Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Signal Strength


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   drjake

drjake

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2002

Posted 14 January 2011 - 05:33 PM

AFAIK WBBM-DT hasn't been on ch 3 for almost a couple years now, they're on channel 12 now, VHF-hi band.


Still VHF and less than stellar.
Drjake

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,205 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 14 January 2011 - 06:17 PM

Still VHF and less than stellar.


Yea, but still a whole lot better then ch 3. When I lived in Mundelein it was a challenge to pull them in, especially when they were at reduced power for a while due to interferrance with the cable customers around the Hancock.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#28 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 30 October 2011 - 02:20 PM

I recently read somewhere that Dish DVRs might struggle somewhat when recording some OTA content because of their high bitrate signals. I can’t find the posting or article at the moment, but it did not go into any detail. My thought is perhaps the DVR might not be designed for these higher bitrates. If I understand correctly, Dish satellite signals are more compressed than OTA and they are only 1440x1080 instead of the full HD of 1920x1080.

OTA CBS/WBBM is 1080i and has no sub-channels. Typically this uses 80-90 minutes of HDD capacity when recording a 60 minute program, which is about double compared to recording CBS from satellite. Due to the high bitrate, does anyone think this may be the cause of the green pixels?

I'm not saying multi-path is not the problem. After reading the article it made me curious if other factors might also be involved.

#29 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,349 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 October 2011 - 03:38 PM

I can't say it isn't a problem ever... but I can say that I record from OTA all the time, and have never seen an issue unless I had a signal drop due to weather or something else.

I've never seen the receiver struggling to keep up with the OTA bitrates.

Keep in mind that the oldest Dish HD receivers were slower than today's DVRs... and the oldest Dish HD receivers were in service before Dish started to reduce the bitrates.

Older customers remember some of those first Dish HD channels that were 1920x1080 and at full bitrate because they only had a few HD channels back then and no reason to starve them.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#30 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 30 October 2011 - 09:02 PM

Transfer rates on USB 2.0 or eSATA is way higher than max stream rates from even the most aggressive OTA station.

#31 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 05 June 2012 - 06:25 AM

The short version -

Dish did some re-wiring. Previously they diplexed the sat & OTA coax and it ran through several diplexers & splitters. They now separated the 2 feeds & eliminated a couple diplexers & replaced a 4-way splitter with a 2-way. CBS OTA signal strength increased from 79-81 up to 89-91. Gains were made on other channels also, but CBS was the main concern. If an antenna amp is needed at least it now can be powered via the coax, but I don't think it will come to that.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...