFLINE   kucharsk

kucharsk

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 489 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 08 February 2015 - 01:20 AM

I've had this happen on two different occasions with a 722.

 

I think it's just a DISH bug.



#166 OFFLINE   dwforslund

dwforslund

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2003

Posted 09 February 2015 - 12:16 PM

Dish sent me a new OTA module and I've not seen the problem since.



#167 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 15 February 2015 - 05:17 PM

Incredible lack of responsiveness by Dish.

 

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:56 AM

Take a look at message #17 where Dish has uploaded the diagnostic logs in November 2010. What has Dish done about that?

Message #25 indicates the same poster as above has discussed this with a Dish engineer in December 2010. What had Dish done about it?

Message #28 - the same person heard from Dish Engineering who said it was software problem. The poster is sending his DVR to Dish with some corrupt recordings on it. What has Dish done to fix the problem?

Message #49 - I spoke with the Dish Executive Office in January 2011 and they said they are aware of the problem. Again, what is Dish doing to fix it?

Message #79 - A poster sent 6 emails to Dish Engineering & also to the CEO’s office. Yet no one from Dish had the decency to respond. No wonder nothing is getting fixed.

Message #101 is just one posting that supplied a lot of information to a DIRT member. But nothing ever happened.

Message 107 -  A DIRT member states this problem is on the Dish  "Known Receiver Issue" list.

Message #117 - I had a problem & Dish had set things up so I could send my logs to Dish when I had a problem. When a problem occurred I emailed the proper parties as I was instructed, but no one ever replied.

Message #123 - Poster provide DIRT member with Dish engineer who was working on the issue.

Now you’re the fourth DIRT member getting involved with a three year old problem that other DIRT members & Dish engineering & Dish’s Executive Office already know about. And Dish has the logs from almost 3 years ago from a poster’s DVR. So what the heck is Dish doing? It seems quite clear that Dish knows about the problem & is doing nothing to fix it. They are taking customer's money & not fixing a known problem. People are paying for a service & not getting it. Does it take a Class Action lawsuit to get things fixed?






Protected By... spam firewall...And...