Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DISH Network Local Channels List


  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 843 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 31 October 2011 - 03:07 PM

Durnit....! Not what I wanted to see, but exactly what I needed. Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,554 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 02 November 2011 - 09:55 AM

One nit to pick - Abilene Texas is spelled with an "ene" not "ine".

Old school teacher in me...
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#53 OFFLINE   Sunapee

Sunapee

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2006

Posted 15 November 2011 - 05:13 PM

I have a question about local channel selection. We live about .1 miles over the town line which changes our locals from Boston to Vermont. DirectTV was able to give me Boston locals, partially based on our billing address zip code which is in the next town (in Boston Local market).

I signed up for DISH today and was told that the installer would be able to give me Boston locals as long as he could hit the spot beam (??) for them.

Can anyone confirm that this is true? I fear that I was told that in order to get me to pull the trigger.

#54 OFFLINE   cj9788

cj9788

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,663 posts
Joined: May 14, 2003

Posted 15 November 2011 - 05:28 PM

I have a question about local channel selection. We live about .1 miles over the town line which changes our locals from Boston to Vermont. DirectTV was able to give me Boston locals, partially based on our billing address zip code which is in the next town (in Boston Local market).

I signed up for DISH today and was told that the installer would be able to give me Boston locals as long as he could hit the spot beam (??) for them.

Can anyone confirm that this is true? I fear that I was told that in order to get me to pull the trigger.


Enter your zip code to see what Locals you are eligible for. Dish Network can only provide locals for the DMA that your zip code is assigned to. It does not always make sense but it is what it is.

http://www.dishnetwo...al/Default.aspx

#55 OFFLINE   Sunapee

Sunapee

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2006

Posted 15 November 2011 - 05:38 PM

Enter your zip code to see what Locals you are eligible for. Dish Network can only provide locals for the DMA that your zip code is assigned to. It does not always make sense but it is what it is.

http://www.dishnetwo...al/Default.aspx

That's what I initially thought. I know that DirectTV was able to make an exception and the Comcast will also, after you fill in the proper forms (waivers) from the local stations involved.

What is most disappointing is that the salesman I was working with told me that it was possible, after I explained to him that not having Boston locals was a show stopper.

#56 OFFLINE   scottchez

scottchez

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 935 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2003

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:42 AM

What if you are missing local guide data for an over the air channel?
I also confirmed it is missing form the chart on post #1.
Is there an email address where you can request that they add it?
"We need more power Scotty" Kirk

#57 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 41,176 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 05 November 2012 - 05:12 PM

You can ask ... but the expectation that DISH will admit that they provide EPG for OTA channels is low - let alone provide correct EPG.

#58 OFFLINE   bnewt

bnewt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 377 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2003

Posted 26 April 2013 - 04:55 PM

question for you guys................

I receive the Louisville, Ky locals (HD).  I get the main local channels fine, but the sub channels are also listed with Dish channel #'s........how do I receive them........they are in the 1400 range


********************************************
May God Guide and Guard the USA!
********************************************


#59 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 41,176 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 26 April 2013 - 05:06 PM

question for you guys................
I receive the Louisville, Ky locals (HD).  I get the main local channels fine, but the sub channels are also listed with Dish channel #'s........how do I receive them........they are in the 1400 range


The DISH channels in the 14000 range are not real channels ... they are there to provide EPG listings for the subchannels. If you could tune to one of those 14000 channels you would find nothing there. But the information in the EPG for that channel can be mapped to your locally received -01/-02/-03 etc channels (assuming you have an OTA tuner and can receive the channel OTA).
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#60 OFFLINE   bnewt

bnewt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 377 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2003

Posted 27 April 2013 - 04:11 PM

thanks


********************************************
May God Guide and Guard the USA!
********************************************


#61 OFFLINE   GravelChan

GravelChan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2005

Posted 27 April 2013 - 07:02 PM

For Sioux Falls, SD on Dish....

 

36-00 KSFY-2 is The CW Network   (Not ABC)

 

38-00 KWSD is MeTv,  one of the few cases where MeTv is locally the 01 subchannel.



#62 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 41,176 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 27 April 2013 - 10:33 PM

Thank you ... keeping track of network moves is a challenge.


Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#63 OFFLINE   kenglish

kenglish

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 973 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah, USA
Joined: Oct 02, 2004

Posted 20 May 2013 - 09:29 AM

DISH just enabled a Second-Audio PID (A-PID 53) for KSL-TV, in the Salt Lake City DMA.

This allows KSL to broadcast Spanish translation of "Music and the Spoken Word", as well as pass the Descriptive Video Service from certain NBC programming.



#64 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 41,176 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 20 May 2013 - 03:28 PM

DISH just enabled a Second-Audio PID (A-PID 53) for KSL-TV, in the Salt Lake City DMA.
This allows KSL to broadcast Spanish translation of "Music and the Spoken Word", as well as pass the Descriptive Video Service from certain NBC programming.


Cool. I wish I could say every subchannel audio that is available is picked up. It is good to see it done.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#65 OFFLINE   kenglish

kenglish

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 973 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah, USA
Joined: Oct 02, 2004

Posted 21 May 2013 - 08:04 AM

Cool. I wish I could say every subchannel audio that is available is picked up. It is good to see it done.

I mentioned to the Echostar engineer, that there were a couple of other locals passing DVS. He said that the individual station's engineer just needs to call the Locals Engineering Department in Cheyenne, and they will turn them on. Took about one minute to switch ours.

(Hint to other stations... :righton:  )



#66 OFFLINE   rtd2

rtd2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 161 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 10 August 2013 - 04:11 PM

5190 WLOX (13 HD Local) BILOXI, MS (ABC) 61.5°
5192 WXXV2 (6 HD Local) GULFPORT, MS (NBC) 61.5
5193 WXXV (25 HD Local) GULFPORT, MS (FOX) 61.5°
5194 WMAH (16 HD Local) BILOXI, MS (PBS) 61.5°
6591 WLOX2 (14 Local) BILOXI, MS (CBS) 61.5° SD. MPEG4 <----------

James now that I have my locals restored under dish /raycom agreement I'm still wondering why dish didn't uplink my Wlox2 -Cbs in hd last month when we got the other locals in hd. Wlox says they are feeding hd signal to dish direct tv at&t uverse and cable one yet its a virtual sub channel in sd on ota . I know my neighbor is getting Wlox2-Cbs in hd on direct Tv. I'm pleased to be getting locals in hd now but its Weird we are getting everything in hd but Cbs any idea?

Edited by rtd2, 10 August 2013 - 04:14 PM.


#67 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 41,176 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 10 August 2013 - 11:39 PM

DISH generally carries what is broadcast. If it isn't HD OTA it isn't HD on DISH.

If DISH is getting a special HD feed from the station perhaps it will be carried in the future. But in general, if it isn't OTA it isn't on DISH.
  • rtd2 likes this
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#68 OFFLINE   rtd2

rtd2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 161 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 12 August 2013 - 12:41 PM

Thanks for your response , hopefully it will eventually be carried in HD. Stinks wlox was given permission to start a Cbs if they cant provide it in HD to everyone

#69 OFFLINE   lighthouse94

lighthouse94

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • Locationohio
Joined: Jul 22, 2014

Posted 22 July 2014 - 05:10 PM

The following local television stations are uplinked on DISH Network.

[See Link]

Due to the size of the list and difficulties keeping it updated in this thread, please use the daily updated listing on my website:
http://uplink.jamesl.../locallist.html

The list there includes all the satellite uplinked local channels that were listed in this post, plus all the "OTA guide" channels for each market. A more complete way of approaching the issue. Note that the markets are based on the way DISH flags a channel as being in a market in their uplink data. Most updates are based on uplink data, not personal observation. Corrections concerning what network is on each channel are appreciated.

My Dish network dish is pointed at 72 and 61.5 very few are pointed at 72 if any, why is that,,Im SE Ohio



#70 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 41,176 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 22 July 2014 - 06:35 PM

My Dish network dish is pointed at 72 and 61.5 very few are pointed at 72 if any, why is that,,Im SE Ohio


72 does not have local stations. One needs 72 and 61.5 or 72 and 77 to get their local stations.

There are also a few national HD channels and a lot of national SD channels on 61.5.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#71 OFFLINE   jpoulette

jpoulette

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
  • LocationLive Free or Die
Joined: Dec 05, 2013

Posted 25 August 2014 - 11:10 AM

James - Thanks for putting that up !

 

Would you know if BOTH 72 and 61.5 are needed to get local - I have both (long story), but presently don't have a switch.

 

Thanks!

J


Edited by jpoulette, 25 August 2014 - 11:13 AM.


#72 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 41,176 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 25 August 2014 - 04:23 PM

James - Thanks for putting that up !
 
Would you know if BOTH 72 and 61.5 are needed to get local - I have both (long story), but presently don't have a switch.


There are no local markets on 72 ... 72 is needed for most non-local channels.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#73 OFFLINE   jpoulette

jpoulette

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
  • LocationLive Free or Die
Joined: Dec 05, 2013

Posted 26 August 2014 - 03:53 AM

Thanks James - I know, that's why I pointed a dish at 61.5.

 

The program guide lists all the local channels - but none of them come in. All the other channels come in fine.

 

Just wondering if anyone has had a similar problem.



#74 OFFLINE   dough_boy747

dough_boy747

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2004

Posted 29 November 2014 - 06:53 PM

one of my locals are off the air WOAY tv out of beckley WV, its beenout for about three days if not more. I wonder what is wrong with it?



#75 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,649 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 29 November 2014 - 07:09 PM

It's on the top of their website:
http://woay.com/Alerts.aspx?aid=637




Protected By... spam firewall...And...