Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

1000.2 or 1000.4


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kcolg30

kcolg30

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 255 posts
Joined: May 11, 2010

Posted 22 November 2010 - 04:09 PM

I live in FL. Can I use the bigger 1000.4 dish instead of the 1000.2 to increase my signal past 70?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,824 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 22 November 2010 - 04:20 PM

I live in FL. Can I use the bigger 1000.4 dish instead of the 1000.2 to increase my signal past 70?

The 1000.4 is the designated dish for most parts of Florida.

70 is pretty high as it is; what makes you think you need higher?

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#3 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,694 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 22 November 2010 - 04:35 PM

You're getting the Western Arc - you don't need a 1000.4 - anything that would allow that wouldn't buy you that much anyway.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#4 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 22 November 2010 - 09:17 PM

When the Dish Network installer came out to put in my new Dish Network 1K.2 dish he told me to to watch the picture,not the signal level.If you see pixilation during good weather you have a problem.;)

Edited by Jhon69, 23 November 2010 - 08:04 AM.


#5 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 23 November 2010 - 10:17 AM

Understand that Dish recalibrated the signal meters by chopping off about 35 points, in order to make the receiver's meter match the levels reported by the Super Sat Buddy satellite meter that the in-house techs use. So, 70 on the meter today is equal to 105 on the old meter (which read up to 125). At that point, there really isn't much room for improvement.

Heavy, thick, moisture-laden clouds that you get in storms can still drop the signal strength to the point of signal loss even with a larger dish, but a larger dish can over-drive the LNB on a clear day, so you can never totally prevent rain fade.

Commercial & Residential Satellite System Design & Installation
DirecTV, Dish Network & Free-To-Air


#6 OFFLINE   kcolg30

kcolg30

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 255 posts
Joined: May 11, 2010

Posted 23 November 2010 - 04:09 PM

I guess I'll leave it as-is. My 1000.2 with 110,119,129 LNBF

#7 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 24 November 2010 - 09:19 AM

I guess I'll leave it as-is. My 1000.2 with 110,119,129 LNBF



With the 1K.4 dish being basically 2 inches larger than the 1K.2 it's not much of a change.Now if you can afford to get 3-30 inch dishes(one for each satellite) that would give some relief from fading or have a 10 or 12 foot dish installed.:eek2:;)




spam firewall