Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

iPhone based remote control for DirecTV DVR


  • Please log in to reply
278 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   brian188

brian188

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 137 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 20 November 2010 - 09:08 PM

Most items work fine on Samsung Epic with an HR20-700.

Local channels only thing that doesn't seem to work. They aren't listing even with my zip. And missing some movie channels, Showtime, etc. but assume you don't have them set up if you don't get em.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 20 November 2010 - 09:52 PM

Doesn't list any locals for me in zip 54650.
2 - HR20-100s
1 - HR21-100
1 - HR21-700
1 - HR34 Genie
1 - H24-100
1 - H24-200
SWM16/DECA

#28 OFFLINE   waltz49

waltz49

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2010

Posted 21 November 2010 - 12:19 AM

Thanks HoTat2. I think this fixed. I was inadvertently restricting the locals list to those in my own zip code. Station names should appear as text since I don't have associations to networks. When I get to adding customization, we'll be able to knock out those shopping or alternate language channels as desired (but that might be a little while yet).

#29 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 21 November 2010 - 07:25 AM

I like the app just for the fact I can mess with my son.


Replace "son" with "wife" and that's exactly why I tried so hard to get this to work for me. :lol:

#30 OFFLINE   BurnX

BurnX

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2006

Posted 21 November 2010 - 11:07 AM

Works with iPhone. Works with Firefox 4.0b7.

Had an issue with Chrome v8.0.552.200 beta. The last 2 octets of the IP address are cleared from the DVR's IP Address box when clicking the set button. This causes the needs Valid IP message to pop up.

Overall awesome job!! Thanks for putting this together.

#31 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,173 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 21 November 2010 - 12:05 PM

I'm not home to try it, so I put in 127.0.0.1 in the IP address box just so I can proceed and look around. But when I hit set, the IP address changes to 127.0 and a box comes up saying invalid IP. Every time I correct the IP address, as soon as I hit set it goes away.

Java is fully updated, not sure if that matters (i know some java updates can break legacy code).

I'll try later tonight on my iphone when I get home.

#32 OFFLINE   bleggett29

bleggett29

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2008

Posted 21 November 2010 - 12:32 PM

I'm also having difficulty setting the IP address in Chrome v8.0.552.200 (last 2 octets disappearing).
It does, however, work great on my Droid Incredible over WiFi.
Also works OK in IE 8.
Occasional locals missing from guide(ZIP 20653) but I'm sure it's due to filtering. Currently only missing CH 7 WJLA which is showing paid programming.
HR21-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Samsung LN40B530 40" HDTV -- HDMI -- Living Room
HR22-100 -> cheap 22" HDTV -- HDMI -- Kids Room
H21-100 -> Samsung 26" HDTV -- Component -- Master Bed Room

Slimline-5 -> SWM-8

Unsupported MRV (100M ethernet LAN)

#33 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,931 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 November 2010 - 01:03 PM

Thanks HoTat2. I think this fixed. I was inadvertently restricting the locals list to those in my own zip code. Station names should appear as text since I don't have associations to networks. When I get to adding customization, we'll be able to knock out those shopping or alternate language channels as desired (but that might be a little while yet).


Yes that "practically," for me anyhow :) did the trick since the channels still not coming up, or consistently up, are almost all Spanish speaking stations I don't watch anyhow. But for the record, right now the channels not presently showing are.

KSCI 18, KWHY 22, KMEX 34, KFTR 46, KVEA 52, KAZA 54, KJLA 57, KLCS 58-2, KRCA 62, and KHIZ 64.

Still thanks-a-much for the work so far and love the additional remote functions you've recently added I see.

#34 OFFLINE   ciurca

ciurca

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 428 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2009

Posted 21 November 2010 - 06:53 PM

My thoughts...

With a little more layout, the keypad tab and the controls tab can be just one tab.

I downloaded the page and files onto my local machine and ran it from there. The app worked just as it does off your server except the channels page wouldn't fetch. I'm sure since this is just in early beta, you could easily work on that coding. So, I think it could be a great app. I'd download a finished app and be happy to pay a buck for it, rather than deal with an ad crawl. Keep up the evolution of it.
HR34
HR23
Slingbox Pro HD

Twitter -> @saltwater_rider
Facebook -> facebook.com/craig.ciurca

#35 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,173 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 21 November 2010 - 08:05 PM

Ok I'm home now and it works great on my iphone. Great job! Many props to you!

Nice platform to build upon. It can only get fine tuned from here!

#36 OFFLINE   jmh139

jmh139

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2007

Posted 21 November 2010 - 08:38 PM

Great Job, works faster than the DTV remote on my iPhone to my HR20-100. My kids love this with their iPhones!

#37 OFFLINE   bleggett29

bleggett29

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2008

Posted 21 November 2010 - 08:53 PM

My thoughts...

With a little more layout, the keypad tab and the controls tab can be just one tab.

I downloaded the page and files onto my local machine and ran it from there. The app worked just as it does off your server except the channels page wouldn't fetch. I'm sure since this is just in early beta, you could easily work on that coding. So, I think it could be a great app. I'd download a finished app and be happy to pay a buck for it, rather than deal with an ad crawl. Keep up the evolution of it.

You can edit the html file to have a hard link to the php file on the OPs server. I spent several hours over night trying to get Chrome to work. A lot of it was editing a local copy of the html.
HR21-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Samsung LN40B530 40" HDTV -- HDMI -- Living Room
HR22-100 -> cheap 22" HDTV -- HDMI -- Kids Room
H21-100 -> Samsung 26" HDTV -- Component -- Master Bed Room

Slimline-5 -> SWM-8

Unsupported MRV (100M ethernet LAN)

#38 OFFLINE   waltz49

waltz49

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2010

Posted 21 November 2010 - 09:30 PM

Chrome chopping off the IP address should be fixed.

Geek note: Looks like Chrome and Safari interpret the HTML5 standard for input type="number" differently. iPhones just change the keypad to numbers but Chrome validates a real number which, of course, can't have multiple decimals. The fix was to use type=number only on ipod/iphone/ipad. Yuck... but I think it should work.

Also, I did filter out a few of the non-English channels in some areas. Since this is really an early version, I'm not providing a means for users to do that and so I thought it reasonable to filter out the non-English channels most current users would not care to see in the lists.

#39 OFFLINE   waltz49

waltz49

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2010

Posted 21 November 2010 - 09:36 PM

With a little more layout, the keypad tab and the controls tab can be just one tab.

I originally had it that way, but I found that there was too much scrolling around and it was not intuitive.

It does need some work on button placement though. For example, if you accidentally change channels, you can only find the 'previous channel' button on the keypad page. I added a temporary 'prev' button on the listings but I still find myself looking for the previous button. So maybe a frequently used button bar or something.

One tip though, you can disable sending commands to the DVR with the 'disable' button on the info page.

#40 OFFLINE   bleggett29

bleggett29

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2008

Posted 21 November 2010 - 10:45 PM

Chrome chopping off the IP address should be fixed.

Geek note: Looks like Chrome and Safari interpret the HTML5 standard for input type="number" differently. iPhones just change the keypad to numbers but Chrome validates a real number which, of course, can't have multiple decimals. The fix was to use type=number only on ipod/iphone/ipad. Yuck... but I think it should work.


Also, I did filter out a few of the non-English channels in some areas. Since this is really an early version, I'm not providing a means for users to do that and so I thought it reasonable to filter out the non-English channels most current users would not care to see in the lists.

Thanks. :D
if (!apple) { // God why can't browsers be standard!?!?!
       document.getElementById('rmipaddr').type="text";
       document.getElementById('zipCode').type="text";
Good to know for future references.;)
HR21-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Samsung LN40B530 40" HDTV -- HDMI -- Living Room
HR22-100 -> cheap 22" HDTV -- HDMI -- Kids Room
H21-100 -> Samsung 26" HDTV -- Component -- Master Bed Room

Slimline-5 -> SWM-8

Unsupported MRV (100M ethernet LAN)

#41 OFFLINE   ciurca

ciurca

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 428 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2009

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:56 AM

I originally had it that way, but I found that there was too much scrolling around and it was not intuitive.

It does need some work on button placement though. For example, if you accidentally change channels, you can only find the 'previous channel' button on the keypad page. I added a temporary 'prev' button on the listings but I still find myself looking for the previous button. So maybe a frequently used button bar or something.

One tip though, you can disable sending commands to the DVR with the 'disable' button on the info page.



INHO, there seemed to be too many repeat functions on the two screens, that is why I mentioned it....But if you cut out the repeat buttons on the 2 tabs, you could make the buttons bigger (or additional functions) which would help with some of us with bigger fingers or just crappy touch screen dexterity. (I love/hate my X Droid touchscreen due to speed of input compared to a keyboard)
HR34
HR23
Slingbox Pro HD

Twitter -> @saltwater_rider
Facebook -> facebook.com/craig.ciurca

#42 OFFLINE   NewForceFiveFan

NewForceFiveFan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 213 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2010

Posted 22 November 2010 - 12:15 PM

Sweet! Just ordered Verizon DSL friday night so I can start using On Demand. Now I've just got to wait for the dsl modem/router combo and filters to arrive before I can hook it all up. This little web app just sweetens the pot. If you could make it into a full iTunes App I'd even pay for it. You should file for the software rights to prevent D* from stealing it and marketing it as their own. If they want an official Directv app of it they should have to license the software from you.

#43 OFFLINE   bleggett29

bleggett29

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2008

Posted 22 November 2010 - 02:25 PM

I know you're in the early stages of this but any possible way of including a "Kids" category in the channel guide? I've already tested the following on a local copy and seems to work fine.
channelHeader('Kids');
    station("290");
    station("291");
    station("292");
    station("293");
    station("294");
    station("295");
    station("296");
    station("297");
    station("298");
    station("299");
    station("300");
    station("301");
    station("302");
    station("303");

HR21-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Samsung LN40B530 40" HDTV -- HDMI -- Living Room
HR22-100 -> cheap 22" HDTV -- HDMI -- Kids Room
H21-100 -> Samsung 26" HDTV -- Component -- Master Bed Room

Slimline-5 -> SWM-8

Unsupported MRV (100M ethernet LAN)

#44 OFFLINE   waltz49

waltz49

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2010

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:45 PM

I added a kids and sports section and I'm trying to move channel lists to the server in preparation for customization capability so those of you looking at the html won't see those new lists.

I've changed the app to remove the selections of what to show from the info page and instead have collapsible headers in the list. Clicking on a header now expands or collapses the category so it is easier to scroll through the list and skip stuff you don't want.

If you want the adult category, add ?adult to the URL.

Sorry, for those looking at the source, the code is getting temporarily convoluted and uglier and is a little slower right now.

#45 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:46 PM

My compliments! Very nice job. I just checked it out first on my main computer (wireless to my router) and FireFox. (WinXP Home). Worked first try.

Then went to the iPOD Touch and aside from fatfingering the IP, it worked first try too. Very snappy and functional. I'm going to do a bunch of playing around.

Very much like the "previous" button. I could have some real fun witih this. For separate DVRs it would simply be a matter of saving a web page (configured with the IP of that specific DVR) for each one, and changing the description to reflect the DVR "hame". That way, I could be up in the bedroom and have access to any DVR in the house, using nothing but the iPOD Touch!

Outstanding. Please continue to develop it, as you have a real winner here!
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#46 OFFLINE   bleggett29

bleggett29

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2008

Posted 22 November 2010 - 10:17 PM

I have some missing icons for network/local channels. All in 68x38pix PNG. I believe I've kept the same naming scheme you are using.
The first one (ETV_SD.png) is actually MHz Networks/MHz Worldview (local Ch 56 WNVC, D* Ch 2183 MHzW). It looks like D* still has the old network name for local Ch 56 (ETV) listed but has the correct listing as MHzW for Ch 2183.
The second icon is Telefutura (TFT), and the third is Univision (UNI).

Attached Thumbnails

  • ETV_SD.png
  • TFT_SD.png
  • UNI_SD.png

HR21-700 -> Onkyo TX-SR607 -> Samsung LN40B530 40" HDTV -- HDMI -- Living Room
HR22-100 -> cheap 22" HDTV -- HDMI -- Kids Room
H21-100 -> Samsung 26" HDTV -- Component -- Master Bed Room

Slimline-5 -> SWM-8

Unsupported MRV (100M ethernet LAN)

#47 OFFLINE   VandyCWG

VandyCWG

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 409 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 23 November 2010 - 12:02 AM

I run my on webserver, any way to get your program to run on my server? I would love to set up DVR specific addresses.

Spring Hill, TN (Nashville DMA)

Receiving Equipment: SWM 3 Slimline | Full DECA cloud
Living Room: Mini C31 | LG 55" LED
Bonus Room: HR44-700 | Sharp 70" 3D LED | Sony STR-DN1040 | PS3 | Slingbox Pro-HD | Slingbox SOLO
Master Bedroom: HR24-500 | Westinghouse 40"
Man Cave: Mini C31 | 
LG 55" LED
Computer/Networking: Windows 7 /WMP12 | Netgear R6300 | 50/5 Charter HSI
Mobile Phones Verizon - Droid Razr MAXX, Rooted 4.1.1


#48 OFFLINE   waltz49

waltz49

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2010

Posted 23 November 2010 - 12:26 AM

VandyCWG: I'll be setting up customization of channel categories etc but for now I'm changing the server backend very frequently. I plan to move all the lists out of the html and onto the server so that you can have individual categories. I hadn't thought of different lists for different DVRs, but I can see why that might be useful.

bleggett29: I'm actually filtering out some of the non-English stations for now (see above) but eventually I hope to build a table of some of the local stations and their icons. I did add the ones you posted though. I'd suggest running the html from my server for a while because the backend changes are paired with html changes.

#49 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 23 November 2010 - 08:26 AM

waltz - Fantastic! Getting better every day! Thanks for all your efforts.
2 - HR20-100s
1 - HR21-100
1 - HR21-700
1 - HR34 Genie
1 - H24-100
1 - H24-200
SWM16/DECA

#50 OFFLINE   CincySaint

CincySaint

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2008

Posted 23 November 2010 - 09:21 AM

This is fantastic. Thanks for sharing it with the community. I'd be happy to contribute a few bucks for this.

Looking forward to the customizablenversion.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...