Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

No Locals On Sony A1


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   spec2

spec2

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2007

Posted 05 December 2010 - 02:03 PM

Is there any reason why a Sony A1 would no longer pick up locals (Atlanta). DirecTV has given me conflicting answers. Phone support said it should since SD locals for ATL are on the 101 but a tech visiting my parents house said this model does not support the slimline 3 antenna (they have two newer HD receivers). The A1 gets locals on the 900s and just gives a black screen w/ "searching for satellite signal" message. It gets all other channels except for SportsSouth.

If the A1 is too old my parents have a deactivated Samsung SIR-TS160. If I reactivated this unit would it get SD locals for ATL?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 05 December 2010 - 03:06 PM

DirecTV will happily replace that ancient A1 with a new D12 for free...

Commercial & Residential Satellite System Design & Installation
DirecTV, Dish Network & Free-To-Air


#3 OFFLINE   spec2

spec2

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2007

Posted 05 December 2010 - 03:31 PM

DirecTV will happily replace that ancient A1 with a new D12 for free...


of course they will -- they get a $5/ mo lease fee. I'm trying to avoid that because the A1 & Sammy receivers are owned units. Will DTV sell me one outright?

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 December 2010 - 03:47 PM

Is there any reason why a Sony A1 would no longer pick up locals (Atlanta). DirecTV has given me conflicting answers. Phone support said it should since SD locals for ATL are on the 101 but a tech visiting my parents house said this model does not support the slimline 3 antenna (they have two newer HD receivers). The A1 gets locals on the 900s and just gives a black screen w/ "searching for satellite signal" message. It gets all other channels except for SportsSouth.

If the A1 is too old my parents have a deactivated Samsung SIR-TS160. If I reactivated this unit would it get SD locals for ATL?


Take a look into gct's maps here and find where is your local first.

#5 OFFLINE   Crystal Pepsi Ball

Crystal Pepsi Ball

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 253 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2004

Posted 05 December 2010 - 04:24 PM

of course they will -- they get a $5/ mo lease fee. I'm trying to avoid that because the A1 & Sammy receivers are owned units. Will DTV sell me one outright?


If this is your only active receiver, and you replace the A1 with the new D12, it will show a $5 leased charge as a primary, but then a $5 primary lease receiver credit.

#6 OFFLINE   spec2

spec2

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2007

Posted 05 December 2010 - 04:34 PM

If this is your only active receiver, and you replace the A1 with the new D12, it will show a $5 leased charge as a primary, but then a $5 primary lease receiver credit.


It's the 3rd receiver - Also have 2 leased HD receivers, so already get the one "lease fee free" credit.

#7 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,759 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 05 December 2010 - 06:20 PM

of course they will -- they get a $5/ mo lease fee. I'm trying to avoid that because the A1 & Sammy receivers are owned units. Will DTV sell me one outright?


So now you have ancient A1 receiver with $5 mirror fee, directv replaces with working D12 with $5 lease fee. Same cost per month.
aka Tivoburkee

#8 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 05 December 2010 - 07:42 PM

of course they will -- they get a $5/ mo lease fee. I'm trying to avoid that because the A1 & Sammy receivers are owned units. Will DTV sell me one outright?


Each additional receiver beyond the 1st one on the account costs you $5 per month, if its owned it shows as a mirrored programming fee, if it's leased it shows as a lease fee, the money is the same....ask D* for a replacement model as that A1 is virtually useless now....

#9 OFFLINE   spec2

spec2

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2007

Posted 05 December 2010 - 08:24 PM

Each additional receiver beyond the 1st one on the account costs you $5 per month, if its owned it shows as a mirrored programming fee, if it's leased it shows as a lease fee, the money is the same....ask D* for a replacement model as that A1 is virtually useless now....


OK. Thanks for clarifying that.

#10 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 721 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 06 December 2010 - 02:09 PM

I got a Sony A55 going strong...with locals, but on its own 30" non-slimline dish antenna.

My locals are on the 101 Milwaukee DMA. If you have legacy equipment on a SWiM slimline-3, it probably will not work unless you have a SWM multiswitch with legacy ports.

11 DirecTV HD-DVR's including a Genie and GenieGO


#11 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 December 2010 - 03:22 PM

I did ask OP to find what sat carry his SD locals, but he didn't bother to do his legwork.

#12 OFFLINE   dishrich

dishrich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,541 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 06 December 2010 - 04:49 PM

Well since his post DID say Atlanta locals, I'm pretty sure they ARE on 101... ;)
My guess would be the parents have a SWM slimline, which of course will NOT work at all on this receiver...or the receiver is just old & should be replaced. (my suggestion)

Edited by dishrich, 06 December 2010 - 04:55 PM.


#13 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 December 2010 - 05:32 PM

If he could check parent's DVR setup screen for SWM setup, then we could reduce our fantasies. :)

#14 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 06 December 2010 - 06:01 PM

Well since his post DID say Atlanta locals, I'm pretty sure they ARE on 101... ;)
My guess would be the parents have a SWM slimline, which of course will NOT work at all on this receiver...or the receiver is just old & should be replaced. (my suggestion)


If he could check parent's DVR setup screen for SWM setup, then we could reduce our fantasies. :)


Doesn't matter. If it was on a SWiM, it wouldn't work at all. No locals, no base channels, nothing. 771s on everything.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here




Protected By... spam firewall...And...