Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DISH Network Local Channels List


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 40,298 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 05 January 2011 - 04:25 PM

From this afternoon's Uplink Report ...
7666 WALBD ALBANY, GA (ABC) (17) (110° 25s3 (South Georgia) SD Albany, GA market *TEST* Hidden)
replaces 7666 WTXL TALLAHASSEE, FL (ABC) SV* as the channel being tested for ABC.

This is a subchannel ABC ... and according to the WALB website the subchannel is becoming "THIS"? Perhaps an ABC/THIS affiliate subchannel or a third subchannel coming?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#22 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 16 February 2011 - 11:11 AM

From a quick count, there are 26 markets with one or more HD stations uplinked and not available. I might be wrong on the count. We will see how many of those, if any, are turned on by tomorrow.

I also note that Lake Charles, LA, has no SD stations offered, only HD. Why is that?

#23 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 40,298 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 16 February 2011 - 11:28 AM

From a quick count, there are 26 markets with one or more HD stations uplinked and not available. I might be wrong on the count. We will see how many of those, if any, are turned on by tomorrow.

Some of them may be disputes where DISH had permission to carry the SD feed but could not obtain permission to carry the HD. The important threshold for DISH is that they offer HD carriage to all stations in 30% of markets ... not that stations accept carriage.

I also note that Lake Charles, LA, has no SD stations offered, only HD. Why is that?

A small market with no non-SD channels to carry. It appears they only have three stations, one apparently in dispute.

#24 OFFLINE   bnewt

bnewt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 368 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2003

Posted 16 February 2011 - 11:50 AM

When does Dish plan to add other HD locals? In my area, the local CW & WMYO + PBS is available via OTA in HD, but not on Dish.

********************************************
May God Guide and Guard the USA!
********************************************


#25 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 40,298 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 16 February 2011 - 02:46 PM

We will see how many of those, if any, are turned on by tomorrow.

How about 16 of them?

Channels Now Available
8169 WBPH (60 Local) 119° 4sB17 (New York) SD Philadelphia, PA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
8169 WBPH (60 Local) 61.5° 13s4 (Washington DC) SD MPEG4 Philadelphia, PA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5256 WUFT (5 HD Local) GAINESVILLE, FL (PBS) 129° 13s53 (SC Florida) HD Gainesville, FL market Hidden - AVAILABLE
8259 NVUE (33 Local) (KVUE) AUSTIN, TX 119° 4sB11 (San Antonio) SD Austin, TX market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5274 KQET (25 HD Local) WATSONVILLE, CA (PBS) 129° 13s32 (WC California) HD Monterey, CA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5278 KSMS (67 HD Local) MONTEREY, CA (UNIVISION) 129° 13s32 (WC California) HD Monterey, CA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5154 WKPD (29 HD Local) PADUCAH, KY (PBS) 77° TP 12 HD Paducah, KY/Harrisburg, IL market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5265 KPXJ (21 HD Local) MINDEN, LA (CW) 119° 1sA13 (Shreveport) HD Shreveport, LA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5276 KUFM (11 HD Local) MISSOULA, MT (PBS) 129° 6s11 (NW Idaho) HD Missoula, MT market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5256 KAID (4 HD Local) BOISE, ID (PBS) 129° 4s11 (NW Idaho) HD Boise, ID market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5156 WRLK (35 HD Local) COLUMBIA, SC (PBS) 61.5° 5s8 (Charleston) HD Columbia, SC market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5266 KDCU (31 HD Local) DERBY, KS 119° 4sB09 (Oklahoma City) HD Wichita, KS market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5266 WPSU (3 HD Local) CLEARFIELD, PA (PBS) 129° 12s26 (SC New York) HD Johnstown/Altoona, PA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5266 KISU (10 HD Local) POCATELLO, ID (PBS) 129° 7s12 (NE Idaho) HD Idaho Falls, ID market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5255 KSIN (27 HD Local) SIOUX CITY, IA (PBS) 129° 16s14 (Central Minnesota) HD Sioux City, IA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5256 KXNE (19 HD Local) NORFOLK, NE (PBS) 129° 16s14 (Central Minnesota) HD Sioux City, IA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5255 WGTE (30 HD Local) TOLEDO, OH (PBS) 129° 16s23 (NW New York) HD Toledo, OH market Hidden - AVAILABLE

#26 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 16 February 2011 - 03:31 PM

Everyone else gets HD and I get a SD station out of Bethlehem? *sigh*

Edit: Theoretically that means that if they've added a station to Philly, we may get both PBSes and 57 in HD sooner rather than later, right?

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#27 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 16 February 2011 - 05:57 PM

How about 16 of them?

Channels Now Available
8169 WBPH (60 Local) 119° 4sB17 (New York) SD Philadelphia, PA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
8169 WBPH (60 Local) 61.5° 13s4 (Washington DC) SD MPEG4 Philadelphia, PA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5256 WUFT (5 HD Local) GAINESVILLE, FL (PBS) 129° 13s53 (SC Florida) HD Gainesville, FL market Hidden - AVAILABLE
8259 NVUE (33 Local) (KVUE) AUSTIN, TX 119° 4sB11 (San Antonio) SD Austin, TX market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5274 KQET (25 HD Local) WATSONVILLE, CA (PBS) 129° 13s32 (WC California) HD Monterey, CA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5278 KSMS (67 HD Local) MONTEREY, CA (UNIVISION) 129° 13s32 (WC California) HD Monterey, CA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5154 WKPD (29 HD Local) PADUCAH, KY (PBS) 77° TP 12 HD Paducah, KY/Harrisburg, IL market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5265 KPXJ (21 HD Local) MINDEN, LA (CW) 119° 1sA13 (Shreveport) HD Shreveport, LA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5276 KUFM (11 HD Local) MISSOULA, MT (PBS) 129° 6s11 (NW Idaho) HD Missoula, MT market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5256 KAID (4 HD Local) BOISE, ID (PBS) 129° 4s11 (NW Idaho) HD Boise, ID market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5156 WRLK (35 HD Local) COLUMBIA, SC (PBS) 61.5° 5s8 (Charleston) HD Columbia, SC market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5266 KDCU (31 HD Local) DERBY, KS 119° 4sB09 (Oklahoma City) HD Wichita, KS market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5266 WPSU (3 HD Local) CLEARFIELD, PA (PBS) 129° 12s26 (SC New York) HD Johnstown/Altoona, PA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5266 KISU (10 HD Local) POCATELLO, ID (PBS) 129° 7s12 (NE Idaho) HD Idaho Falls, ID market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5255 KSIN (27 HD Local) SIOUX CITY, IA (PBS) 129° 16s14 (Central Minnesota) HD Sioux City, IA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5256 KXNE (19 HD Local) NORFOLK, NE (PBS) 129° 16s14 (Central Minnesota) HD Sioux City, IA market Hidden - AVAILABLE
5255 WGTE (30 HD Local) TOLEDO, OH (PBS) 129° 16s23 (NW New York) HD Toledo, OH market Hidden - AVAILABLE


Good news!

#28 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,553 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 17 February 2011 - 01:40 AM

So KQET is available in HD for the Monterey DMA, but the station it is a repeater for, KQED, is not available in HD here in the San Francisco Bay Area DMA. Somehow I knew I'd get screwed by PBS.

Of course it's personal to me! Why would you think otherwise?:sure:

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#29 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 40,298 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 17 February 2011 - 02:08 AM

So KQET is available in HD for the Monterey DMA, but the station it is a repeater for, KQED, is not available in HD here in the San Francisco Bay Area DMA. Somehow I knew I'd get screwed by PBS.

The stations are licensed separately ... is KQET an exact copy (same on screen logos etc) or separately produced? (The websites are separate and the digital signals are different.)

Carrying WQET gives DISH another 100% HD market (KMCE does not have a HD signal as far as I can tell). Carrying WQED doesn't.

Of course it's personal to me! Why would you think otherwise?:sure:

Yep. They checked your account information and said "that's phrelin's market - don't carry the PBS". I kind of feel the same way about my market's PBS and CW at times ... so close to 100% carriage and yet so far away.

Maybe next year. :nono2:

#30 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 17 February 2011 - 08:45 AM

So KQET is available in HD for the Monterey DMA, but the station it is a repeater for, KQED, is not available in HD here in the San Francisco Bay Area DMA. Somehow I knew I'd get screwed by PBS.

Of course it's personal to me! Why would you think otherwise?:sure:


Maybe you should look at purchasing a local channels only package from your cable company or from DirectTV. I think probably either of those would get you KQED in HD. That could be a supplement to your Dish subscription. I think Dish has fallen behind on HD in the San Francisco market.

#31 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 17 February 2011 - 09:27 AM

Everyone else gets HD and I get a SD station out of Bethlehem? *sigh*

Edit: Theoretically that means that if they've added a station to Philly, we may get both PBSes and 57 in HD sooner rather than later, right?


Just checked and I don't have this anyway. Weird.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#32 OFFLINE   Grandude

Grandude

    RichardParker II

  • Registered
  • 882 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2004

Posted 17 February 2011 - 10:45 AM

So KQET is available in HD for the Monterey DMA, but the station it is a repeater for, KQED, is not available in HD here in the San Francisco Bay Area DMA. Somehow I knew I'd get screwed by PBS.

Of course it's personal to me! Why would you think otherwise?:sure:

I thought it was me that they didn't like since I refuse to watch them during pledge weeks.:grin:

Brian...reporting from the left coast
 2 Hoppers,1 Joey, 1 VIP211K active receivers
 I still believe in magic
!


#33 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,553 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 17 February 2011 - 11:35 AM

The stations are licensed separately ... is KQET an exact copy (same on screen logos etc) or separately produced? (The websites are separate and the digital signals are different.)

Supposedly after the merger of KQED and KTEH in 2007, KQET switched programming sources from KTEH to KQED and KQED's programming is just "simulcast" on KQET. However, I assume they do whatever the minimum would be required to maintain the appearance of a separate broadcast station to protect the asset value.

Since my mother died in 2005, we haven't spent any time in the Monterey Bay area so I don't know. I'd guess they don't produce any special programming. Maybe someone who lives in the Watsonville area would know.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#34 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 17 February 2011 - 12:02 PM

Supposedly after the merger of KQED and KTEH in 2007, KQET switched programming sources from KTEH to KQED and KQED's programming is just "simulcast" on KQET. However, I assume they do whatever the minimum would be required to maintain the appearance of a separate broadcast station to protect the asset value.

Since my mother died in 2005, we haven't spent any time in the Monterey Bay area so I don't know. I'd guess they don't produce any special programming. Maybe someone who lives in the Watsonville area would know.


I have been in Monterey recently and watched their programming. Their schedule does match KQED at all times that I watched. I could toggle between KQET and KQED on the tv I was watching. KQET even had the KQED logo on their program in the lower right corner.

Their website states that they have an office at Cal State Monterey Bay. Their subchannel is listed as a mirror of KTEH. Check out kqet.com.

In Monterey, KQED, KQET, and KTEH are all widely viewed, although only KQET is carried by Dish. KQED and KTEH are carried on cable. Also, in the 1960s and 1970s both KTEH and KQED had translator facilities serving Monterey. The translator stations were located on Mt. Toro.

#35 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 40,298 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 17 February 2011 - 12:19 PM

I could toggle between KQET and KQED on the tv I was watching. KQET even had the KQED logo on their program in the lower right corner.

The spotbeam KQET is on (129° 13s32) should be large enough to cover KQED's market ... my thought is that DISH could use the same feed to provide that PBS to both markets. As long as there was no difference in the feeds I don't see where any law would prevent DISH from using the same feed twice. Although that would require creative thinking on DISH's part.

#36 OFFLINE   rtd2

rtd2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 161 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 17 February 2011 - 02:10 PM

James,
First my apologies if this has already been answered but is there a Rule for short markets in regards to HD? DN has my locals for south Miss. and we use NOLA or Mobile,Al (depending on location) to complete the market. Dish obviously carries NOLA Channels in HD but I only get them in SD?... Is this because they are *SV?? I can easily get the 3 Miss stations in HD via OTA but NOLA is a stretch for antenna-(Before DN had any of my locals I tried several different antennas and could never get NOLA on OTA that was reliable) I know Dtv offers complete market in HD using same channels so maybe its coming....

Biloxi/Gulfport, MS
4-00 WWL NEW ORLEANS, LA (CBS) SV* - 6591 SD 110° 23s12 A
6-00 WDSU NEW ORLEANS, LA (NBC) SV* - 6592 SD 110° 23s12 A

13-00 WLOX BILOXI, MS (ABC) - 6590 SD 119° 2sA14 A
16-00 WMAH BILOXI, MS (PBS) - 6594 SD 119° 2sA14 A
25-00 WXXV GULFPORT, MS (FOX) - 6593 SD 119° 2sA14 A

Edited by rtd2, 17 February 2011 - 02:24 PM.


#37 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 40,298 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 17 February 2011 - 05:35 PM

James,
First my apologies if this has already been answered but is there a Rule for short markets in regards to HD? DN has my locals for south Miss. and we use NOLA or Mobile,Al (depending on location) to complete the market. Dish obviously carries NOLA Channels in HD but I only get them in SD?... Is this because they are *SV??

DISH is using those channels to fill in for two networks that are not available via affiliates in your market. Since your in market affiliates are not carried in HD, DISH doesn't import HD channels.

I don't see any law preventing DISH from carrying those out of market channels in HD but there isn't one requiring it either. It is a simple business decision. If they would have chosen the HD feeds we'd be reading posts questioning why out of market stations were in HD and in market stations were not.

#38 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,830 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 17 February 2011 - 05:52 PM

And since they are offering them in SD - more subscribers can see the SVs
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#39 OFFLINE   rtd2

rtd2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 161 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 18 February 2011 - 01:53 PM

DISH is using those channels to fill in for two networks that are not available via affiliates in your market. Since your in market affiliates are not carried in HD, DISH doesn't import HD channels.

I don't see any law preventing DISH from carrying those out of market channels in HD but there isn't one requiring it either. It is a simple business decision. If they would have chosen the HD feeds we'd be reading posts questioning why out of market stations were in HD and in market stations were not.




Very True...I was just hoping i could get the Local channels avail in HD like any other channel in my pkg. thanks to you and scooper for the info.

#40 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 40,298 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 18 February 2011 - 02:23 PM

Very True...I was just hoping i could get the Local channels avail in HD like any other channel in my pkg. thanks to you and scooper for the info.

Eventually DISH will have all markets in HD. (No conversion schedule has been made available, so please don't ask when.)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...